We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de la Cite

Save Saved
You added Hotel de la Cite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel de la Cite
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER DEAL: UP TO 40%OFF
Ranked #3 of 41 hotels in Carcassonne
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Characterful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Hotel de la Cite is the place to stay if you're planning a trip to Carcassone. An exuberant Gothic pile right in the heart of the old medieval city. Wonderful architecture, efficient staff, comfortable rooms and a good ( if somewhat expensive ) restaurant.

Pros : Great location - kitty corner to the cathedral and the main shopping street. Rooms comfortable with those glorious Sofitel beds. Public areas stunning. Shady, stylish gardens located right on the ramparts. Service efficient and welcoming. Vehicles aren't allowed in town after 10.00 am so the hotel sends a car down to the car park to collect you and your luggage - this worked out just fine - the hotel car and driver were there by the time we'd parked and opened the trunk.

Cons : Restaurant entrees ($60) are good but pricey. Wine list, if you're looking for anyhting other than a local Corbieres , limited for choice. Some rooms are better than others. We opted for a junior suite ( $400 without breakfast ) with a garden view, huge terrace and a view across the new town. Breakfast $40 per person extra.

Sum up : We went expecting to be disappointed. This is an M-Gallery Hotel , not a top of the Accor range Sofitel. We needn't have worried. The staff and room were up to Sofitel standards. The restaurant was good and the service exemplary. The building itself is quite simply spectacular - more Scots baronial than anyhting you'd find in Scotland. . If only Accor would invest a bit more money in a working WiFi system and sprucing up the decor it would have scored 5 stars.

Room Tip: Probably worth while booking a junior suite with a garden view. That way you'll be away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a full appreciation of your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're pleased to learn of the many details about our hotel that you enjoyed – its location, its architecture (neo-Gothic, dating from 1909), the private gardens, the interior decoration and room furnishings. Most of all, we are truly gratified by your warm comments about the efficient service and welcome given by our staff – starting with the car jockey and porter down in the citadel car park. We apologise for any inconvenience you may have had with the WiFi system – we have very recently changed the system so that it now runs smoothly throughout the entire hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hôtel de la Cité when your travels bring you to our region again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    156
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
140
371
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed just one night at the Hotel de la Cite in Carcassonne and had a wonderful experience – I just wish we’d had more time.

We paid aE322 for a family room with one double bed and two pull-out beds – one was the small sofa in the room, the other was obviously rolled in as an extra. With the extra bed and all the other furniture in the room plus our luggage, it was just a little crowded in the main room. But the room was beautifully appointed with everything you might need – desk and chair, large coffee table, TV with DVD player (free DVDs in French and English are available from reception), minibar and fridge etc.

Through a wide hallway with a cupboard and safe is the spacious bathroom, with the largest array of hotel toiletries I have ever seen. The bathroom is finished in marble and with classic touches, but I expect a separate bathtub and shower when staying in luxury hotel and I was disappointed by the shower over bath combination here (I know this set up is common in many parts of Europe – and there was a wall hook for the shower).

Without question the best feature of our room was the view of the best view of the Basilica of Saint Nazaire, right outside our bedroom window.

The terrace looked amazing, although we didn’t have breakfast at the hotel. It would be a nice place to sit with a glass of wine in the evening, for sure. The rest of the hotel is clearly designed and decorated with the location in mind and the general ambiance is lovely.

All the staff at the hotel was also very pleasant and helpful and aside from the sting of the price, it was a great stay. The walled city is spectacular and I would say it is worth stretching the budget to stay inside if you get the chance – and this is the only place to stay if you are looking for a 3* or more experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're glad you enjoyed your room with its furnishings and amenities - and of course, its view. Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff. Like you, we wish you'd had more time to spend with us - and sincerely hope you'll find the occasion to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 days on our trip around France, wonderful staff, great room sizes and conviniant for a city break, can't fault this hotel, on our next trip we will make a point of staying here again.The walled city is spectacular during the day and evening, do have a meal in the main square, well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments following your stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We are, of course, delighted to know you are planning a return trip and our staff is very much look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

What can you say about sleeping in a castle? Inside the old city walls, this hotel oozes with charm and elegance. Our room overlooked the beautiful gardens and down into the new city. Although priced on the higher end, this place is worth the splurge. So comfortable and spacious with history, charm and elegance. The staff is extremely accommodating and they do everything they can to make your stay comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay at Hôtel de la Cité. We're pleased to know you enjoyed your room and its charming view. Your thoughtful words about our staff and our efforts to make your stay both comfortable and memorable are much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to our region.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

we stayed in the hotel for 3 nights, we got the 3 nights for the price of two offer. we booked the cheapest rooms the hotel had as we are on a budget, on arrival the hotel informed us that they had upgraded our room. I am not sure if that is because we were on honeymoon or because at the time of booking we had a few problems with the website processing our credit card (I might ad the hotel was very friendly and quick to sort the problem). Whatever the reason i was very grateful for the upgrade.

The room they gave us was amazing. we had a balcony overlooking the gardens and with a view of the main castle. The views were stunning. the deck area was great and the room was so comfortable and pretty. the room came with all the usual things you might expect from a 5 star hotel; bath robes, slippers, toiletries, etc. there was also a list of approx. 50 dvds (and a list of language options available) which could be obtained from the reception at no cost. a really nice touch.

the whole hotel was simply stunning. the decor was exactly that which you would expect to find in a fairy tale castle.

although the bar was a bit pricey at €7 for 33cl bottle of Heineken and €12 for a shot of regular jameson it was still worth it. the bar was so comfy and relaxing. the bar tender was incredibly friendly and lovely to talk to. we ended up in the bar every night for at least a 2 or 3 drinks.

All the staff were lovely and spoke a variety of languages. we were really made to feel at home. Ironically we had stayed in a 4 star hotel the night previous to our arrival in Carcassonne, there we had felt like the staff were looking down on us . we never felt anything like that in the Hotel De La Cite. The staff were just so welcoming and accommodating; I really can't praise them enough.

The grounds to the hotel were so picturesque. the pool looked beautiful. i just wish it was summer so i could have gone for a swim.

The hotel is also in the most amazing location. you can't get more central.

Room Tip: get a room with a balcony - its worth the extra money for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your very nice remarks about our staff and your stay at Hôtel de la Cité. It was a real compliment for us to read that you felt at home in our hotel - and to learn that our staff made you feel so welcome. It's indeed a pity that the weather and the time of year prevented you from using our pool (the only one in the citadel, if I may add) - that's perhaps a good reason to come again and to enjoy our hotel and its gardens in another season. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

The main plus point for the Hotel de la Cite is the fact that it is within the city walls which gives you the great advantage of being able to enjoy the city in the morning and evening when there are far fewer tourists around. The medieval city is not large and we were easily able to cover everything in the three days we were there outside of the main tourist hours, which is a big advantage, take my word for it! We used the main part of the day to get out to see places like Collioure on the coast.

The hotel itself was very comfortable and peaceful, we had a super room on the ground floor with a lovely quiet terrace overlooking the gardens and the ramparts which was much used for book reading and wine drinking. We used the Barbacane restaurant one evening but were left a little underwhelmed (and much lighter of pocket) perhaps expectations were too high - we enjoyed our evenings as Restaurant Comte Roger far more. Breakfasts were good and the little building they use for breakfasts is quite cute (provided you can get a good seat).

Overall highly recommended as place to stay for a Carcassonne visit due mainly to its location

Room Tip: Room with a terrace was great as it provides a nice oasis from the tourist hustle and bustle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel-de-la-cite11, PA to the General Manager at Hotel de la Cite, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for writing about your stay at Hotel de la Cité. We're glad to know you enjoyed your holiday not only at our hotel but also in the medieval citadel and in our region. We're delighted when our guests take advantage of our excellent location within the citadel to explore it "after hours" and to make trips farther afield to discover our lovely region. We look forward to welcoming you again should your travels bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

O.k., the Hotel de la Cite was built a bit after the original Carcassonne castle, and isn't the keep proper; but it is an old building beautifully outfitted with modern furnishings within the citadel walls. Unlike some other hotels that had great off-season rates for our trip, the Hotel de la Cite was not a bargain, but you don't just get a room here, but an experience. The room is certainly nice, with a large comfortable bed. From the bathroom and the bedroom, we could open the windows and look out towards the main castle and over the citadel walls. The garden offers great views as well. Inside, the bar and restaurant area take you back in time with their architecture, and there are plenty of other historical artifacts all around for your journey. Finally, the staff is customer service oriented and does a great job.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de la Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Cite

Address: Place Auguste-Pierre Pont, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Carcassonne
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carcassonne
#3 Family Hotel in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de la Cite 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing between two historic landmarks, the Roman Chateau Comtal and the Gothic Basilica of Saint-Nazaire, the Hotel de la Cite is set in its own glorious gardens. With its solid stone walls, wood paneling and stained-glass windows, the Hotel offers luxurious hospitality and award winning cuisine in its two restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your Hotel de la Cite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Cite Hotel
De La Cite Carcassonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de la Cite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.