We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best luxury B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les 4 Etoiles

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Montpellier
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Les 4 Etoiles
Save
You added Les 4 Etoiles to your Saves list
3 rue Delmas, 34000 Montpellier, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 Montpellier B&B and Inns
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best luxury B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Great experience:
- Excellent (and huge) bed
- Quiet and nice place
- Clean and large bedroom and bathroom
- Delicious and plentiful breakfast with a calm music (if you want)
- Discrete and helpful host
- Easy to park the car
I fell in love with the little frogs in the pond. :)

I did not know that “Les 4 Etoiles” was ranked number one in Montpellier. But it deserves it! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    15
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
128
19
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

What a nice experience! We were just planning to hang out for a day and a half before catching the TGV to Paris, but it turns out to be a delightful city to visit and Pierre is a fantastic host. He gave us hints on places to see and restaurants to try and was just generally available to answer questions. His home is near the very large, very old (looking) aquaduct that leads into the park with the mini Arc de Triumph. We went to farmers market under the aquaduct on Tuesday morning and enjoyed all the shopping delights thereof.
Our room was very comfortable and bed was excellent (our highest priority when travelling). All in all a great B&B, great host, great city. We will try to return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very nice B&B. The owner Pierre was very friendly and helpful. Our room was huge, the bed was huge, breakfast was tasty and plentiful, and getting to the interesting parts of Montpellier was very easy. Definitely a great value and a great place to stay in Montpellier. We really enjoyed walking around the old part of town. Very colorful, and something to see around every corner.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

+'s:
Great modern design in an older building.
Comfortable rooms and big bed.
Wifi worked well.
Friendly and helpful owner.
Very short and pleasant walk into town.
Cheap parking on the street (I think it was 2e a day).
Seems to be a much better value than the hotels within the city.

-'s:
All the rooms are clustered around the common living room/kitchen and the modern look (all bare floors) meant we could hear when other guests came in late/got up early. There are only four rooms so it's not a big deal, but maybe a rug or two could help.
Finding the place in a car is a pain, especially due to the construction of the tram (a few of the formerly 2-way streets were turned into 1 way). Try to approach from the northwest and circle around clockwise from there. Your gps will steer you wrong.
Definitely a "guest house" - don't expect someone to be at your beck and call 24/7. Not really a minus in my book, just good to know.

More generally, and unrelated to this hotel, Montpellier traffic and navigation is a huge pain, so if you have a car I wouldn't use the city as a base to explore the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

This was a return visit for us. We had previously stayed 2 nights in September 2011. This time we stayed 7 nights. The welcome was as cordial as before if not more so, and our room (the same as last time) was pleasantly unchanged. Comfortable large bed, views onto the gardens of the adjoining apartment complex, nice big shower, spacious separate toilet, lots of storage space.
Market days under the aqueduct on Sat and Tue are not to be missed.
Access into the old town will be much easier from April with the opening on Tram line 3 which will have a stop a minute's walk from the house.
Two very minor points that could be improved upon:
-The soap tray in the shower had fallen off and needs to be put back into place
-Breakfast, while fresh and lovely, does become monotonous after several days as it never changes (baguette, confiture, croissant, pain au chocolat, fruit salad). It may be a good idea to vary the offerings a bit from day to day.
Still, this is an excellent base to explore the city from, and will become even more so with improved accessibility via tram next month.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Pierre has created a charming little place just 5 mins walk from the city walls. We stayed for 3 nights. Bedrooms are modern, showers in some, baths in others. Pierre is very friendly and extremely helpful for restaurant recommendations etc.
Very comfortable place, excellent breakfast. Great little find

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Apart from finding it which will improve in April when the new tram run opens ,Which is not the owners Pierres fault, He showed us the easy way out of town rather than Tom Tom. This 4 bed b and b was superb. The rooms super,showers huge,bags of hot water,great breakfast and help to find some super restaurants in the town which was ashort 15 min walk away following the Aquaduct. If you want a quiet ,luxury b and b and we run one in the Uk try this one ,the welcome is like home from home with nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les 4 Etoiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les 4 Etoiles

Address: 3 rue Delmas, 34000 Montpellier, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Herault > Montpellier
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Montpellier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is our pleasure to welcome you in warm comfortable environment offering 4 charming bedrooms, ideally situated on the historic axis of Montpelier's city center. This heirloom family property is the current home of its fifth generation. It allies vintage charm and contemporary design while respecting the environment. Our interior designer Jacques de Milleville created a contemporary and welcoming space while preserving the spirit of this 1930's house. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les 4 Etoiles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.