We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good accommodation but ...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bloc G

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bloc G to your Saves list
Bloc G
112 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Good accommodation but ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This B&B is situated just outside the city walls by the old bridge. It should be noted that the proprietors run a restaurant on the ground floor. We had lunch on arrival but unfortunately my husband was ill shortly afterwards so we cannot recommend it.The decoration of the spacious room was atypical/spartan but we found it pleasing enough. Going down to breakfast in the morning we found no sign of life at 0830 so we went for a walk. On returning after 0900 we telephoned - no reply. We were about to leave when the breakfast person appeared, full of apologies for oversleeping. By 0930 we had been offered a cup of coffee and some fruit juice. A commercial bun was presented but there was no sign of bread, butter or croissants so we paid a reduced price and left.

Room Tip: The rooms looking onto the walled city must be best. Ours looked onto a building covered in scaffold...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    32
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
48
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We had a comfortable stay at Bloc G, which is ideally located between the fortified old town and the Bastide and next to the pedestrian Old Bridge. Our room was large and light, with interesting minimalist decor and a good bed. There is a free carpark in front of the hotel and we were able to find a space there, though it was quite full most of the time. The restaurant was closed on the night we were there so we couldn't try it, but the included breakfast was good.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spent 2 nights at Bloc G and loved the individuality of the rooms. Had a large room with a comfortable bed and huge walk in shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. it is in a good location with free parking in front of the hotel. In easy walking distance of the old town and castle and worth a walk into the new town in the evening as we found a lovely town square with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed there for Bastele day, location was amazing right next to best place to watch fire works! 10 min walk into town and 10 min walk to Castle. Staff were nice and helpful even know they were extremely busy getting ready for the big night.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Virgin Islands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Bloc G. It was a bit hard to find Bloc G at first as our Tom Tom didn't recognize the number of the building. It would have been easier had we know that Bloc G was at the very end of rue Barbican and at the foot of the Vieille Pont adjoining a large car park. The car park is pretty full during the day, but opens up a bit in the evenings. We got a space right in front of the hotel. There is no charge for parking here.

You enter the hotel through the restaurant. The staff is very friendly and all speak English.

We were shown to the apartment which is on the 1st floor. There is a large entry area with 3 windows that look up to la Cité above. What a lovely view.

There is a very large kitchen, dining, sitting room. The seating area has a sofa and 2 lounge chairs. There are also 2 twin beds on the sides of the rooms. TheTV is small but we certainly had no interest in watching it with such magnificent views.

The main bedroom has a king-size bed. There are bedside tables and good lighting for reading. There is a very large porcelain sink sitting on a counter in the bedroom. The shower stall is also in the bedroom which was fine for us, but if you had people staying in the other room it could be a bit awkward. The WC is in a separate room next to the shower.

Breakfast which is included in the room rate was very good. The tables were set with croissants already on the plates. There were baguettes, lovely home made jams, yoghurt, ham, cheese, a variety of fruits, different cakes and pastries each day. I had to laugh at a review I read on a hotel that was much more expensive, saying they were pleased that their €9 breakfast (each person) included yoghurt at no extra charge, since ours was included in our rate.

The location is great sited between the walled city above and the bastide area across the river. I really liked the contrast of the stark, modern interior against the medieval surroundings. We would stay here again on our next visit to Carcassonne.

Room Tip: The apartment is much much larger than the others rooms, so if you are here for a longer stay you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I would like to add this to the restaurant section, but Bloc G is not included.
My wife and I were walking to the Cite and saw this little restaurant as part of this hotel. We stopped inside and were very, very pleased. The server who is the owner was very warm and friendly. She made sure that we understood everything on the men and explain if there were any questions. I ordered the clams and potatoes. This sounds very odd, but it came out wonderfully. My wife ordered the duck confit. She was very happy with her duck. Both were about 10 Euro.
Very pleasant lunch and the hostess /server was very pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Very minimalist hotel in Cacassonne. Extremely good position. I would recommend this hotel, this is the area you want to be in if staying in Carcassonne, Five minute walk from the spectacular Castle. Don't go if you like homely cosy hotels. The breakfasts were great, quite a good selection, they also serve meals. The ladies who run it very helpful, one inparticular was extremely helpful. Great flee market right outside the hotel on a Sunday morning (early) which was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bloc G? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bloc G

Address: 112 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the "Trivalle" historical area,two steps away from the medieval castle,the old bridge and five minutes walking distance from the city center,this guesthouse is a design address.Bloc g is an unique concept which puts forward a restaurant, a wine bar,a lounge with a fireplace and on the first floor 5 contemporary rooms with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bloc G reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bloc G, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.