The hotel is inside the old walled city and you are on the doorstep of a fascinating town within walking distance to historic castle, narrow streets, ancient buildings, café’s and restaurants. When you arrive you are dropped outside the city in the car park where the hotel staff collect you and walk you in to the city and hotel while a small car (able to negotiate the historic and small gate in the wall) takes your luggage.
Hotel reception is lovely; our room was beautifully decorated with old paintings, writing desk, modest sized bathroom, lovely drapes and a very comfy bed – a space we enjoyed immensely. Tea making and mini bar available. The bar in the old library is fabulous and very atmospheric but service was poor to non-existent – we had to go to find the barman!
Hotel is very old so check if you have mobility problems, as there are two different lifts required if you are on the third floor and there are 2-3 steps in several spots along the corridors.
Service from the desk staff was extremely variable - from first class (one well qualified, very helpful gentleman who understood service i.e. ‘ when you have finished your tour of the town call us and we will arrange a taxi to collect you” to abysmal from all others i.e. when we rang to ask for the taxi were told ‘ call it yourself” and when we arrived at the hotel collection point outside the city gates where we called front desk for the car to collect us we waited and waited as the person ‘forgot’ !
The hotel offers a tour of their herb garden and wine cellar which both sound interesting so we requested these but again these appear to have been ‘lost’ by front desk staff so we missed out.
Breakfast was well-presented and varied however croissant and pastries were not the high quality we expected in France and a quality hotel – appeared to be out of a packet and warmed up.
Dinner was in the Michelin one star restaurant ‘ Barbacan’ - service was excellent the food was well presented but a little disappointing in execution in some dishes. A request for green tea at the end of the meal resulted in an obviously black tea and when questioned the waitress insisted it was green with no offer to check or replace it – bizarre. Check trip advisor restaurants for more on this.
Select a terrace room to have a great view of the city and lovely outdoor space. recommend rooms 212...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
April 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time and the trouble to write about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We are really glad to know you felt at home in your room and that you liked the atmosphere in our hotel. We were however concerned that you did not find our service to be consistently at the highest level and have looked into the instances you mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
First of all, please accept our sincere apologies for the inexcusable lapses of forgetfulness that so inconvenienced you. The heads of the services concerned have taken the necessary measures to ensure these do not recur. Thank you for bringing these instances to our notice as it is only through this kind of constructive criticism that we can hope to maintain the standard that you have every right to expect from a five-star property such as ours.
It was good to read that you appreciated our breakfast buffet offering. Please let us reassure you that all the varieties of bread, rolls, croissants and Danish pastries are freshly produced by our baker and our pastry chef in our own kitchens.
We sincerely hope that, in spite of the incidents you mentioned, you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back whenever your travels bring you to our region
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.