We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour with Antoine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Tour

Sun Tour
27 B Rue frederic mistral, 11570 Carcassonne, France
06 84 76 39 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 22 Activities in Carcassonne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surprising sightseeing tours from carcassonne, service doors to doors, in minivans 9 seats, air conditionned. Along the Cathar's road, for a day trip, discover the castles of queribus and peyrepertuse. Guided tour for day or half day in english, french, spanish and italien.
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour with Antoine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Antoine did a fantastic job guiding my family on a tour of Carcassonne. My 80-yr old Dad, 9-yr old daughter, and 4-yr old son all have very different ideas of fun, but Antoine managed to keep us all entertained. He adjusted the tour to accommodate the limited mobility of my father without making Dad feel like he was missing anything, and when Dad wanted to hear about the history from the city tour guide, Antoine took the kids to overlooks of the city and told them fun stories. When the children needed water and a bathroom Antoine got them water and took them to the restroom while Dad and I learned more about the walled city.

After the tour Antoine sat with us and outline several key places to visit, all of which we ultimately saw and agreed were wonderful. He obviously loves the area and is proud of its heritage, and his infectious enthusiasm left us all feeling incredibly lucky to have shared such a beautiful part of the world.

I'd recommend Sun Tour and Antoine to anyone visiting the region.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic couple of tours - well wothwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

My partner and I did two PM trips with Sun Tour. Our driver/guied Antoine picked us up from our hotel and was friendly and knowledgeable, his English was good too. We did the 4 castles of Latours first. You need to be quite fit, a good couple of hours walking but the views and the castles were great. Take some water if you go, I did not, and the beer I ordered at the bottom lasted about 5 seconds. The afternoon we visited the Abbey at Caunes which was interesting and the caves at Crebespine (I think that is how you spell it). They are spectacular, definitely worth seeing. A trip to a vineyard to tast some lovel Minervois wines rounded off our trip. It was shame we could not take the wine with us (hand luggage only). When we come again we definitely use Sun Tour. Very highly recommended.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Grand day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We booked with Antoine of Sun Tours a few weeks before embarking on our long weekend in Carcassonne. Antoine arranged for our group of 8 friends to be picked up and taken to our villa and then returned to the airport. He also took us out for the day to Castel Lastours, then on to winetasting, followed by lunch in a french village. The day was first-rate-the views from the three castles were fantastic, the winetasting was the best we have been on, and Antoine was a charming host for the day.- nothing was too much trouble for him to make sure we had a perfect day.
We would thoroughly recommend Sun tours..

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific day with Sun Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

On our recent visit to Carcassone, we decided that for the price of the car hire, the hassle of navigating, and the trepidation of driving unfamiliar roads, it would be better to leave it to someone else. So we booked the 3 major castles in one day tour with Sun Tours. We are so delighted that we did! Antoine was not only the perfect tour guide i.e. fluent English, very knowledgeable, and safe driver but he was the perfect host as well. He set the tour at our pace and when the weather turned inclement he changed the itinerary to suit. We learned a great deal about the history of the Languedoc Roussillon region and thoroughly enjoyed learning about living in the region today. I must agree with the other reviewers that our tour with Antoine was the highlight of our stay.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb tour ,charming host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My sister and I booked a half day tour with Antoine .He arrived on time and he was fluent in English ,knowledgeable and charming .
Antoine took us to Lagrasse where we had a wonderful time ,He was patient when we wanted to stop and happy to go at our pace.Antoine has a great sense of history and respect for the region and we was a wonderful ambassador for his country.He provides an interesting and varied schedule and we enjoyed stopping to taste the local honey .This tour was one of the highlights of our trip and we would not hesitate to use Antoine's services again.The tour was great value .

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Tour also viewed

 

Been to Sun Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.