We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dream hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection to your Saves list
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & City Pass
Ranked #2 of 43 Hotels in Carcassonne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
1,456 reviews 1,456 reviews
147 hotel reviews
Reviews in 718 cities Reviews in 718 cities
1,394 helpful votes 1,394 helpful votes
“Fantastic dream hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We only popped in for a looksie and a reconnoitre. What we found is an exceptional space with gothic-corridor-gallery leading into the lounge. Antiques,suits of armour and artworks litter the heavy wooded interior.
But it is the garden,that is the knock-out. It is astride the city walls with a captivating view over the entire Carcassone valley and beyond.
We had tea under a massive tree near the pool and lounging chairs. The staff were exceptionly pleasant and even let us have a peek at room 308 ,with its four-poster bed, amazing furnishings and superb views. The hotel boasts a world famous restaurant... la Barbacane.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to Hôtel de la Cité. We're glad to know you liked the neo-gothic touches that we still maintain from when the hotel was built in the early 1900s. We're also happy to know you enjoyed a quiet moment relaxing in our secluded garden with its view of the castle and the ramparts. Thank you for your nice comments about our staff and of course, for your kind recommendation of our hotel. We hope we'll have the pleasure of welcoming you back when your travels next bring you to our part of France.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    183
    62
    21
    8
See reviews for
165
440
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

As a special treat booked into hotel for birthday celebration. Room was fantasic with true luxury feel. Staff could not have been more helpful and accomodating. Breakfast had everything you could ask for and staff made sure everything was well stocked up. Bar staff were very attentive and we enjoyed sitting listening to Pianist and relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at our hotel. We're very pleased to know that you chose our hotel to celebrate a birthday and that you had an enjoyable time. Thank you for your nice remarks about our staff and facilities - we certainly hope you will give us the pleasure of welcoming you back for another celebration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monpazier, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a traditional luxury hotel in a fabulous location in Carcassone. The prestige restaurant is outstanding - lunch is fantastic value.

HOWEVER, despite charging luxury rates, the management of this hotel operate it like a discount chain hotel. Our first evening we sat in the bar for a (very expensive) cocktail. For 30 minutes a procession of staff squeezed by us transporting large dining chairs into storage. Admittedly we did get one apology for the disruption, but no remedial action was taken. We later discovered that the room being vacated was not in use that evening - in other words the chairs could have been moved at any time - say 1am when the bar was empty?

On the Sunday the outside seating area was being powerwashed on and off from 11am until around 4pm. So guests were denied comfortable seating throughout a sunny afternoon. Again, why was this not done at the guests' convenience rather than the staffs'?

I could go on - suffice to say that hotels that aspire to luxury status need more than high rates.

Room Tip: Ask for the main building and not an annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our hotel.
Before anything else please accept our sincere apologies for the annoyances that you had to put up with while you were staying with us. We truly regret the thoughtless behaviour that led some of our staff to carry out their tasks without due consideration for the presence and the comfort of those guests who, like you, were bound to be disturbed by so much obtrusive activity.
The management has spoken with various heads of departments to ensure that all members of staff, even those not usually in direct contact with our guests, understand the high level of guest-oriented service we require so that such behavior will not recur.
In spite of the irritations you were subjected to, you were kind enough to make some positive notes on other aspects of your stay and we wish to thank you for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

A great experience smooth checkin, great room, excellent dinner and drinks, until it was time for breakfast, 530am the kitchen kicks into action. If your in 110 it feels like your working for your breakfast as you are awoken by the staff and deliveries. Reception are well aware of the problem, you just have to be unfortunate enough to draw the short straw and get this room.

Room Tip: Avoid room 110 unless you want to help cook breakfast when the deliveries and staff arrive at 530 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit to our hotel. We are really glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, except for being so rudely woken up early in the morning by noise from the street. Please accept our sincere apologies for this occurrence. Your stay was at the time of the 14th of July firework celebrations, which are quite spectacular over the citadel where our hotel is located. Afterwards, the streets are usually littered with the fireworks debris that the town council's cleaning service clears away as quickly as possible, starting early in the morning. This was the noise that so unfortunately woke you up. As a matter of fact, the only kitchen staff at work at 5.30am is our baker, in his basement bakery, located in another part of the hotel. This fact obviously isn't meant to make your unpleasant experience easier to accept, but simply by way of information. We're very sorry your otherwise pleasant stay was marred by this incident and hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back again on another occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Nice room ,great view.Smell on entering Hotel like a badly run old peoples home.Air conditioning in room noisy-it eventually broke down on very hot night (not just in our room).It happens quite often apparently no fans offered.Internal door did not close. At one stage room service removed flannels and soap and did not replace despite this being pointed out to reception.Gardens and pool very nice.
For the price it was disappointing although it was in an excellent location.Definitely needs refurbishment and the Air con needs replacing it is on its last legs!

Room Tip: Ok for one night purely for location and garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're sorry you didn't fully enjoy your stay and apologize for the various shortcomings you had to put up with. We're also very sorry that you were bothered by the smell of the beeswax we use throughout the hotel to polish and maintain the extensive woodwork – staircases, wall paneling, furniture. It is indeed a scent very evocative of old polished wooden interiors - and is part of our hotel’s "sensory" signature. With regard to the air-conditioning at the time of your stay: there was indeed a problem that evening. After several very hot days with continued extensive use, there was inevitably a strain on the air-conditioning system. A technician was at work repairing it till about 1am. Our air-conditioning system is regularly checked to ensure overall smooth functioning. In spite of the lapses you noted, we are truly glad to know you did appreciate our private pool and garden, as well as your room and the views. We hope we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Carcasonne is a beautiful town and if you want to spend time there do it in style in this hotel. We booked direct with the hotel for the best deal. The rooms were lovely and we overlooked the gardens and battlements which was stunning. it was our first trip here and I wasn't sure how we would fine the hotel and didn't want to be walking around with suitcases. I mailed the hotel and they told me each plane was met by a bus which dropped off at the main gates or you could take a taxi and that to telephone and they would meet the taxi. On leaving the airport we took the taxi and the lady taxi driver asked our name and she without us asking telephoned the hotel to tell them she was on her way. When we pulled into the taxi park the porter from the hotel moved our luggage to his car and drove us up what looked like and impossible 90 degree turn on the ramparts and to the hotel and the next time I saw the cases was when I was taken to the room by the receptionist. The pool and garden area was beautiful and well tended and we spent a couple of afternoons by the pool. If you go to the Castle do take the tour its takes you to parts of the site you cannot access on the normal tour. I would recommend a short break in carcasonne and in this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your impressions after your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're truly delighted to know how much you enjoyed your time with us - whether relaxing in your room or at the pool and in our gardens. We do agree that the nearby Count's Castle is very much worth a guided tour - and it also allows you to look into our hotel's gardens from quite another angle! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you whenever you decide to take another short break in our area - and thank you most sincerely for your kind recommendation of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpellier, France
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked 2 nights in a Classic room, which looked light, elegant and spacious on the website. I asked for a quiet room. On arrival, we were offered a dark attic room with a tiny window and low ceiling beams. I asked for a different room, and were shown one with a large window and terrace, but in the annex by the kitchen and road. We were told that the hotel was full and it that all that was left. We were tired and had no choice but to take it. We were woken at 6am by a lorry unloading crates of wine. The hotel doesn't live up to its potential. It overpriced. The restaurant saves it.

Room Tip: don't stay in the annex, its a long walk to the reception/bar etc. Don't stay in room 110! I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our hotel. Before anything else, we would like to express our great regret that you did not enjoy your stay with us as our hotel clearly didn't live up to your expectations. It is true that the period of your visit was a very busy one and while we were able to upgrade you to a Superior room, full occupancy made it impossible to let you choose from 1 or 2 rooms. The early morning delivery you mentioned was a special delivery for the 14th of July festivities – we apologize for the noise it created, waking you up so early. We'd also like to thank you for your positive mention of our restaurant, in spite of your poor experience with our hotel. If ever you feel you might be up to giving us another chance, we'd be truly happy to welcome you back and let you have a more positive experience all round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection

Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.