We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but in a bad location, with odd decor, and a bad gym” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Travelocity
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   190 Rue d'Argencourt, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #11 of 82 hotels in Montpellier
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but in a bad location, with odd decor, and a bad gym”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you travel using points for this hotel, it's a nice enough place -- but most significantly, be prepared to walk past a lot of sketchy people in the park to get here. But for the nightly police car and several on-duty officers in the park that you must walk through to get into town, I would have been worried for my safety.
For the positives, everything is very new and clean. Great maid service. Very helpful front desk staff. And a fleet of nice new cars out front for hire (getting a cab in Montpellier can be extremely difficult -- so this is a big plus if you anticipate needing a hired car). the room I had was exceptionally quiet... but it was also hermetically sealed and the windows would not open. The minibar is a plus.
For the negatives, the hotel has an odd and almost creepy Asian theme. The gym is only a couple of bikes and a couple of treadmills in a windowless room. The pool is unheated.
With respect to the other chain hotels, I think that the Pullman is in a better location. Colleagues stayed in the new Courtyard and liked it.
If you are looking for charm, stay at Le Guilhem.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    75
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
13
51
5
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille, France
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stay often in Montpellier, and wnted to try the new Crowne Plaza. The hotel is very close to the city centre, and in a quiet spot which is nice. Spotlessly clean as brand new. See how it goes. Breakfast was ok with everything you would expect from a 4* hotel. Scrambled eggs were awful though, but not a big deal as there were plenty of other things.
What wasn't good was the reception on arrival (evening). We parked in the private car park (don't bother!) and proceed to the recption. Nobody there! We waited a few minutes, and somebody eventually arrived from outside. (been on a ciggy break). She wasn't very welcoming and didn't even apologise for the wait. When we got to our room (very nice) we found there were no kleenex in the holder, so we decided that on our way out, we would ask for some to be put into the room. Asked the same girl at recption who told us that she didn't have any, and that we would have to wait until 10pm that her working partner comes in to get some,and we should ask when we got back! No " I'll have them put into your room or sorry about the inconvenience". Not at all professional for the so called classy hotel. No big problem, but annoying. Will go back though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear KEITH TRAVEL AGENT,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. I am pleased you liked your room accommodations and our breakfast options. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza Hotel Montpellier in June 2012. Would we stay here again...NO. Rude front desk ladies (Anne Sophie and the other lady she brought to reception because her English was limited). We expect the french arrogance and rudeness in a small french establishment but we don't expect it at an international hotel such as the Crowne Plaza. Using the word 'impossible' comes across as rude and abrupt. Perhaps another word can be used when saying no to people.

Pathetic internet access. Kept logging off. In this day and age we consider internet access to be a necessity and not a luxury. It should be reliable and efficient. Unfortunately, here it was not.

Breakfast too expensive for what is on offer. 18euro for adults and 9euro for children. Not much on offer; dried fruit such as apricots, sultanas. Bread rolls, never enough croisants.

Pool is too cold.

Doors to rooms do not close properly so make sure you double check that they are closed before you walk away. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Overall hotel was very clean.

Strong carpet smell in corridors.

About 5-10 minute walk into the main part of town. Ok for adults but can get tiring for children.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Staci1825,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I'm glad you liked our room accommodations. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. I'm sorry to see you received service that was less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have the honor of serving you again in the future and show you how we have improved.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denzlingen
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a very nice and very clean hotel close to the city center of Montpellier. The rooms are great and what I really appreciated was the the air condition was effective, could easily be adjusted, and what is most important, was absolutely calm. The hotel is closely located to the rails but the isolation is pretty good. The hotel has a pool that is absolutely fine for a city center hotel. For business people, the breakfast is absolutely fine although it does not offer a great variety. However, the food that it offers is great. It should be mentioned that the limos to the airport waiting in front of the hotel are actually cheaper than standard taxis (with taximeter).

Room Tip: Rooms on the side of the city center are close to the railway. I found very few trains audible in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Far enough to experience a stroll and a bit of peace (except for occasional train which somehow did not matter) but close enough to walk a relaxed few minutes to the largest pedestrianisation area in Europe. We had a suit with a balcony overlooking the pool and terrace area. Beautiful room full of all the amenities and extras you would expect. Faultlessly clean and in perfect condition I could not fault the room or the communal areas throughout the hotel at all.

The service was not particularly prompt but adequate. BUT avoid the rather disappointing breakfast and instead take a walk to the old town for a fresh, vibrant, authentic and quality breakfast experience.

I really enjoyed our 2 night stay at this hotel but wonder if a small locally-run central positioned hotel might have had a better, more rustic feel rather than this hotel with its far eastern influences which you could have been in any city in the world - until you walked outside.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

A business hotel at its finest. Everything new and clean, modern rooms, moderate pricing and only 5 minutes walk from the old town. We can only recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A little cold on check in but overall this hotel delivers as a calm, quiet city centre hotel. Just a few moments walk from the Comedie and centre. WIFI works although a tad complicated to access with a code given for each mobile device.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum

Address: 190 Rue d'Argencourt, 34000 Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 82 hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Montpellier Corum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.