We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid like medievale plague” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Le Plo

Le Plo
23 rue du Plo, 11000 Carcassonne, France
+33 (0) 4 68 25 51 85
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 271 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid like medievale plague”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

May 18 2013.....couldnt face the walk to town so came upon an inviting terrace......terrible service...14 euro wine opened and left on table...battery acid....starters poor..fois gras and fig not bad but only three small bits of toast lasted for one of three slices of fois gras.
Main took ages.....duck in parcel....nice sauce but the duck was tough as boot leather....wife had a fish dish which was dry.......on the whole pretty poor even for a place that doesnt rely on repeat bussiness.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    87
    33
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another decent (but average) restaurant...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We chose this place because the other one we were keen on had no tables (we tried to get a table during lunch and dinner, but no luck).

With all the recommendations at the front door / window of this restaurant, it gave a very positive impression. However, the reality was pretty much average. The salad gourmandise was mediocre and the cassoulet poisson was OK, but the profiteroles were absolutely dreadful (the worse I've had in all the 5 years I've lived in France). This made me doubt if the recommendations on the door / window was genuine (seems that every other restaurant had recommendations, which is kinda strange).

Service was good. The waitress (the smaller of the two girls) was communicative despite not knowing any English. Good job.

Would I come here again? No, not really. There are plenty of places to eat in the old city,

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Friendly staff, good value tasty food, lovely outdoor area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our second night in Carcassonne. The set menu was very good value and the food was tasty and cooked just right (goats cheese salad, steak and potato slices, prune tart). The wine was great and made just outside the city walls and the staff were really friendly even though we spoke no French and they were busy. Lovely atmosphere sitting in the outside area. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Worse food we had in Carcassone”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice location, but indifferent staff, the wine (not the bottle we ordered) was ordinary and the food dreadful. Basil pesto turned out to be curry sauce (not particularly nice on a salad), burnt meat, haricot beans seemed straight out of the jar. There are many other places to choose from.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
283 helpful votes 283 helpful votes
“What you read is not what you get”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We found this place to be a whole lot cozier than most of the obvious tourist traps found at the old city square just around the corner. Most of the food is ok but some advise on what means what could be handy here. We ordered Filet Mignon which means a cut of the smaller part of the tenderloin all over the world and even in most cases in France. Alarmed by the fact that the waitress never asked us how we would like it cooked we asked again only to find out it was pork. The waitress looked at us as if she had never seen such food amateurs before, filet mignon is pork, of course, in her small world. Potato wedges served at all dishes were fatty but tasted quite ok. Incredible that in France in these middle class restaurants it is normal to keep the same cutlery for all courses no matter if you switch from fish to meat were as where we're from this totally not done even in the cheap bistros! Is it too expensive or difficult to hand out clean forks and knives?
I had all my hopes set on the dessert as the title; "Soufflé de Touron" made me curious how they would manage to capture the taste of nougat (touron) in something as airy as a soufflé. My hope soon deflated (like a bad soufflé) when I saw the plate with the factory made, wholesale bought, ice-hockey puck of iced nougat surrounded by random blobs of disgustingly sweet strawberry syrup, yuk! How to explain this to this all-knowing goddess of cuisine? Very misleading texts in the menu could make you believe this place is different, until you see it on a plate, alas.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Plo also viewed

 
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Le Plo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Plo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.