We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have been great...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison sur la Colline

Save Saved
You added La Maison sur la Colline to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Maison sur la Colline
lieu dit sainte-croix, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 63 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Could have been great...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This could be a wonderful chambre d’hote; it’s secluded in lovely countryside but close enough to Carcassonne (2km) to be walkable, with a clean swimming pool, a pleasant garden, excellent breakfast and mum’s lovely home-made jams. However…

We stayed for eight nights (probably a mistake) for our autumn holiday. Booked by email in advance we were offered a room not shown on the website but ‘tres agréable avec sa sortie directe sur le jardin’. We confirmed, sent the deposit and a confirmatory email and text as requested; thereafter we heard nothing from the proprietor, Delfine, either in acknowledgement or in response to our various subsequent emails for further information. We arrived not knowing if the booking existed. Delfine was not there. Her mother, lovely but elderly, showed us the room but not the other areas; we only discovered the interior lounge three days later.

Although some rooms were clearly better, ours was far from ‘agréable’: like Doesborgh D, we had a room with the en suite toilet covered by a curtain not a door (fine unless one of you succumbs to an uncontrollable intestinal tract disorder – which luckily we didn’t!); the towels were like sandpaper, one ripped; no shampoo or soap for the shower; two of the electrical sockets didn’t work; the bedside lamp bulbs were broken; the all-glass dressing table was dangerously held onto the wall with two wonky brackets; the chest of drawers was terminally broken and lined with ancient newspaper; the two chairs supplied were so uncomfortable as to be unusable; and there was absolutely no information supplied about the house or Carcassonne. The room had an exit, i.e. the door, not ‘directe sur le jardin’ but onto a gravel path with no view, a table 18’ in diameter and two uncomfortable metal chairs. Delfine arrived three days later, never introduced herself or apologised for not replying to the emails and then asked for the deposit; like zorglub10, we also had to sit over her while she looked up our payment (which she hadn’t seen) on her online banking.

Even worse, no attempt was made to clean the bedroom, toilet or bathroom throughout our 8-day stay, the bed never made or sheets changed. On Friday the hot water stopped working and we spent 36 hours complaining to Delfine – her response was a ‘Gallic shrug’, a laugh and ‘je suis désolé, désolé’. Although she claims to speak English and Spanish on her website, there was no sign of this at any time, just a torrent of French about the plumber.

Some or much of this we could have accepted as quirky but what made it unacceptable was Delfine’s attitude which was, bluntly, lazy, unconcerned and rude. Basically, she doesn’t know how to run the place as a ‘customer facing’ business. Although it was pretty full with middle-aged and elderly French couples and a few stoical Brits, each staying two or three days, times have moved on, both in Britain and France, since this was acceptable. We wouldn’t return or recommend to our friends and are astonished that it made it into Sawdays.

Room Tip: There are at least two facing the gravel path with only curtains over the toilets which you might wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    8
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I booked this place in spite of the negative comments by Doesborgh D and I was grateful that I had. His/her review was so unbalanced that I suspected it was worth ignoring preferring the recommendation offered by the Michelin Green Guide and Sawdays. The location is excellent and the rooms quirky, with plenty of character. Breakfast was superb and the swimming pool on a hot and sticky summer afternoon was very welcome. The suggestion that the place was "creepy" and "like a scene from a horror film" is just plain daft - get a life Shira K.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

La Maison sur la colline is in the middle of nowhere. The only good thing is that it was a nice drive to old carcassonne. We arrived on a rainy cold day and there was only one small electric heater to warm the place. The bathroom and shower had no door, just a curtain, so there was no privacy. The whole thing creeped us out like a scene from a horror film. It seemed to us that mostly french tourists stay there. This place is only for someone who loves B&Bs in the middle of nowhere. And I forgot to mention they do not supply soap for showering.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Charming farmhouse near Carcassonne. Not for those who want a cookie-cutter sterile hotel. more like staying at the home of friends. delightful sitting room with fireplace and large couches where we could sit and enjoy our bottle of wine. Good breakfast with lots of variety in a room right off the large country kitchen. I would not hesitate to stay there again or to recommend it to anyone. It is however outside of Carcassonne, not easily walkable to town. For us that was a plus to be away from the crowds.

Room Tip: loved the blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegelen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

La Maison sur la Colinne is a very worn out old farmhouse, run by two ladies, who apparently can't maintain the propterty anymore. It's a nightmare for older people (which we were not by the way) because there are -dangerous- old stone steps all over the place. The lightning inside the house is also very bad.
We had the "Chambre Bleu", which was so fully packed with things that it gave me almost a headache, also there was massive dust on the cupboard and in the hallways.
The entree of the house smelt like an liqued manure cellars, which is not so strange because it's an old farmhouse.
We did not see the owner for three days on a row and when we left, she found it necessary to talk about the guests which just left before us. Not very charming!!
No positive things? Yes: a good breakfast and quiet surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Maison sur la Colline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison sur la Colline

Address: lieu dit sainte-croix, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your La Maison sur la Colline reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison sur la Colline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.