We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay in Carcassonne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Les Florentines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Florentines to your Saves list
Les Florentines
71 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A short stay in Carcassonne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

September 2011 we had a very enjoyable 3-day break Carcassonne staying at Les Florentines B&B. The terraced house is close to the old walled city and so our evening stroll up the hill before dinner was just long enough to stimulate the appetite and the waddle downhill after helped the digestion.
It is in easy walking distance from the town itself, via the old bridge and the market
The owners, Brigitte and HenriJean are a delight, full of enthusiasm and endeavour to make the stay a happy one. The petit dejeuners were plentiful and the right start to each morning.
There is secure parking available which does help as the streets are narrow and parking is a premium.
The room (we had the Mandarine) was large, clean, comfortable and has views of the old city walls.
Would I stay there again - if in Carcassonne - YES

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
57
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a great stay at Les Florentines in August 2011. We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed the top floor room that has a balcony overlooking the city walls.
The rooms are very clean and tidy and the facilities do what they are supposed to do.
The patrons are helpful and friendly and I would not hesitate to stay with them again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed at Les Florentines for one night, which gave us enough time to visit Carcassonne. The establishment is located in a labyrinth of narrow streets at the base of the medieval fortress. It is not hard to find, you just have to be mindful of the one-way streets in the neighborhood.

The secure parking is just 2 blocks away. Henri was kind enough to help us quickly unload our luggage and then ride we us to the parking spot.

Our room was warmly decorated, had its own bathroom and plenty of space. Access was through a narrow staircase to the 2nd floor. Breakfast, served in the first floor, was plentiful. Brigitte and Henri are great hosts, but note that they only speak french.

At Les Florentines you are only a 10-minute pleasant stroll away from the Castle. The walk up is especially picturesque at night. The area is very safe. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neuenburg am Rhein, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

Les Florentines was so wonderful. We stayed in the Florentine room and the view was spectacular! It has two balconies and the one has the most amazing view of the walled city. The hosts were very accomodating and helpful in answering all our questions. We were only able to stay for one night but it was fabulous! C'était super!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

This was a large room in a quiet hotel that was very nicely appointed and very quiet. There seemed to be a lot of rules posted: no eating in the room, no slamming doors, etc, so I’d say it’s a "tightly run ship," but it made it feel very efficient and gave us a peaceful rest in a comfortable setting. The location is excellent – just a few blocks from the entry to Carcassone’s walled city, and a flat, mostly paved – not too many cobblestone streets - (but 15-20 minutes) walk from the train station.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We only stayed for one night, which we felt was plenty to see Carcassonne. Les Florentines provided a very secure car park and a quick walk up to the fortified town (maybe 10 minutes if that). The room was large, which was helpful for our family of 5. Monsieur Mistler was very kind, but only spoke French, so we kind of fumbled our way through conversations. Breakfast was good, coffee was plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Beautifully served breakfasts were presented to us by Brigette with plenty of tea and coffee offered each morning. The rooms were well maintained and presented offering a comfortable bed and good sized bathroom. Carparking was very convenient in a safe lock up area adjacent. Good value accommodation and easy walking distance to the Cite. Thank you so much to Brigette and Henri for making such memorable stay in Carcassonne for us. Access to our second floor room was fun by narrow timber stairway but may prove difficult for those with very large suitcases

Room Tip: Our Second floor room offered views to Cite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Florentines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Florentines

Address: 71 rue Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's in the heart of the Languedocien vineyard, in a lovely street full of charm and history which curves around the medieval city of Carcassonne that our house is waiting for you. We propose to you 5 rooms of great standing and character arranged carefully and having all comfort (bathroom and private toilets, television, hifi and intercom). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Les Florentines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Florentines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.