We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like traveling back to the Middle Ages...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle and Ramparts of Carcassonne

Castle and Ramparts of Carcassonne
1, rue Viollet-le-Duc, 11000 Carcassonne, France
04 68 11 70 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 32 Attractions in Carcassonne
Type: Castles, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Carcassonne was settled as early as the 6th century BC and later became an important Roman town. It was fortified in the 4th century and was a strategic site in the Middle Ages. It took on its definitive shape in the 13th century with the king’s decision to construct the distinctive double-walled ramparts and extend the castle. The city was restored by Viollet-le-Duc in the 19th century and is a testimony to 1,000 years of military architecture and 2,600 years of history. See a 12-minute film combining 3-D images and close-up footage; walk along the galleries, the fortified walls and the north ramparts; discover the museum of masonry and many other attractions. Designated world heritage site by UNESCO. Open:> April to September: from 10 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.> October to March: from 9.30 a.m. to 5 p.m. Last admission 45 minutes before closing time. Closed:> 1st January, 1st May, 1st November, 11th November and 25th December. Admission fees: Adults : 8,50 €; Concessions (18 to 25) = 5,50 €; Free admission: minors under 18*; Free admission: 18-25 years old* (citizens of one of the 27 countries of the EU or are non-European permanent residents of France) * excluding school groups
Holstebro, Denmark
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Like traveling back to the Middle Ages...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We drove to Carcassonne from the coastline, which was a great experience. You could see the Castle far away. Our visit was in the day time, but I could imagine that it would be nice to watch the sun go down, and see the Castle in a different light. We went to a torture museum, which was interesting.

The only negative experience was the food. It was expensive, and the staff couldn´t tell us about the menu in other languages than French...hard to understand in one of the larges turist attractions in the country!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    371
    81
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“nice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

visited in a group and i loved it
i loved to see the beautiful view and the nice little villages all around
this is nice to see and great to take some photos!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“carcassonne castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Amazing this was my 1st castle that I ever visited WOW! make sure you have plenty of time to enjoy this attraction.Their is lodging here as well which is a good idea.Don't forget your camera a must! Have fun!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Very well restored and preserved walled city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped by Carcassonne when driving from Provence to Barcelona because of our fascination with walled cities. We have been to St. Malo, Dinan and Avila. I must say that the moment we stepped in we felt that we were in Mont St. Michel. The streets were lined with shops and eateries and no one is staying in the city itself anymore. It was a little too commercialised for our liking. In that respect, we prefer Avila. However, we still enjoyed our visit tremendously. We paid EUR8.50 to gain admission to the castle and to walk the ramparts. There was an audio visual show which narrates the history of Carcassonne which we found very useful and informative for the visit and to help us image how the people in medieval days lived here. There were also many unique photo opportunities especially for those who have never visited a walled city.

Hint: the best place to get a photo of the whole walled city is to travel towards the new city and stop by the new bridge which leads into the new city. You will be able to take a spectacular shot of the old city with the old bridge. Similar to those you see on postcards.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ruins But Far Too Touristy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This a beautiful medieval city, something to see for sure. However, the inside has been turned into an almost Disney like tourist atmosphere. Definitely enjoyed the view from outside the best because of the intense tourist atmosphere inside. Either way, it's a great way to kill a few hours, get some great views and some good photos of a medieval city.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle and Ramparts of Carcassonne also viewed

 

Been to Castle and Ramparts of Carcassonne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle and Ramparts of Carcassonne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.