We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth paying for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up To -30% Off Room Rate
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Turin
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Well worth paying for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I cannot find fault with this place, nor the service (especially you, Marion!)

We phoned them on our way, and were given clear instructions on the location of the car park. From there we were taken to the hotel (be prepared to leave a tip) with the luggage. The same service was provided at the end of our stay.
The hotel is an old building, the rooms are all different shapes and sizes and that is the charm of the place, you feel like a princess in her castle!
The whole place is magical, the decor, furnishings, everything is in keeping with the castle feeling. In fact, we were so enchanted with the place we even forked out the 13 euros for the breakfast! (I never have breakfast in French hotels, but we couldn't miss out on this). Although the hotel is very centrally located, our room was quiet.
At 135 euros for the night it isn't cheap, but not as expensive as it could have been, considering the place and the services provided.
I have not had a negative experience with Best Western yet, and this was no exception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Nous vous remercions de nous avoir fait part de votre ressenti concernant votre séjour passé à l'hôtel Le Donjon.
Les commentaires de nos clients sont un des meilleurs moyens de s'assurer de proposer le meilleur service à nos clients.
Je transmets les encouragements à mon équipe.
En espérant avoir l'opportunité de vous recevoir à nouveau dans notre établissement pour vous démontrer notre professionnalisme.

Meilleures Salutations,
Hermine Pujol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    352
    106
    29
    15
See reviews for
135
499
15
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had not been picked up and shuttled to the hotel rooms when we arrived, this has made my girl friend very annoyed ! The fitting out of the room was just cozy. My friends' room were with light bulb went out, key card not working at night when we went back to the rooms and cistern leaking water, response was not quick anyway, and my friends were not quite happy with that. The price of this Best Western hotel was found to be on the higher side amongst the other BW hotels. Maybe the more expensive room fare is only for the prime location of the hotel which it is really located in the heart of the La Cite of Carcassonne, we were satisfied with this - very convenient. Parking is free at the car park provided within 10 minutes walk from the hotel rooms.

Room Tip: No Idea, but the room I stay was just with simple fitting out. The size was not big, apart from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Propriétaire at BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to let me know about the different aspects of your stay with us, which I read with much attention.

I have noted your comment about the not shuttled way, the key card not working, and the light bulb went out of your friends room. I have passed on your remarks to those of our staff department who take care of it.

Comments from our clients are one of the best means for us to improve our service and to increase guest satisfaction.

I hope to receive you again in our property to provide you a better experience


Best Regards
Hermine Pujol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Words can't do justice to this stay. My wife is to be given credit for finding this gem. We drove to Carcassonne and after following the clearly stated directions given by the hotel staff, we parked outside the walls and our complementary shuttle driver was already waiting for us to drive us inside this ancient medieval city. The drive itself was an experience as he maneuvered through ancient streets that were made for pedestrians, horses and carriages and now mobbed by tourists. We made it to the hotel unscathed and were immediately impressed by the friendliness of the staff. After registering we were taken to the room. The room itself was spacious by European standards, clean and modern. Our room (#25) had good views of the city ramparts. We ended up staying two nights and are totally happy with the experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Gérant at BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property.

I am glad your experience was satisfying and hope you will renew among us it soon.

With kind regards,

Hermine PUJOL
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed in this excellent hotel at the end of August 2013 as a special break for our wedding anniversary. We stayed here for 2 nights and a further 2 in Narbonne. We were given a room upgrade in the main building which totally made our stay. We felt really well looked after by all the staff. We parked in the car park which serves the hotels and the free shuttle to take us was there behind our car before we had time to get our cases out. The short ride to the hotel was really good as we were transported through the ancient, narrow and busy streets by our driver who was polite but forceful with the less fortunate pedestrians. Everything about our stay was excellent but being on the city walls as the sun sets and the ramparts are lit by a yellow glow of flood lights was a sight to remember. I can't recall bringing so many photo's back from a holiday. Staying inside the city walls is so worth the bit extra cost because after a really good and not particularly expensive evening meal in one of the many restaurants you feel like you have the city to yourself when the day trippers have left. An early morning walk also can be very enjoyable as you watch the busy preparations for the new day. We loved our stay in Le Dongon and I am really pleased we chose it. Many thanks to Virginia for looking after us so well and to Ryanair for a great flight at a very good price.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BW_hotel_donjon, Directeur général at BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our property.

I am glad your experience was satisfying and hope you will renew among us it soon.

With kind regards,

Hermine Pujol
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromyard, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Found by accident on the internet and picked without realizing its stunning location. Excellent stay and couldn't fault it at all. The room overlooked the city, was clean, the beds really comfortable and the service was always given with a smile. Just perfect for a few days in the absolutely wonderful city of Carcassonne. Will definitely be going back. A special mention was the waitress at breakfast who was friendly and nothing was too much trouble (Samina - I think) but all the staff both on reception and in the dining rooms were great. Free parking and a lift in the shuttle bus also available if your feet are too tired after all the shopping!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, South Wales
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We flew in to Carcassonne airport and were going to take a taxi to the hotel, but just outside arrivals there was a bus already waiting to the "Medieval Cite" so for 5 Euros each we took that. The bus driver pointed us in the right direction when we got off the bus - through the gate and straight up through the Cite, we only had hand luggage so were ok, it is a short 5 minute walk. We were too early for check in but the very friendly and helpful hotel staff checked us in, took our bags and said they would be in our room when we returned at 3pm. We had a superb room in the main hotel, overlooking a side street and the hotel restaurant (and a lovely view of one of the Castle turrets). Room had TV, coffee making tray, mini bar fridge, glasses, cork screw, hairdryer, toiletries.
The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a lovely quiet garden area that is just wonderful to go back when the streets get really busy and sit and relax with a drink.
I loved the hotel, location, and the whole of Carcassonne and would not hesitate to stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The old medieval citadel in Carcassonne is an amazing experience!! It's fantastic that you can stay there. We loved every minute of it. This hotel was great and they were the first hotel on our honeymoon to actually congratulate us! Our room was really nice and everything was modern and clean. There is free parking for the hotel and we could leave our car there all day the next day too once we'd checked out. They have a shuttle to pick you up too. Definitely do this. We didn't when we arrived because we're happy to walk but there are so many people around that we could hardly get our bags through. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon

Address: 2 rue du Comte Roger | Cite Medievale, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
3 star hotel in the heart of the medieval citadel of Carcassonne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hotel Carcassonne
Best Western Carcassonne
Carcassonne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.