We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect B&B and made to feel so welcome ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le 45 BB

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le 45 BB to your Saves list
Le 45 BB
45 boulevard Barbes, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€10 off room rate
Ranked #6 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A perfect B&B and made to feel so welcome ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The day before we were due to arrive at Le 45, I received a charming email from Nicolas (the host) making sure I had directions and asking me for an eta. I knew then, that it was going to be lovely stay with him and his lovely wife Isabelle. (the cook).

Le 45 is situated on a busy street just outside the Bastide a 10 minute stroll to the Canal du Midi, and less than 10 minutes by car up to the car parks for the medieval part of the city.

Both the guest bedrooms are on the first floor facing the street, but due to the double windows you do not hear any traffic noise. The rooms are a good size prettily decorated with good linens and modern en suite shower rooms.

Breakfast (at your chosen time, 9.30 for us) was a delightful repast. Fresh baguette and croissants from a nearby bakery and delicious homemade treats made by Isabelle, including yogurt, freshly squeezed orange juice, individual apple tarts, madelines, fruit puddings and fruit salads and wonderful homemade jams. A wide selection of teas and Nespresso coffees - heaven.

There is a beautiful oasis behind the house and you are welcome to use the small swimming pool, sun loungers and deck chairs if the weather permits.

Nicholas is a wonderful host and has a wide selection of leaflets and guide books in many languages for you to borrow. There is so much to see and do in Carcassonne, we are already planning a return trip with daughter and granddaughter for next year and we definitely stay at Le 45 again,wouldn't even consider anywhere else.

Room Tip: Either room, they are both charming. Please note, no TV's in the rooms but we were offered the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked 3 nights here at the beginning of Sept just as the Feria carnival in Carcassonne was ending. We booked the modern apartment/gite which is situated in a separate building with its own access via a side street. This apartment completed only last year, was very modern, beautiful and huge! It has been decorated in a lovely urban chic way, and is in such contrast to the beautiful more traditional building where the other B&B rooms are.

Nicolas and Isabelle have such a beautiful home and make you feel so welcome and relaxed. Isabelle's al fresco breakfasts were delicious - homemade yoghurts, cakes, fruit salads and preserves with lovely pastries and bread to complement, with a chance to socialise with the other guests.

We'd highly recommend Le 45bb as a place to stay in Carcassonne for the location, their kind hospitality and beautiful breakfasts. We'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent 2 wonderful nights in this wonderful house and with equally wonderful hosts in Isobelle and Nicholas. Their helpfulness in every way and in particular the delicious breakfasts and the lovely ambience of the house made it an experience to remember and treasure - and indeed to repeat. Moreover Nicholas' recommendations for restaurants were excellent also.

Room Tip: Our room facing the street was not in the slightest disturbed by traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

a bit of heaven in France, Isobel and Nicholas were great and helpful and could not be nicer ,AND you have to try the breakfast, I can not do them or the breakfast justices in print, Le 45 bb is in the hart of the city and close to the citadel,

Room Tip: airport is close bus will drop u at the door, and if there for along week end you will not need a ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned after spending a fantastic week in this beautiful bed and breakfast. The house and garden were gorgeous and the swimming pool was a real bonus!
Isobel and Nicholas were extremley helpful and kind and the breakfasts that were freshly made every morning were delicious.
The location was perfectly situated, with a pleasant walk to the old city and very close to all bars and cafes in the new town.
I have returned feeling very relaxed and would definatley recommend this bed and breakfast to everybody.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

An apartment to die for! Breakfast was so wonderful - home made yogurt was devine, I will never again enjoy "bought" yogurt. The fruit compot was so lovely. Isabel & Nicholas were perfect hosts. Carcassone is a wonderful city to visit. We will be back - and staying at le 45 BB.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We spent a lovely three nights at the 45 B & B in Carcassone, at the height of the summer season. Staying at Isabel and Nicholas' house was a wonderful experience - so different from hotels. We were warmly welcomed, permitted to come and go as we pleased in their beautiful house, and treated like family friends from beginning to end. You either buy into this experience of becoming friends, or not. We did and would recommend others to try it. The house is conveniently located on one of the main roads in the modern city centre of Carcassone, and we were able to find free parking on the B & B side of the road for most of our stay. The high points must be returning to Isable and Nicholas's house after a hot day of touring or walking up to the citadel, and relaxing on their terrace and in their small pool. It's big enough since their are only three sets of guests; the other is breakfast, which was most generous and included a range of home-cooked pastries, jams and yoghurts, along with the normal baguette and croissants. Isabel and Nicholas are also generous with their advice about Carcassone and suggested several good restaurants. Our chambre was large, well furnished and decorated and included a comfortable, modern bathroom with a good shower. The free wifi worked best downstairs in the main rooms. Our only slight problem was the lack of full-on air conditioning in the guest rooms, although there was an electric fan. We would love to return, but it might not be in July or August. Merci bien Isabel et Nicholas!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le 45 BB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 45 BB

Address: 45 boulevard Barbes, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Canal du Midi and Medieval Cite, come and enjoy the pleasure to live downtown in a quiet and peacefull XIX th century Guest House ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le 45 BB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le 45 BB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.