We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Place to Stay in Carcassonne!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada del Castillo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Save
You added La Posada del Castillo B&B to your Saves list
60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Montgomery, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Only Place to Stay in Carcassonne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our recent two night stay at La Posada could not have been better!

Enrique and Lola are the perfect hosts. They enjoy traveling themselves and provide the accommodations to their guests that they want when they travel. The breakfasts are wonderful and Enrique makes sure you get all you want.

Their patio provides a quiet hideaway with a beautiful view of Le Cite. The view at night is made for a postcard!

The location is perfect as La Posada sits just below the back entrance to Le Cite and is an easy walk up a short incline without steps.

La Posada is very quiet, peaceful and secure.

Parking is free in the square just in front of the church that sits below Le Cite and about 30 yards from La Posada.

If you want to know anything about the area, e.g. restaurant recommendations, history or engaging stories, Enrique is your answer.

We would stay here again if in the area and if they are full I would change my dates to make sure we stayed at La Posada.

You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Owner at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Bonjour !
We are really pleased to be part of your "souvenirs" from France You have choose the good period to perfectly enjoy and relax in Carcassonne We really hope that the end of your french trip have be perfect and peacefull.
Take care and we wish you All the Best !!!
Avec toutes nos amitiés
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
159
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hubby and I stayed here for two (oh too short) nights as part of our seven week honeymoon through France. I truly regret that we did not spend longer - and Enrique and his Posada were a big part of this. I won't go into the B&B itself except to say its perfectly located, much better not being inside the cite itself, you get the views, the opportunity to walk into and out of the walls each night, fabulous welcoming hospitality and large, spaciou, comfy rooms to boot! FIVE STARS.

What makes this place extra special is the love and passion for Carcassonne and its surrounding region that Enrique has (Lola was away when we visited so unfortunately didnt get to meet her!), and he even sat with us, found otu what we were intereste din and then developed us a fully planned daytrip through the Cathar country, visting towns with such hoistory and scandal, and romance, we couldnt believe it! One of our highights of our seven weeks for sure.

I'd really really REALLY love to go back, and if I ever am so fortunate, I will only be looking for one place to stay - La Posada del Castilo!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the St Gimer room, which didnt have a view of the ramperts but it was very roomy, spaci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Hello Australia !
So good to have news and to read that you enjoy your stay here :-)
Winter is coming now (15°) and we enjoy these next weeks to paint, restore, clean and change a lot of things inside La Posada.
We wish you All the Best and hope really meet you again (next time alla week !!)
Kind regards et avec toute notre amitié.
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

It's all been said before, but I'll say it again, this B&B is in a convenient location, it is very clean and the bread at breakfast is great. What makes it outstanding are the hosts: they are both very kind and nothing is too much trouble for Enrique.
This is a superb place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Bonjour de Carcassonne !
We are really happy that you enjoy your stay in Carcassonne with us. You keep in our memories as really kind guests and we appreaciate our discussions at breakfast. Next time we try to do it better again (with more sun... :-)
We wish you All the Best and really hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Henrique is a walking encyclopaedia regarding the medieval city. A charming and excellent host. Close to the castle walls with a fabulous view from the terrace, you couldn't find a better spot to soak up the history.
Lola provides a delicious breakfast and if you don't eat it all, she'll pack it up for your lunch

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Bonjour !
The "walking encyclopaedia" thanks you :-)
Lola is doing now "Chestnut Marmelade" for this winter.
But don't forget that we have still a lot of stories about history !
It was a pleasure to meet and we hope to see you again in the future.
Take care and All the Best !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas 76205
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Knowing there are numerous reviews on this beautiful, family owned facility, it is pointless to add another one.....but La Posada deserves another excellent rating. The owners are so hospitable, artistic and wonderful hosts. Our bedroom/bath was very comfortable, clean and "arty." The setting is magical as it sits just below the gated city and is well lighted at night, providing guests a very romantic site to just sit, have a drink and enjoy! We highly recommend it to anyone going anywhere near Carcossone....if not, make plans to do so!

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms, all just wonderfully outfitted and appealing. The owner is planning on expanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Bonjour from Carcassonne !
Thanks for your kind review . We are really pleased that you enjoy your stay with us in Carcassonne. We hope to see you again when you come back to Cathar Country and we wish you All the Best !
Amitiés
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The B&B has a great location, just outside the walls of the old city, and is an easy walk to the walled city sites and restaurants. In a charming, renovated house, there is a wonderful view from the breakfast patio and some of the rooms. Our nicely decorated room was very spacious with a new bathroom. There is street parking available. The bread served at breakfast was one of the best baguettes we had the 3 weeks we were in France.

Enrique was a gracious and congenial host. He called and made my restaurant reservations for me, gave us directions, and checked where we parked our car. The great reviews are warranted and he works hard to provide an excellent experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hi New-York from Carcassonne !
Thanks for being so kind in your review. It was a short stay with us an I was alone these days but I perfectly remember your kindess and gentleness.
We hope to see you again on Cathar Country and wish you all the Best !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Enrique and Lola make this place extra special.The accommodation,the view,the food are all faultless;but you still need great hosts to make it perfect.
Every detail is thought through and nothing is ever too much trouble.Enrique never stopped smiling and his depth of local knowledge was remarkable.Recommendations for dinner were spot on;but it was difficult to tear ourselves away from La Posada each evening where we enjoyed drinks accompanied with tapas dishes each evening along with great conversation.
We are definitely returning and could not recommend La Posada more highly.
Thank you so much Enrique and Lola,from Ian and Jo x

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Bonjour de Carcassonne !
We really appreciate too your stay here. Speaking about motorbike or bike or.....music ! To see everymorning guests smiling give us the smile ! that's easy :-)
We really hope to see you again on the Cathar Country and we await the pleasure to reveive you again.
All the Best and Kind regards

Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada del Castillo B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.