We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De La Comedie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel De La Comedie to your Saves list
Hotel De La Comedie
1 Bis Rue Baudin Montpellier, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Montpellier
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Excellent position
friendly staff
Not expensive
Clean...perfect!
The tram stop is less then 2 mins from hotel and the station about 10 mins.
We (young couple) were there for a weekend and we really enjoyed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    50
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
36
19
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

There are no negatives for this hotel.
It's a bit boutique-y, all white and modern, although with a small French hotel atmosphere, very clean, good shower, friendly, free wifi, decent breakfast, good price. Trying to think of any negatives... maybe smallish rooms, but it's really close to the buzzing centre of Montpellier.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This delightful small hotel really is a find. A few metres away from the mesmerizing Place de la Comedie, its location is perfect. It is clean and comfortable and quiet, with friendly and always helpful staff, and the breakfast is first class. It is incredibly good value, as a matter of fact. Our double room lacked independent bedside lighting - but a separate lamp was quickly found so that our marital bliss was not threatened by my husband's bouts of wakefulness! The servicing of our room was faultless and generous, and the air con totally reliable. Advice and directions are readily given, particularly by the splendid Olivier, who is truly a fount of local (and indeed pretty well all) knowledge. Vive l'Hotel de la Comedie!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

This is a small hotel refurbished in minimalistic, almost Nordic colourings - my kind of boutique hotel! Standard offering is €39 for a single room which is very good based upon the central location. Breakfast is additionally €7 and actually worth it.

My room was small with a single bed, aircon worked effortsly, Samsung flatscreen, small but clean bathroom with two towels...absolutely acceptable.

The location is nothing but brilliant - 10m to the central square of Montpellier, transportation, lots of restaurants and pedestian street. Excellent if you go out at night. Parking can be a problem, but there are parking houses nearby at €9 pr night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights. It was a nice, friendly, clean, small hotel. I had a single room, which was on the small side, but pleasant enough. It would have benefited from a fridge I think.

The bathroom was small, but all features there, and the room was cleaned everyday. Air con in room, which was brilliant. My room faced out to a courtyard so was quiet, although other guests did make a little noise on ocassion.

I would recommend, if you want a convenient location, as right near centre and train station.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed just overnight. We took a train from Barcelona and had to stay in Montpellier for the night. Take the tram from the station and get off on the first stop. There is a great creperie very close by. The location is the best, in a very quiet street just off Place de la Comedie. Very simple hotel, nothing extra, room was pretty small and bathroom also. Friendly staff. If you want to explore the town is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Stayed for the last two nights of our travelling trip around the Languedoc region, to explore Montpellier and get a game of golf at the Grande Motte. This was a really nice experience - friendly and helpful hosts, comfy beds and quiet at night. Room pretty small, and the toilet / shower is only just en suite as opposed to en lit, but this did not spoil a very enjoyable stay. Breakfast was fine - lots to eat as a simpe, continental breakfast, reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel De La Comedie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De La Comedie

Address: 1 Bis Rue Baudin Montpellier, 34000 Montpellier, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel De La Comedie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel De La Comedie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.