We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great viewS” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure to your Saves list
Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   28 Route de Port Vendres, 66190 Collioure, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great viewS”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We (2 people) stayed here a week. Room 17 which was like a studio with bunk beds in the entrance room, a big bathroom and a lounge kitchen area. The sofa converted to a double bed (well two singles pushed together). The place was clean and well equipped with kitchen utensils. The view was stunning. We got the bus from Perpignan, just 1 Euro per person (offer ends 31st December 2012) Great place to walk from. Market in the town every Sunday and Wednesday morning. Supermarket called Carrefour Market and loads of places to buy bread, cakes etc. 20 mins walk the other way, towards port vendres, there is a new Lidl. We were so glad we chose Collioure as we went for a day to Argeles Sur Mer and it was culturally baron and 6 hours was more than enough. I guess it may appeal to the Chicken Nuggets and Burger brigade. Nice safe place to stroll around in the evening too.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    60
    39
    14
    4
See reviews for
68
58
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

My Fiancee and I, booked over the internet this accommodation, sadly on arrival it was woefully below par. Like other comments found in this review of MAEVA, the room (No.29), was not adequately described, mainly for THREE reasons: 1: The stale smell that was so heavy, it made breathing without feeling sick difficilt. 2: The "Double Bed" was woefully inadequate and ill descibed on intial purchase, a double bed it was NOT, the item was a pull-out unit, very uncomfortable and decidely useless for courting couples. 3: The cleanliness was so bad it was a cheek when asked to "clean" the room on our exit, the paint was dowdy, dusty and cracks of a large worrying magnitude manifested on every wall surface.

The Service Staff and Manager however were very pleasant, but really did not go the extra mile when challenged with a mis-firing lock on the keep-safe, and other small but needed requests.

Other gripes were the Air-Conditioning unit was woefully small, located roughly 120-feet down the coridoor serving the cental passage only, to make any air change, one needed to open the access door and patio window together with jamming open the central fire door, not only a fire and regulation hazzard, but very uncomfortable to breath in these conditions.

ONLY positive, were STUNNING views of Collioure Bay and Town.

Suggestions, it would be a good idea to point out to potential occupants where "services" like emptying your own rubbish (5-flights of stairs down), and access to any purchased car park space, were found by accidently climbing the complete tiresome multitude of steps to a gate that ended up on the Hotel roof, a SIGN saying to Car Park would suffice!.

The Pool was excellent, however the comments by other users, regarding "Bugs" floating on the water was worrying, during swimming, the bugs were everywhere.

I may return one day to Collioure, but NOT to this Hotel

Room Tip: DONT BOTHER, the Hotel will ruin the whole holiday experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Good things about the Maeve Residence. Great view off Colliure and the Bay, lighthouse from terrace etc. Good running hot water, but it ends there.
Bad points, where do i begin. On arrival there is a musty smell from then on it went downhill. Small reception we are given keys to room, did have a small lift through. In the room it was scruffy, not very clean but it was the bed that was the worst. It was a single bed where a smaller bed pulled out from within the bedframe. This was booked as a double room. Went back to reception and asked for a doulbe room, they then gave us a bigger room where the bed was a double but there was a partitioned bit off in the kitchen area with bunk beds for children. They also has the cheek to charge us another 50 euros for this bed, and another 50 euros for the carpark. Needless to say I was unimpressed, again it was none too clean, if we wanted the room cleaned we would have had to buy a cleaning kit and do it ourselves. What was really unfortuate was they took the money for the accommadation before we arrived. Would I stay there again, Never, would I recommend this accommation, No.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toulouse, france
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

Our bathroom had floating parquet floor and obviously water had seeped under it and molded. (Room 25) We notified reception of the strong mildew order as soon as reception reopened after our arrival and requested a room change. Holiday weekend so all were booked. We kept th bathroom door closed to try to contain the odor, but I had a strong allergic reaction and coughed and was sick all night. The next morning we were informed that the FOLLOWING morning we could move.

The balcony and picture windows in the new room were twice as large as the first room despite being the same rate. The room configuration in the 2-4 person room was awkward. The drawers for silverware and utensils was on the opposite side of the apartment in the dresser.

We found that it was hard to navigate so many stairs with a baby in tow, but the only rooms that are accessible by elevator only are the 4 person apts which also have a nicer configuration.

I recommend this hotel, but also recommend taking a 'sniff test' of the apartment and looking at the floor plan and seeing if you are stuck in the back in one of the rooms with the tiny balcony before accepting a room. The 4 person room configuration is much better than the 2-4 person but the number of beds (twin trundle beds and 2 single bunks) is the same in either case.
I also recommend buying cheap beach towels in town instead of renting their 8 euro each bath towel/wash cloth. There is a Lidl just as you enter port vendre and you can easily walk there in 10 minutes and buy dish soap, etc instead of getting their cleaning kit too.
Pillows are flat as pancakes, but they are clean. I folded mine in half but should have bought one at Lidl.
The pool closes at 7pm most nights and 7:30 on saturday. Too early really.

Pets are allowed, but next time I stay I will remember to ask if any apartments are kept 100 percent pet free. People with allergies beware.

Staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pv_customer_liaison, Site Manager for Balcons de Collioure at Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure, responded to this review, July 27, 2009
Dear sheilatoujouse,
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us.

I wanted to reply personally to some of the issues you raised. Aside from this, I'm very happy our staff were friendly and accommodating throughout your stay.

I'm sorry to hear of your faulty room you were shown to following your arrival. I can assure you this is a very rare occurance in one of our more popular resorts. It is because of this popularity amongst customers that you could not be moved rooms straight away, and for this inconvenience I sincerely apologise.

For future reference for both you and readers of your review, they can find exact room layout and measurements of our apartments within each property page on our website. We advise customers to look at this and judge which berth room is right for them before booking.

I sincerely hope you choose to stay at one of our apartments again soon.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2007

Was ok-ish.

Location was excellent - about 5-10 mins walk from centre of Collioure -beautiful small town, lots of restaurants.

Apartments were in definite need of refurbishment - even if just a lick of paint.

There was a nice large patio - but it had weeds growing out of it!

Bathroom fan wasn't working, which meant the whole apartment became very damp (and smelt slightly foisty)

The bed was one single converted from the sofa, with a pull out bed underneath, and 2 bunk beds in the corridor between the main room and the bathroom.

Shower worked better after I'd fixed it, but still left a pool of water on the bathroom floor - not helping the dampness at all.

There were no sun loungers near the pool and the water seemed to have a larger than expected amount of dead insect floating on the surface.

Reception is only open a few hours in the morning and the same in the afternoon, so beware when checking in.

But it was quite cheap!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Mostly everything else!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure

Address: 28 Route de Port Vendres, 66190 Collioure, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Collioure
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Collioure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Facing the sea with an outstanding view of the bay1 km from the main beaches, centre and shops. Ideal for walks beside the sea ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Pierre & Vacances, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Maeva Les Balcons de Collioure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.