We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location at a rustic b&b near the old city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ecuries de Sainte-Croix

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ecuries de Sainte-Croix to your Saves list
Ecuries de Sainte-Croix
Chemin de Sainte-Croix, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location at a rustic b&b near the old city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

This b&b is on the outskirts of Carcassonne, but an easy 3km drive to the old walled city. The b&b is on a farm, and is surrounded by grape vines along the road. The facilities are everything you could want, with good bathrooms, hot water and comfortable beds. Genevieve is a wonderful host and she was happy to help in making bookings for tourist attractions and restaurants. Her recommendations were excellent. The breakfasts are exceptional and guests eat in the family dining room, surrounded by artwork by Genevieve and her husband, Henri.
We accidently left behind a pair of expensive boots and Genevieve posted them back to Australia for us and refused payment for the postage.
We would highly recommend this b&b, in the beautiful surrounds of Carcassonne.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    31
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
64
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

We just returned from a trip to Barcelona & Carcassonne. Ecuries de Sainte Croix was a definite highlight of our trip. Genevieve and Henri were fantastic hosts, and were extremely helpful in suggestions for touring the area and finding wonderful restaurants. I enjoyed running on the scenic country roads surrounding Ecuries de Sainte Croix, and the delicious breakfast waiting for me upon my return. I look forward to an opportunity to visit again soon!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

We stayed out on the farm for three nights and we were very happy with our accommodation. The room La Napolitaine was comfortable and spacious with plenty of room for luggage. I have to agree with other comments about locating the place as even with the GPS we could not find it. Eventually we asked a walker in the area and he pointed us to the entrance. I would suggest that a map with roads marked instead of written directions might solve the problem of finding the Bed and Breakfast . Once there and settled in we thought our room was delightful (Not 5 star, but extremely homely) Genevieve was a wonderful hostess and even with our language barrier went out of her way to help us with any query, including restaurants, car parking when in town etc. Breakfast was a typically, delightful, French meal with fresh breads, jams, fruit and tea or coffee. An excellent start to any day. Genevieve also did our laundry one day in order for us to enjoy the nearby sights. Thank you Genevieve for your A1 hospitality. It was very much appreciated.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

What a lovely b & b - close to the medieval city of Carcassonne but in a totally rural location, away from it all. Very friendly welcome and rooms were clean and spacious. Good shower. The breakfast was tasty and included homemade jams and fruit from their orchard. Good opportunity to meet the other guests at breakfast since we all shared the same table at breakfast.

Only niggle was trying to find the place! For anyone who has downloaded directions from Google maps, it is helpful to follow the directions stated and once you have found the Charlemagne roundabout (not specifically signed as such but the one with the A42 heading South, you will need to take turning into Carcassonne and then turn immediately right after reaching the Le Parc restaurant. Go up the hill and follow the road round to the left until you see the Medieval city walls (chemin des anglais). There is then a sharp right hand turn which you take and from there you should see handwritten signs for the Ecuries de Sainte Croix. Hope these are correct - it was a few weeks since we were there, but wouldnt want others to suffer a grumpy driver like I had to!!!!!

Really good place to stay for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

My partner and I stayed three nights in the Celadon Room, one of several rooms in a building separate from the main house. There was easy and free parking for our rental car. The accommodation was large, clean and quiet. There was a small fridge and an electric kettle and tea bags and coffee. The shower and bath water were almost instantly hot and plentiful. The bed was comfortable. Towels were changed daily. There is much charm about the huge property which is surrounded by vineyards. And the fig trees on property provided fresh fruit and jam for the large breakfast buffet.

But the best part of our experience was the host Geneviève. She allowed us to use her personal computer to check email and make travel plans. We had to change our travel plans while in Carcassonne because of an unfortunate theft of passport (and computer) two days prior to our stay here and Geneviève went out of her way to find a room for us when we were unable to do so on our own. She made phone calls to tourist agencies. She called B&B's directly on our behalf until she secured a room for us within walking distance of the US Embassy. She and husband Henri will always be special to us. We only had a two day window to get a passport to return to the US and she sensed this urgency.

Geneviève also recommended places to park free near the walled city. She recommended restaurants not only nearby but at our next destination. She recommended Cathar castles to visit within easy driving distance and provided driving maps. We agree that a car is necessary if staying at Ecuries de Sainte-Croix although a taxi would probably not be unreasonable. We recommend this place strongly to anyone looking for peace and quiet in a country setting but within 5 minutes of the medieval city. It was perfect for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

I'd say the number one best thing about this B&B is the location! It is just down a one lane dirt road that leads right to the walled city. It is close enough to walk, about 20 min walk, but also so easy to drive. But our favorite part of the location is that it is close enough to the Pyrenees to do a day drive to the Cathar castles. A WONDERFUL experience. The B&B has rooms that are simple and nice. Very clean with a lot of room to spread out, and towel heaters! We loved the towel heater haha. The host is very nice and the breakfast was great, very fresh and tasty! There was a small fridge, everything you need for making tea, a tv, fresh towels everyday. Plenty of parking on the premises. I can't think of anything I didn't like about this place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

Ecuries de Sainte-Croix was lovely: great room, lovely warm reception, fantastic location on top of a hill with a view down onto la Cite de Carcassonne and of course a lovely french breakfast. I spent my time when not haring around the hills or along the Canal du Midi on my bike relaxing in their hammock with a view out over the vines and a glass of red. Lovely.

Our room had a very large double bed with television, bedside tables etc., lovely new looking bathroom, fridge in the front room along with a rocking chair, day bed and a big table. Outside the accomodation were iron tables with umbrellas where we ate our bread, cheese and saucisson dinners. Tea & coffee facilities. Did I mention the extremely friendly and helpful hosts?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ecuries de Sainte-Croix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ecuries de Sainte-Croix

Address: Chemin de Sainte-Croix, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hill, at two kilometres above the "Cité de Carcassonne",amongst the vineyards Geneviève and Henri welcome you at renovated old farm. There is a parking lot and a WIFI free.Our B&B is open all year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ecuries de Sainte-Croix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ecuries de Sainte-Croix, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.