We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a stunning place ... and what a stunning view!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Florentines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Florentines to your Saves list
Les Florentines
71 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“What a stunning place ... and what a stunning view!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

If you find yourself looking for an amazing castle in Europe ... you've found it! If you're looking to stay somewhere with an incredible view of this castle ... YOU have found it!!!!
Although communication was a little too French for our understanding we did manage to book a beautiful room, have a brilliant stay and even talk to our host at breakfast.
We paid a little more for the room at the top (still very very reasonable!) ... with a HUGE balcony and a view to match. Even though not located within the walls (which we were initially looking for but chose otherwise) I could not recommend this accommodation and position more!
PERFECT!!!!

Room Tip: I didn't see the other rooms available but the top room was AMAZING!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We visited Carcassonne and the only thing regret is not staying longer!

This hotel is just outside the city walls and 5 mins walk from one of the gates. A wonderful location with a couple of parking spots in the vicinity if you come by car.

The hostess could not speak English that well, but boy did she make an effort! She went out of her way to help us and give us advice about the surrounding area.

If you do visit this hotel - try your absolute best to get the terrace room - you will NOT regret it. Just looking at the photos on this site, you'll see why - it has a spectacular view of the old city of Carcassonne that simply cannot be beat! We ended up sitting on the terrace with break and wine and enjoying the absolute splendour of the city. The room itself was well sized, with a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom (shower only).

Note though that there's only stairs...so prepare to climb a bit :)

Breakfast was also very nice (continental).

Overall, highly recommended and we'll definitely stay there again if we were to go back to visit Carcassonne!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed one night with 2 adults and 3 sons aged 12 to 15yrs.
Email correspondence for booking was good, with my questions answered in French and basic English. Our choice was whether to have 5 of us in one room (Jonquille) or book two rooms. In the end we opted for two rooms for a total of 185 euros.

Henri drove with us to show us the garage parking, but since we had a large vehicle and it was a very small space in the back of a shared area, we declined and found a street park not too far away.

The stairway had a sign (in French) warning that it was noisy, and to please consider other guests. No one would be able to avoid making a noise as the old wood was very creaky.
I asked Brigitte where she lived (several doors down the road) and she explained why they did not live in the building: it is too noisy for her and she needs her sleep so she can go to work all day.

Our boys shared the front room while we had the room across the hallway. We could feel the vibrations of them walking across the floor in their room! The tiles were cracked and loose.
Another sign in each room told us that we were not allowed food in the room. We felt obliged to hide our snacks.
The bathroom fittings clattered when used, disturbing the others sharing the room: the towel rail was over the door, toilet roll holder was floor-standing.

We went for a lovely walk around the chateau after dark which was a different experience for us. The location means it is a short walk up hill from the B&B.

The plumbing made terrible noises all night and the sounds of Brigitte getting breakfast ready early next morning woke us up. (High heeled shoes on tiles.) Breakfast was not the generous buffet we had had in other B&B's in France, and it was the highest price at 9 euros each.

The table was preset with one croissant each, one small piece of baguette each, jam, fruit, a very small box of cereal each (but I had to ask for bowls and milk to eat it!) The jug of juice only just shared between the 5 of us. We had hot drinks brought to us, and then I asked for more baguette, which I could see sitting in a basket. There was only one other couple staying at the time. I didn't feel that we could ask for a second hot drink as Brigitte spent the time behind a screened area reading, while music videos played loudly on tv, which was visible to us and very audible.

We decided to cancel our second night and leave, which we did before 10am.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My husband and I spent 32 days touring France, and this was our favorite place to stay! We stayed in the "Florentine" room on the top floor with two balconies. The unobstructed view of La Cite tempted us to sit on the balcony day and night. The owners, Brigitte and Henri-Jean, were delightful - so friendly and helpful. There is secured parking at a very reasonable fee, and it is within walking distance of La Cite and many wonderful restaurants. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated. We loved Les Florentine and hope to return! If you stay in the "Florentine" room (and I highly recommend it) be prepared to carry your luggage (no lift). I will try to attach some photos so you can see the view we had from the balcony.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for the "Florentine" room. You'll pay a little extra, but it is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

stayed here for 5 days.a good large room looking over roof tops.10 mins walk to old city and train station.good breskfast.very friendly poeple .stay in the top room if can it had brillant views

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I can't imagine that you would find a friendlier or more warm-hearted place to stay anywhere else in Carcassonne. The hosts could not be more helpful and are very patient with schoolboy/girl French!
The hotel is very conveient for the old city with super views. In the immediate locality there are good restaurants and bars. The rooms are individually and tastefully furnished.
Don't hesitate to book, you won't regret it. Je ne regrette rien!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Large room and clean with a wonderful view of the fortress. Easy walking distance to the old city. Breakfast was simple, but good. The hosts are friendly and helpful, but with limited English.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Florentines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Florentines

Address: 71 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's in the heart of the Languedocien vineyard, in a lovely street full of charm and history which curves around the medieval city of Carcassonne that our house is waiting for you. We propose to you 5 rooms of great standing and character arranged carefully and having all comfort (bathroom and private toilets, television, hifi and intercom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Les Florentines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Florentines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.