We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a friendly place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carcassonne Medieval City

Carcassonne Medieval City
A61 West, Carcassonne, France
33 0 468 102 430
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$238*
and up
Private Tour: Carcassonne Day Trip from Toulouse...
Ranked #2 of 32 Attractions in Carcassonne
Type: Historic Sites, Historic Walking Areas, Neighborhoods, Cultural
Attraction details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Such a friendly place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

I was was really looking forward to Carcassonne. We had decided to take ourselves there by train from Avignon. Im not sure how we managed it but we left the train station and couldnt find the castle. We were sitting on the wrong side of the train to see it when we came in. So we got a map but were having a bad day as couldnt orientate. I asked a lady and she could not explain in english and I could explain in french apart from the picture. She walked us all the way there. I had never had such an experience. She was older but still walked us up the hill to the the castle and the weather was not great. We thanked her as much as we were able. I was so grateful she made our day with her generosity of time. The castle was fabulous but the stranger who helped us made the strongest impression on how friendly french people are.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,473
    602
    174
    55
    13
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingscliff
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We loved the Medieval City of Carcassonne. It was wonderful to be able to wander around the old fortress and try and imagine what life would have been like for those that had lived there and fought all the battles.
Entry is free, except to the museum. There are plenty of touristy shops in the little narrow streets and plenty of restaurants.
It is a great day out for all ages.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An amazing piece of living history!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We totally enjoyed our visit to the medieval city which was once the heart of the culture of southwestern France and Cathar life. I suggest entering through the Narbonne Gate at which point you can visit the tourist center and plan your visit. The chateau is worth a visit, as well. It is on the opposite end of the cité, but strolling through the narrow streets is well worth it! There are many "tourist" type shops but there are also some excellent restaurants and great regional cooking in several of these. May I suggest the cassoulet! The vista from the ramparts is also quite lovely. Yes, this is a must-see medieval city.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“An interesting day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

A must visit if you are in the area. The city ramparts really take you back to a darker more evil time. Fantastic views over Carcassone and we experienced the best cassoulet we had ever tasted at one of the restaurants within.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“One of my highlights of 6 weeks in Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I took 170 photos walking around this magnificent landmark, and inside on the very reasonably-priced self-guided tour. We have 3 teenagers and they were equally enthralled with the size and construction. We were there for 5 hours, including a fabulous breakfast before we started our walking. Fortunately, we were there in January so relatively quiet.

In response to some of the other reviews... the shops were fine - there are going to be souvenir shops anywhere and as tourists, why would anyone be surprised about that? Considering REAL people live inside the walled city they have to earn a living somehow. Some of the shops were selling local produce and hand made beautiful arts and crafts.

I was at first hesitant to pay to go inside, but a family ticket made it feasible and I thoroughly enjoyed learning more about the history of Carcassonne and walking along the ramparts. Well worth it. If you get all the way to Carcassonne and decide not to do the tour you may regret it later - have a little splurge!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carcassonne Medieval City also viewed

 

Been to Carcassonne Medieval City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carcassonne Medieval City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.