We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcomed by the owner and nice food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Fred

Chez Fred
31 Boulevard Omer Sarraut, 11000 Carcassonne, France
+33 (0)4 68 72 02 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 282 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $22 - $52
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Welcomed by the owner and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Invited my friends for dinner and recommended by the B&B where I stayed. Had a nice big salad and dessert was excellent. Homemade white wine sangria. Service was good and quick.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Propriétaire at Chez Fred, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your visit in our restaurant, and we are delighted that you have pass a pleasant moment in our company. In the pleasure. Greedy greetings. Fred and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    79
    25
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Menu promised a lot...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

I was torn between giving chez Fred three or four points. I gave it four because the staff are excellent. If I had been marking just the food I would have given it three and a half (I know you can't give a half mark). I had aubergine stuffed with ricotta cheese as I love aubergine. It was disappointing though as it was too cold (I can understand that you need to keep food well chilled when the weather is very hot but it makes food tasteless sometimes) and looked very unappetizing as the ricotta cheese mixed with the aubergine flesh for the stuffing looked grey and lumpy. My main course of Thai-style pork was very tasty. My husband had marine pannacotta which he said was very good, but his main course of fish with olive oil and lemon was quite ordinary - the sort of thing we might have on a weeknight at home. We both loved the tiramisu though - it was the best bit of the meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Google Translation
Thank you for your visit and for your comment. We take into account your attention on this menu .Il seem that you are introduced in cooking, he would have been sensible to take a menu more raised(more brought up) in price(prize), to be able to benefit from a more developed culinary research and can be more adapted has what you looked for. Delighted by this exchange, we thank you for your comment. In the pleasure greetings.bets regards Fred's staff.

Merci de votre visite et de votre commentaire. Nous prenons en compte votre attention sur ce menu .Il semble que vous êtes initié en cuisine, il aurait été judicieux de prendre un menu plus élevé en prix, pour pouvoir bénéficier d'une recherche culinaire plus développée et peut être plus adaptée à ce que vous recherchiez. Ravis de cet échange , nous vous remercions de votre commentaire et prenons note de votre point de vue..Au plaisir salutations Fred et son équipe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chez Fred- a suprise of a find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The food was superb, the wait staff very very good. They picked someone who spoke some English, but I really wanted to speak French, so the wait staff was sweet while I tried it.
We found it on a city search and did not know much about it. We did not have a reservation, and ended up sitting in the covered area outside. The decor outside was not as fancy as indoors, but the tables were fine and the service was still great. The restaraunt was really crowded for most of the time and you will get a French experience as the food comes out in its own time... as it should. Plan on about 2-3 hours for a dinner. I would recommend this place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Propriétaire at Chez Fred, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Bonjour, et merci pour cette gentille attention.Nous sommes ravis que le restaurant vous ait permis de passer un tres agréable moment.Toute l'équipe de Chez Fred vous remercie de votre visite et de ce commentaire. salutations gourmandes.au plaisir. fred et son équipe.
Good afternoong,and thank you for this kind attention. We are delighted that the restaurant allowed you to spend a pleasant moment. All the team from Fred thanks you for your visit and for this comment. Greetings u pleasure. Fred and his team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Average Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went here after reading TA reviews .We found the service very good but the food was average.although to be fair we have had some amazing french food on our travels it seems the smaller towns seem better,so maybe our expectation was a little high.I think being a tourist town the standards are not as high as well.The price was quite high for the value of that which was served.I had the pork Thai style which being an avid eater of Thai food seems to be lost in translation.My wife had the beef which was uninspiring.The dessert was the best part of the meal.Im sure there must be better value restaurants in Carcassonne.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Gérant at Chez Fred, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour
et merci de votre visite au restaurant Chez Fred.Nous sommes désoles que la nourriture n'ait pas été a la hauteur de vos espérances. Nous faisons le maximum pour répondre à une qualité de prestation, avec de sproduits de région, mais il est vrai chaque goût est différent.
Bon voyage en France et bonne dégustations et decouvertes culinaires. salutations Fre d et son équipe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“An unexpected gourmet experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We were searching for a restaurant on a night when lots were inexplicably shut. This one did not look anything special - garish colour scheme and location down alleyway did not entice. But sky was darkening & rain threatening so we thought 'ok let's go for it'. Boy, am I glad that we did. The food was wonderful - I had scallops and my friend had Cassoulet - elegant flavours and stylish presentation, satisfying without over-doing portion sizes and good value for money (we had a 'set-price' combo). Got soaked in rain on way back to our accommodation but who cared - we had had a wonderful meal! Highly recommend this gem of a place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChezFredCarca, Propriétaire at Chez Fred, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your visit, and all the staff are very happy whta you will enjoy a lot.
Thanks for your recommendation.bets regards.see you back a sunny day....
best regards
fred's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Fred also viewed

 

Been to Chez Fred? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Fred, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.