We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The white wine was warmer than the food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of L'Amphitryon

L'Amphitryon
On the sea front overlooking the beach and castle, 66190 Collioure, France
0468823600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 64 Restaurants in Collioure
Price range: $21 - $212
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lincoln
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“The white wine was warmer than the food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We visited here tonight and after being seated had to wait thirty minutes to have our order taken.
During that time our round plates were exchanged for square ones !!!
We ordered paella, still water and local white wine. The water came first and was carbonated. The waitress said she was having a bad day as she felt unwell - why hadn't she been sent home?
The paella was Ordinary and not very hot. The white wine was warm and despite spending a while in an ice bucket was eventually replaced for another type.
The desserts were alright.
We were there two hours and I should mention that people who arrived after us were served before us and had finished their main course before we started.
Lovely view across the harbour to the castle and church.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    94
    46
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice setting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Smallish very busy restaurant in a prominent position overlooking the bay and town. As part of a large party we had lunch here. Some of the party shared a ''Fruits de Mer '' which , whilst fresh , was not as extensive as many others they have had. Good steaks tho ' !! One of the party tho is vegetarian , and the plate she was served with was very poor. As you may have detected a bit of a mixed bag here.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Moules factory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

we went here for there lunch time deal for Moules, which were not as fresh and well prepared as they could have been, given the proximity to the sea.

I opted for the steak, which was 'well' cooked - ie rare as I requested, but the 'Banyuls Sauce' was dubious to say the least.

Service a little slow.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Late for lunch again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Friendly staff fitted us in on a filthy day in early summer? Excellent meals for two my wife loved her fresh fish "catch of the day" and I had my first burger with foie gras excellent. Good wine and sensible prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Three for dinner. Service was exceptional. English spoken. Food was superb. The view of the bay, the lighthouse, and Colliure by sunset was breathtaking.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Amphitryon also viewed

Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
Collioure, Pyrenees-Orientales
 

Been to L'Amphitryon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Amphitryon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.