We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Domaine d'Auriac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Domaine d'Auriac to your Saves list
Le Domaine d'Auriac
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Route de Saint-Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Carcassonne
Brecon Beacons National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

My wife booked this as a surprise birthday break. The November weather was awful with four days rain but the hotel made the best of it with its charming decor and furnishings plus log fires - cozy. The hotel and staff were wonderful, professional and friendly. The restaurant fully deserves it's Michelin star - great food, wine and service. Recommended.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    32
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
22
103
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights as part of a deal which included dinner one night. As a vegetarian I'm always wary of places which have no obvious veggie options on the menu, but the chef prepared me a delicious risotto with a selection of obscure vegetables - everything was perfectly cooked and we were almost tempted to eat there again at full price. Breakfast was likewise wonderful.

We paid a small supplement to upgrade to a better room - worthwhile for us as we like to have space to stretch out and play games of an evening. The decor was a little faded, but the beds were comfortable even for a picky sleeper like me.

You can reach the hotel cheaply (except on Sundays) by taking the bus to the Hospital - it's a very short walk. It's also pleasant to walk in to the city if you have good shoes and the weather is fine.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Norfolk
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night stay at this friendly comfortable hotel. We had a room on the second floor which was a good size and quiet, with a small sitting room attached. The bed was comfortable with lovely linen and we had 3 good night's sleep. On the first night we had a complimentary dinner with wine which was part of the package, dinner in the spacious dining room was excellent so was the wine. This hotel is a taxi ride away from both Carcassonne and the Medieval City, so it would make sense to hire a car for further exploration.
Marie-Helene and her staff were polite and very helpful, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Fantastic hospitality, and super service from the staff. Both lunch and dinner at the restaurant was more than excellent. And a impressive wine list with the best of the best local wines + many more.

I will be looking forward to return ASAP again. Can at any time recommend this Relais and Chateaux hotel for the next visit to Carcassonne or France.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 blissful nights in this gem of a hotel. Service impeccable throughout from check-in to check-out: nothing was too much trouble. Staff were friendly, helpful and seemed generally concerned that we enjoyed our stay - I was even offered a wrap by the owner who was concerned that I might be chilly whilst dining on the patio.
The room was large, well decorated, air-conditioned and shuttered and provided with every comfort you could want - huge comfortable bed, coffee machine, fridge, comfortable seating area, flat screen TV, i-pod dock, enormous bathroom with twin sinks, corner bath and shower, big mist-free mirrors and fluffy towels, gowns and slippers . . . even a couple of umbrellas in case it rained (it didn't).
The grounds are delightful - pool, tennis courts, numerous little seating areas as well as a large terrace - an oasis of calm.
The food in the restaurant was probably the best I've ever had - delicious, beautifully presented local ingredients accompanied by local wines - heaven. The service was impeccable and the knowledgeable sommelier chose a delightful wine to accompany each course. If it's warm enough eat on the secluded terrace where the only sound is that of the cicadas and the breeze in the trees. We dined there twice and on the third night tried the bistro which was excellent too, as were the generous, scrumptious breakfasts.
I really can't praise this hotel enough as they really have thought of everything. It totally exceeded my expectations and it's so close to Carcassonne. Couldn't ask for more!

Room Tip: We had one of the cheapest rooms, the Yellow Room, and it was fantastic so I don't think you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just returned from a lovely relaxing long weekend. Staff cannot do enough for you, comfort of room and standard of food both in the a la carte restaurant and the very reasonably priced Bistro were excellent.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a night at this Relais and Chateaux hotel. Check in went smoothly, and Mary Helen was very helpful with maps and information about Carcassone. After visiting the old city, my husband and I enjoyed an afternoon lounging by the pool and walking on the grounds. We enjoyed our three course dinner with accompanying wines, and we left the dinner tired and ready for a good night sleep. Late in the evening, our air conditioner developed a continuous whine. Although we tried to adjust it, the noise would not stop, and we could not sleep. At 3 am, my husband went to the front desk to complain, but no one was at the desk. We finally turned off the airconditioner, and although the room was warmer than we prefer, we finally managed to get a couple hours of sleep. When we checked out, my husband told the desk clerk about the problem we experienced, but he did not appear overly concerned or interested.

This is a beautiful hotel with excellent service, but a night with little sleep does not leave a positive memory. You should not have problems like this at a Relais and Chateaux hotel. Hopefully, the airconditioner has been fixed, and the next person can write a more positive review.

Room Tip: We had a standard room - it seemed quite small. I would recommend an upgrade to a larger room if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Domaine d'Auriac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Domaine d'Auriac

Address: Route de Saint-Hilaire, 11009 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Domaine d'Auriac 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The tranquil Domaine d'Auriac Relais et Châteaux, welcomes its guests to calm and comfortable surroundings.It is set a mature 3000 years old park, an idyllic haven of greenery on the Mediterranean doorstep encircled by the black mountains and the stunning southern region of the Corbières.The are two smooth-watering restaurants "Bernard Rigaudis" and "Le Bistrot d'Auriac" available for food lovers.An 178 holes golf course, swimming pool and tennis court will all go towards making your stay both an enchanted and relaxed one.It is a stunning location at the foot of the "Cite de Carcassonne" with the "Canal du Midi" nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Domaine d'Auriac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Domaine d'Auriac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.