We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as last time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Pairal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Pairal to your Saves list
Casa Pairal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Impasse des Palmiers, 66190 Collioure, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Collioure
Aix-en-Provence, France
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
232 helpful votes 232 helpful votes
“Not as good as last time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

A rather disappointing return to Casa Pairal. The hotel’s position is terrific, and its garden is delightful (although we couldn’t take advantage of it this time due to bad weather). The disappointment was in the room – very much smaller than we had last time – and the price – very much more expensive than 2 years ago. On both occasions, our room was in the “garden pavilion”, this time on the first floor, last time on the ground floor. I can’t be sure, but would estimate that the ground floor room (number 17) was probably using the same space as the two rooms above it (21 and 22). For 105 euros 2 years ago, it was excellent value – for 160 euros this year (both times including the paying parking, but excluding breakfast), it was very much borderline.

Room Tip: There seems to be a huge variety, from my experience: if you are in the garden pavilion, ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    100
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
32
138
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kihei, Hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We recently stayed at Casa Pairal with friends, having stayed there last September. The rooms are simple and vary considerably in size and style. It is an older home plus some newer buildings.
The rooms and the bathrooms were clean and of a reasonable size. They had mostly been updated too. There is a pool in the courtyard which provides a nice place to relax after a day of sightseeing. The courtyard itself is lovely and most rooms look out onto it. It has some beautiful large trees and inviting sitting areas. It is a nice place to stay in the heart of Collioure. It makes it easy to walk to the delicious restaurants and to enjoy a stroll through the pretty town. There is also a private parking lot which you can reserve in advance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chadds Ford, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fantastic stay - just what we needed. Room 4 is lovely. As other reviewers have mentioned, parking is painful. We recommend running into the hotel and having them direct you to the lot. Yes, a little shabby but very charming. The pool, courtyard and location more than make up for a little European charm!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had noted the comments of previous reviewers about finding the car park and encountered the same difficulties! However, once we negotiated the entrance to the car park and were shown to our room, we found the hotel to be in an excellent location. The decor is charming, but Casa Pairal is crying out for a bit more in terms of service. The delightful pool area would be even better if you could have lunch and drinks served. The gardens would be perfect for an evening aperitif, but the management must have their reasons for not providing more than B&B. Having originally booked only one night en route to Barcelona, we asked if we could be accommodated for a further night to take advantage of the good weather and the beautiful town of Collioure. This was not a problem, and perhaps we could have been tempted to stay a 3rd night if only the weather forecast had been better!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
provence
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Once found the hotel is a delight.

Car park is not sign posted and we drove down part of a storm drain to find it - if only they had put up a sign post to the hotel it was really easy to find rather than the twice round the town trip we made.

Our room was compact with a small balcony looking out into the courtyard.

Nicely placed just a few yards from the sea and restaurants and shops.

Worth a visit though it might be a bit crowded in high season.

Do book a space in the car park if arriving by car.

Room Tip: Pay as much as you can afford as some rooms had good terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Branch, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is incredibly well located. Everything is a walk, including the port and the promenade. I like the pool, the bamboos, the 19th century charm of the hotel. It is part of a "silence hotel network" and you don't hear a thing!! The rates are affordable given the quality of the hotel. Service is very good: we were greeted by the staff at the entrance of the parking lot, which is most appreciated as it is very difficult to park in Collioure especially during peak season. I am planning on going back in the same hotel next summer.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My husband and I stayed here overnight en route from Perigord to Barcelona and were completely charmed by it. Although we did several laps through Collioure in our attempts to find it (and were terrified that we wouldn't be able to get our car out of the narrow passageway that leads to the hotel's front door), the hotel itself is lovely from top to bottom. I was especially delighted by the quirkiness of our room, a wedge-shaped space with a tiny antechamber for the closets, a beautifully designed modern bathroom (with a great shower), and a sprinkling of country furniture. The location is also great, with everything within a stone's throw of the hotel. It's a shame we couldn't have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Pairal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Pairal

Address: Impasse des Palmiers, 66190 Collioure, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Pyrenees-Orientales > Collioure
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Collioure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Pairal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Casa Pairal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Pairal Collioure
Casa Pairal Hotel Collioure

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Pairal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.