We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places we have ever stayed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Les Palmiers De La Cite

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Les Palmiers De La Cite to your Saves list
Les Palmiers De La Cite
Quartier de l'Ile 240, Camin del Orts, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best places we have ever stayed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband and I have five children and we have traveled all over the world with them. We have stayed in close to hundred different hotels/hostels. Les Palmiers is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Carol, the hostess, was so accommodating. It can be a challenge to find chambre d'hotes here in France that will/can take five kids and aren't crazy expensive. We ended up renting two rooms and we had plenty of room. The rooms were very nice- quite comfortable, well sized and very clean. The bedding was crisp cotton and impecable. The bathrooms were good sized, bright and spotless with great showers. The hostess, Carol, had turned on the heated towel bar for us before we arrived so we would have nice, warm towels. We only intended to stay one night -- but we stayed five!

Carol went above and beyond our expectations as a hostess. While we were here, my husband and I decided to buy a car here in France (we are on a long, open-ended trip around Europe). Carol researched the process with us, brought my husband to the local preceture to ask questions, and called people for us to ask about the cars they were selling (we don't speak much French). She and her husband went far beyond helpful. I cannot say enough.

Our children loved waking up to the plentiful breakfast each morning and for three evenings Carol cooked us dinner. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was so inviting and cozy. We would recommend her chambre d'hotes to anyone!

(By the way, I said that the "Fitness Center" was excellent -- however there is no fitness center. There just isn't a way to say "N/A" -- and this place deserves a 5 out of 5.)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
51
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here in early October after being on the road for over a month. Our room, the Cathare was very clean and spacious, with a huge bathroom and small patio with table. There was a pool but the summer weather had passed. Was good to have a safe place to park our rental car inside their property. Not always so easy in Europe. We were a 15 minute walk to the castle and to the centre of town. We went to the Carraforre to get lunch and supper supplies one night and ate it on the patio which was great. Carol recommended a couple of restaurants which were also very good. Would also recommend the Fine arts museum in the centre of town which was small enough to be done in an hour and free which was great. Some amazing pictures for such a small town. Would recommend staying here again.

Room Tip: Cathare room had it's own patio and table and chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend break and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. Carol was more than welcoming into her home and the room was lovely, very spacious and spotless. The bathroom was also gorgeous. The B&B is ideally located just a short walk from both the city and and the castle. Carol recommended some lovely restaurants and gave lots of useful information to get us through the trip, including the occasional french lesson. Breakfast was lovely, very traditional consisting of cereal yoghurts, baguette and croissants. Also the most delicious hot chocolate Ive ever had. Would recommend this place and will definitely return for a second visit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and it was fabulous. A really welcoming couple run the place - Carole and Jose. They couldn't have been nicer and more helpful. Lovely room , fine for a family of four for couple of nights. Really nice pool and shaded parking area for your rental car. Walking distance to the medieval city of Carcassonne. With two out of the four of us having broken feet ( Im not joking...) Carole INSISTED on driving us to our restaurant each night so I could enjoy a drink and leave the rental car!!! And the restaurants she suggested ( Le Jardin d'ete & L'ecurie) were both fantastic, great food and great athmosphere and reasonably priced for what they were. We brought along our kids favourite cereal and Carole served that up to them daily and fresh local yogurts and honey and coffee and croissants...what more do you want??
Jose can arrange a cold beer from the fridge on your return from Carcassonne and all the walking round cobblestone streets for you to lol about by the pool. You can relax and hear the trumpets and cheers as they recreate the Jousting competitions of centuries past each afternoon . Fabulous B&B on the doorstep of Carcassonne. You won't be disappointed. Peter & family from Dublin Ireland.

Room Tip: Ask to see the upstairs rooms, they may suit some. Ask for Air conditioner/ fan in height of summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergerac
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Carol and Jose have this lovely Chambre d hotes which is situated in the perfect place for a visit to the Carcasson Medieval Cite. We stayed two nights and would have liked to have stayed longer. We were warmly welcomed and Carol offered many recommendations about the Cite and where to eat etc.The restaurant recommendation was superb! Les Palmiers is in a very quiet and peaceful location with a beautiful view of the castle and lovely walks all around. The walks can also take you into the old but younger town of Carcassone. Just a short 15 minutes stroll along the river takes you towards the Medieval Cite but be aware that the last part is uphill. There are car parks at the top so if you prefer you can take the car. Inside the walls it is very busy and we appreciated the fact that we would be going back to a much quiter location at the end of the evening, Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean with nice traditional decor and a lovely modern bathroom. We enjoyed it very much during our stay. We had a nice breakfast on the terrace just outside our room which included local fresh produce. Unfortunately, We were not in the area long enough and would like to return. We highly recommend Carol and Jose's home and their great hospitality and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in this lovely B an B , excellently located for both the mediaeval city and the "not so old" town. The room and its facilities are modern and tasteful ; the breakfast was like "being family". We werent feeling great and the wether was not what we hoped for , but Carol administered to our every need - in particular warmer clothing and a brolly !!! Thankfully most people will undoubtedly be luckier with weather, but they won't improve on Carole and
Jose as hosts .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for a magical night as part of our honeymoon. Not only was the B&B perfectly located, a beautiful 5 minute stroll to the Castle gates, but the room was stunning! The bathroom was very large and stylishly decorated. The Cathar room in which we stayed blended modern comforts with stylish medieval details. The hosts could not have been more friendly and helpful, making us feel right at home from the outset. They booked a table for us at a fabulous local restaurant and provided lots of travelling tips for the area. The breakfast was delicious, beautiful fresh French produce, served on stunning handmade crockery. We would advise people to stay in this fabulous place as it has everything you would require!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Les Palmiers De La Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Palmiers De La Cite

Address: Quartier de l'Ile 240, Camin del Orts, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the foot of the medieval city and near the city centre, 4 contemporary and refined guest rooms, in a charming and quiet area, with a large garden and a big swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Les Palmiers De La Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Palmiers De La Cite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.