We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent - would have no hesitation in going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Logis des Remparts

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Les Logis des Remparts to your Saves list
Les Logis des Remparts
3 rue du Moulin D'Avar, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent - would have no hesitation in going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had room 1 and stayed for a week. The studio room was clean, quirky and very comfortable. Some of the other reviews say it is quite hard to find, yes it is - but all the streets are very visibly named so its just a matter of working it out. Unlike most of the other people who have written reviews, we did get to meet the lovely lady (Mathilde) who is there every lunchtime re-stocking supplies of jams, butter, coffee, tea and juice and making sure everything is spotless for visitors. Well worth staying here, excellent location and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    23
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
38
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This logis is a real little gem. the rooms have loads of character and the location in the medieval city in fantastic. we stayed for 2 nights in the downstairs studio which was clean and well presented. Great touch getting the baguette delivered each morning! There arent many affordable accommodation options within the city walls which makes this place all the more impressive. a very short walk to some excellant restaurants

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Staying here was so fitting with a visit to the fantasy-like castle of Carcassonne. We booked two rooms (1 and 2) for one night and we were thrilled when we arrived. The place is rustic but very comfortable and clean, we felt like we were in a storybook. Room 1 is tiny and cute. Room 2 is more spacious and 3 adults slept there easily. The showers were great.

The owner of the place is usually working elsewhere so he contacted us in advance to gives us a door code in order to enter. We just let ourselves in. We never met the owner, so we left payment in cash in the room.

We knew the hotel was not easy to find before our visit (even with a map), so we were prepared. The sign was very small, but if you head in the correct general direction towards the ramparts of the castle, you will come upon it eventually no matter what path you take. It would be best to arrive during daylight so you can see the sign easily. Do look through the photos here to know what the sign looks like.

The hotel is just steps away from Place Saint Jean, which has several excellent and affordable restaurants. They all have outdoor seating with great views of the castle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for two nights on a studio room. There was plenty of space and modern, well designed bathroom. The fresh bread for breakfast was great. We loved being in the city walls and so close to everything so we could make most of our time. Everything was quiet and peaceful during the night despite being right in the heart of the city. A quirky and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Go for the studio rooms as they have a little kitchen and setter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

The location of this four 'apartment' building is within the ancient castle walls.
It is within a minute or so of restaurants but far enough away from the main street to be quiet.
Fridge, crockery, coffee, butter, jam & cooking facilities in rooms. Fresh bread delivered every morning for breakfast.
Not a 5 star Hilton (nothing is within the castle walls) - MUCH MUCH BETTER.

Note: Free parking for people staying within the “Cite” is available but not well publicized.
This car park is directly against the castle wall to the left of the drawbridge , the entrance to which you get to by going around the cemetery.
The barrier is manned by a security guard who will open it on proof of stay.
We originally parked in the public car park which cost 5 Euros for 6 hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We booked the place for a single night in February. The location was perfect, off the beaten track of the Old Cite, but not too far out. The rustic decor of Room 1 (which we had) was perfectly in keeping with the atmosphere, the bed was surprisingly comfortable, and I simply fell in love! The only thing I would count as a negative, and it is a small one at that, is that as an American, I would expect more than simply a dry loaf of bread. A couple of croissants, some fruit, perhaps. But again, that was a very small quibble! I loved the place and would love to return! The other odd thing is that you will never see anyone like a caretaker or landlord. It's very much self-service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having read the mixed reviews, we weren't quite sure what to expect on arrival, but had decided to book the hotel as we were only staying 2 nights and it seemed much cheaper than any other hotel within the city walls.

I have to say we were delighted with the room. It is a small hotel, as you would expect as it is literally built into the remparts, but the room was spotless (cleaned every day) and nicely decorated. There was a fridge with milk, butter and jams, microwave, coffee maker, small table and chairs, hob, cutlery and pots and pans. Fresh baguettes were delivered each morning for breakfast and as we were leaving for an early flight before the baguettes were delivered, the owner bought us some biscuits instead the night before.

We booked the studio room which I can recommend - it was 64 euros per night for the room but having had a peek at the other rooms was definitely larger, the standard rooms did look a little cramped.

The bathroom was small but adequate, with a surprisingly powerful shower.

If you are used to staying in 4 star luxury hotels or if you are travelling with a lot of baggage then Les Logis de Remparts is probably not the place for you, but I would point out that you cannot drive into the city walls during the day so you will have the same problem transporting luggage at any hotel within the city walls and may be better looking for somewhere outside the walls.

However, for a unique experience I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

A few pointers about Carcassonne - the airport bus was over half an hour late for our return flight so we ended up getting a taxi with another couple which was cheaper than the bus between 4.

Highly recommend Le Passage tapas restaurant - more of a local than a tourist restaurant, absolutely amazing food on Rue Trivalle, the road leading to the Pont Vieux.

Room Tip: I recommend the studio room (4) for more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Logis des Remparts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Logis des Remparts

Address: 3 rue du Moulin D'Avar, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Les Logis des Remparts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Logis des Remparts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.