We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Madeloc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Madeloc to your Saves list
Hotel Madeloc
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Rue Romain Rolland, 66190 Collioure, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Collioure
Adelaide
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Its easy to see why this town is so popular, rich in history and culture. The walk up the hill from attractions was fine, glad we had a room on the first floor with heavy bags and no lift. Car parking is a premium in this historic township, but the fees should be either included or more obvious, getting additional charges when checking in was a bit of a shock. Day trippers visiting have to park miles away and walk in, so was grateful to be so close to the beach and restaurants. Hotel is clean and well run. Would return,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your comment. We take note of your suggestions, but please note that our secured parking is just 9 euros per day while the public non-secured parkings are more than 15eur/day...but it is true that parking is essential when you come to Collioure. Whe would be happy to welcome you again! best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    87
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
143
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We found this hotel very nice. We had a room with a balcony that was nicely and simply furnished. The breakfast at the hotel was either served indoor or at the terrace outside. It was no problem to bring a car as we could park at the other side of the road. In the afternoon we walked down to Collioure in about ten minutes.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
thank you very much for having taking time to wrote this comment. your opinion is important for us and for sure for our future guests! best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sale
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

First of all i would to say that the staff and the management at the hotel madeloc were charming and extremely helpful. We booked a room with a 'terrace', and the hotel certainly has rooms with good terraces that you can see from the swimming pool. Our room which was reached by 3 flights of stairs (which can be tiring after the uphill climb from the little town centre) had something different. Our 'terrace' was a space about 2.5m x 1.5m which was enclosed by a wooden fence about 1.5m high which obviously did not have any views. In future I think I will have to ask for a definition of the term terrace. The small swimming pool has an adjoining area with sunbeds and a few large parasols, this area is not adequate when several guests want to use these facilities. Apart from these comments the hotel is extremely clean and attractive but would benefit from views of the town or the sea.

Room Tip: Ask about description of terrace or balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guests,
It is true that some superior rooms have larger terraces facing the mountains, but the standard double room you've booked is usually well appriciated by our guests because it's quiet and have an open outlook on the hotel Garden...
It is always hard for us to guess which room will the best for our guest when they reserve through an on-line booking website, as all our rooms is unique and different...
nevertheless we are happy to read that the whole staff answered all your expectations.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

There is no lift in the hotel and this is tough if you want to have views (to the mountain) and terrace in the third floor; no handicapped access and difficult for elderly people.
Breakfast is scarce for the 11Eur, and parking is a must, no room in the street, but get ready to pay 10Eur/night.
Stay fee/quality rate is unfair.

Room Tip: Book in advance, in summer hotel is almost full and no room choice if you are late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
As we told you when you arrived, it is always better to contact directly the hotel to book a room. You would have been able to ask the questions which you wanted...And so, know that your room was situated on the 3rd floor without lift...Then we would have been able on our side, to do what's necessary to give you a room on a lower floor...thing that we were not able to do when you arrive, because the hotel was effectivelly fully booked and you were the last guest to arrrive...For sure, find a parking in Collioure is complicated, and we appriciate that you see our secured parking as a must (9 euros/day against more than 15 euros/day for non-secured public car park!) thanks for your visit and best regards, the whole team...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Located 5 minutes from the train station. We stayed for 10 nights - 6 in a twin room and 4 in a triple room. Both rooms were very well appointed with a beautiful terrace with the twin room that had view of the gardens with wonderfuld plants all around - really loved the smell of the lavender in the evening. Beds were very comfortable. In triple room we had a very spacious balcony which was very private. Pool area was very peaceful with a wonderful view of the mountains. the staff were very professional and helpful. The breakfast was the best we have experienced in this part of France with a wonderful selection. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: For twin room I would recommend room 15 that we were in as it was a terrace with an open view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment! We are delighted to have participated in the good progress of your stay in Collioure. We would be delighted to see you again. The whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carcassonne, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fantastic staff, good value and wonderful views from both the balcony at the room and also the swimming pool. Only a short walk from the harbour and very handy for the train station. We'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
the whole team thanks you for your comment! best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Make no exception, this is a lovely 3 star hotel with 5 star staff and service.

During our 7 night stay the staff continued to exceed all expectations in every manner imaginable on an almost daily basis, they are a credit to the management team and offer a sure sign that this hotel will continue to go from strength to strength.

We did not eat any meals at the hotel so the review is based on accommodation only.

Good points:
Our room was spacious enough for our requirements and although we booked a balcony it came with a private sun terrace.
Decor was current with a traditional twist and offered capacious storage.
The bed and pillows were comfy and additional pillows are provided if required.
The air conditioning was efficient and helpfully pre - timed for the most crucial hours (although its lowest temperature was 16).
The rooms were quiet from other guests and corridors.
The mini bar was thoughtfully stocked with essentials and local wines.
Quality of linens, toiletries and loo roll was pleasing for 3 star.
Safe included in the room which was easy to programme.


Few bad points:
There were only about 4 coat hangers in the wardrobe which was not nearly enough for two people sharing for a week.
The hairdryer is only powerful enough to dry the wings of a ladybird and even that might take some time.
It is not possible to have use of an iron, however they do offer an ironing service which is chargeable and requires 24 hours notice.
The bath towels were not very large.


The hotel reception is clean, fresh and modern with a European hotel feel - the accent up the stairs to the rooms does not flow from the same standard, however it is still pleasant enough.

Our room was always cleaned and presented to an excellent standard.

The hotel staff were very accommodating of any concerns or questions we might have and went out of their way to ensure that our stay was as comfortable as possible.

Room Tip: The hotel offers balconies and sun terraces, it is an idea to check which your room will come with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmadeloc, Responsable réception at Hotel Madeloc, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your comment! we have taken note of all your suggestions and have already change some few things (like more coat hangers in the wardrobe, and towels replaced...). We feel happy to have answered your expectations! Hope you will return... best regards from the whole team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Madeloc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Madeloc

Address: 24 Rue Romain Rolland, 66190 Collioure, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Collioure
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Collioure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Madeloc 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Madeloc, our charming hotel welcomes you to Collioure, jewel of the Pyrénées Orientales. Near beaches and the center of Collioure, while remaining peaceful, the Madeloc offers you 25 bedrooms with balconies combining comfort and elegant decoration.For your relaxation, bask beside our heated swimming pool and enjoy the sun of the Languedoc Roussillon region at its best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Madeloc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Madeloc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.