We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Plus Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Du Midi

Save Saved
You added Grand Hotel Du Midi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Grand Hotel Du Midi
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22 Blvd Victor Hugo, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 82 hotels in Montpellier
New York
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Great Location Plus Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We chose this hotel primarily for its location: an easy walk from the station and just off the main square. Rooms were rather small but their charm and layout made up for the lack of size. The rooms were spotless and the beds very comfortable. They have a triple room that worked perfectly for our family of five so that we could take 2 rooms and our little guy had his very own single in one of the doubles. The free Wi-fi in the lobby worked perfectly. And the warm welcome upon arrival was appreciated. Would definitely return when next in Montpellier!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro G, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Du Midi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Voyagemom,

Thanks for your comment. We are glad you appreciated your stay with us and we hope to host you and your family pretty soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    133
    42
    18
    6
See reviews for
16
93
18
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We managed to get a room at this very popular hotel(thanks to the help of a young lady on the front desk who told us to phone back the day before to see if any rooms were now available) for one night despite a world wide guitar 'conference' which had filled a lot of the rooms. The front desk was very welcoming and helpful. It IS a bit startling at first due to the very bright colours and avant garde artwork on the main floor but our room (with the balcony on the second floor in the photo above) was modern, very clean and, of course, gave a wonderful view of the square. Again, we were given a recommendation for lunch (Les Bains de Montpellier) and could not have been happier. Certainly you are in the middle of all the hustle and bustle of Montpellier and the trams that run silently and frequently like giant coloured caterpillars! We aren't exactly young anymore so anyone coming to Montpellier by train (I'm not sure about any other means of transport) had better realize they will be dragging their suitcase up the main street from the station as no cars are allowed in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro G, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Du Midi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Angie,

Thanks for your comment! It is always a reward for the team to have satisfied clients.

Hope to host you again pretty soon!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We loved the contemporary art that featured on the walls of this old building, including the clever way the walls themselves became the work of art. The room was spacious with a large bathroom, but if you are a very short person, you might struggle with the height of the loo and the fact that the sink is set back into its tiled surround so it is hard to put your head over it to do your teeth. My tall husband found it perfect!
The staff were friendly and helpful, breakfast was a well presented buffet in an interior room which could have felt claustraphobic, but the ceilings were very high so it didn't.
The location is great for all the activity in the main square, but it is just a very short stroll before you are in the maze of small old streets surrounded by cafes and bistros and a vibrant city night life.
The station is only a 5 minute walk away, so very handy for onward travel.
There are colourful trams if you want to go further afield, and plenty of very grand new buildings enclosing courtyards and avenues with fountains and plane trees to cool you down. Montpellier has the feel of a growing and lively city, and the two halves of the centre - the old and the new, are reflected in the New Hotel du Midi and it's charming and delightfully odd aesthetic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro G, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Du Midi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Liz,

We are very happy you appreciated your stay at New Hotel du Midi. We hope to host you soon in one of our hotels.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excellent welcome from reception staff, very comfortable room (hallelujah, hotels have discovered nespresso machines at last) and an excellent restaurant next door. Breakfast simple but fresh and tasty. Would definitely go again

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro G, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Du Midi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Ebordingle,

Thanks for your comment! We hope to host you soon in one of our hotels.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Lovely quiet airconditioned room. Nice staff. Clean bathroom. Excellent location. Beautiful and cool design.
Only setback - rather claustrophobic breakfastroom without window, but the staff there was very friendly and helpful.
The Place de la Comédie has a big problem with drug addicts/ street dwellers and their dogs, wich also affects the hotel entrance a bit due to its central location. But nevertheless, I would stay there anytime!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro G, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Du Midi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Lena,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry for the inconveniences you encountered Place de la Comedie. The City Hall is doing its best to improve the situation.

We hope to welcome you pretty soon at New Hotel du Midi or another hotel of the group.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

An excellent place to stay in Montpellier. The hotel seems to be an old place, that had a bit of a rough time and was neglected, but has been thoroughly refreshed with quirky designs and colours. A really cool mix of new and old. Excellent bathroom, very comfy bed and perfectly clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro G, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Du Midi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Brian,

We are glad you appreciated your stay at our hotel. We hope to host you again soon in one of our hotels.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosenheim, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

If you don't want to or can't drive, this is your location. Right in the center. The room was small, but clean. We didn't try the breakfast because it was not recommended here. Internet worked for us all three days. We would come again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pedro G, Directeur général at Grand Hotel Du Midi, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Hias,

We are glad you appreciated your stay with us. We hope to get the chance to host you in a near future and next time, you should try our breakfast. It is very appreciated by your clients!

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Du Midi

Also Known As:
New Hotel Montpellier
Address: 22 Blvd Victor Hugo, 34000 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Hotel Du Midi 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Excellent location & a warm ambience; situated at Place de la Comedie & adjacent to the Opera House; staff is multilingual. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Otel and Venere so you can book your Grand Hotel Du Midi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Du Midi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.