We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an inexpensive hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adonis La Barbacane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adonis La Barbacane to your Saves list
Adonis La Barbacane
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   15 rue Barbacane | 15 Rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Affiliate website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“OK for an inexpensive hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed one night and as we were with someone who had stayed here before we didn't have to try to find it ourselves.
The bedroom/kitchenette was spacious, the bed was large and comfortable. The kitchen facilities were rudimentary though with no crockery supplied. Bathroom was clean and fully functioning.
Buffet breakfast was adequate.
We were able to leave our luggage for the day after checking out of our room but noted that the left luggage room was not locked.
Only a short walkable distance to La Cite but very steep hill walk for anyone with mobility or breathing problems.
Carcasonne is fabulous.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    174
    125
    48
    28
See reviews for
145
184
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We arrived at 2 p.m. but could not book in until 3 p.m.
We found our apartments o.k. except there was no Kettle and when enquired for one they said you have to use the Microwave, also they need to put some felt or rubber under the
chairs... the noise when they were moved above us was not good.. especially early in the
morning or late at night, other than that we were quite satisfied and the Staff were very helpful and friendly.... We used the underground Car Park at a cost but it was safe.
We really loved the Wall City and enjoyed our time there... We would say 3/4 days is plenty.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

withinprice within a short walking distance from the walled city, this was a good stay for the money.
It was noisy with traffic on the busy road along the front of the building...ask for a room in the back?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Our accommodation at Carcassonne was well located for access to the Old City and a good size. However, the apartment was shabby, with a poorly equipped and grubby kitchen to the extent that we asked the receptionist for a cloth for us to wipe over. She reluctantly found a used sponge with an explicit condition that it be returned on checkout. While the bathroom was adequate, the shower was not attached to the wall which meant awkward handshowering. That characterised our experience. Minimum standards were generally met, just!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Pros:
Good value, but we found the price had decreased considerably a week before we were due to leave, so ended up cancelling and rebooking to get the better deal.
Very large rooms
Excellent air con
Good location
Cons:
Kitchen not very well enquiped
Steep climb up to the citi
Very important - check the reception hours, on arrival we ended up sheltering in the underground garage (it was very hot) waiting for the building to open at 3pm. There is no cafe nearby to wait either. Not a good 1st impression. Luckily the place redeemed itself, but I was fuming at the time.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Great little apartment and good value. We walked from the train station with our backpacks - about 1.5 km's, not impossible but a bit of a hike. Seeing the castle only takes 1/2 a day and there is lots of other things to do in Carcassonne so it hasn't been that useful being close to the castle but we love this place. Beautiful spots for having dinner at night.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

First, the directions to the hotel are inadequate - the hotel is on a one way street and not very well signed (a more specific map on the web site would help!). The apartment/room was large, clean and with plenty of space. The kitchen area was very small so fine for a stop-over but would have been inadequate for a longer stay. The kids said that the sofa bed was comfortable (it was well made up upon arrival). The toilet was downstairs in the lobby area and did not have a handbasin - also a long way from the double bedroom upstairs. The bathroom (upstairs) was small and the shower (over bath) a little awkward to use. On the plus side this apart/hotel is very near the old city and has secure underground parking (€8.50 a night) close by to the rooms (street parking is free but difficult to find).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adonis La Barbacane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adonis La Barbacane

Address: 15 rue Barbacane | 15 Rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adonis La Barbacane 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane is pleased to welcome you in a green setting next to Carcassonne city classified as World Heritage Site by Unesco. You will discover a beautiful region with an extraordinary cultural richness. ADONIS Carcassonne La Barbacane welcomes you in one of its 70 air conditioned apartments, fully furnished and tastefully equipped to make your stay a real success. We put at your disposal: a pleasant dining room for your family breakfast, for your well-being you will have access to the area of fitness and jacuzzi, and for business meetings,an equipped meeting room is available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Adonis La Barbacane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adonis La Barbacane Hotel Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Carcassonne
La Barbacane Citea Hotel Carcassonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adonis La Barbacane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.