We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B in Carcassonne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Posada del Castillo B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Posada del Castillo B&B
Save
You added La Posada del Castillo B&B to your Saves list
60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding B&B in Carcassonne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at La Posada for 4 nights in September 2013 and were delighted with our stay. Our hosts Enrique and Lola could not have been more helpful and went out of their way to help us experience the history and cuisine of Carcassonne. The location was superb a mere few minutes from the Citadel and the views from the terrace were fantastic. We will recommend La Posada to any of our friends visiting the area and would stay again if the opportunity arose.

Joan and Tony

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hello !
Thanks a lot for taking time to write a review for our next guests.!
Hope to see you again,

Très cordialement
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
159
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in La Posada for 2 nights in August 2013. We had a fantastic time in this gem of a B&B. The Posada is in a perfect location 5 minutes walk from the Citadel. The room are decorated beautifully and spotless clean.
We were made to feel welcome Enrique and Lola the owners who could not do enough to make are time in Carcassonne and France so memorable. Advising us where to go both in Carcassonne and also for the rest of our holiday in France.
Cant wait to recommend the La Posada to friends and family.

Thanks Enrique and Lola for a making our time in Carcassonne so special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Hi there from Cathar Country !
Thanks a lot for your kind review and............hope to see you again!
Kind regards
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

After visiting Marseille, Avignon and Beziers with varying levels of service and lodgings, we spent 4 days experiencing superlative accommodation and service with Enrique e Lola at La Posada Del Castillo. The Posada and its owners vastly exceeded our expectation from tripadvisor. The location and views of the medieval cite' are second to none. The attention to detail by Enrique and Lola in respect of food, cleanliness, decoration and advice on places of interest, transport, where to dine is perfect. Enrique's knowledge of the history of Carcassonne and the entire region and his willingness to share and discuss with the guests is encyclopaedic.
In all we could not rate their beautiful home that they share with all their guests and their company as anything less than perfection.
Should we return to France, there is nowhere else we would wish to stay.
We believe in our short stay that we made two very good friends who always will be welcome as guests in our home city in Brazil.

Room Tip: We stayed in Violet le Duc with views of the city walls and absolute quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Bonjour de La Posada !
Nós mantemo-nos lembrar por muito tempo de sua estadia conosco. Seu humor e seu riso substituído algum dia o sol estava fora. Todas as manhãs, tomar o nosso guaraná e presto atenção a dose!
In a few weeks we begin to plan our "Winter Trip Tour" and we are looking at a lot of informations about Brazil !!
We wish you All the Best you want, you need, you love for this new life !!!
Un abrazo de Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamble, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a great 2 nights staying at La Posada. Enrique went out of his way to help us with restaurant recommendations and also things to do during our stay. We would have easily given this place a top star rating anyway but the fact that at breakfast one morning Enrique produced my blackberry (which I must have absentmindedly left in the restaurant he had recommended the night before) only added to the top rate customer service you will receive if you book this accommodation. We cannot rate this place highly enough.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks a lot for all your compliments . We try to do better next time ! (As find your Ipad !!) . We hope see you again on the Cathar Country and send you our best "souvenirs". Très cordialement
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

What a warm welcome from Enrique and Lola to what must be the best B&B in Carcassonne. Fabulous location and our hosts couldn't do enough to help us enjoy our stay. We arrived not knowing Enrique and Lola, we left 3 days later as friends. We can't wait to return - they gave us so many ideas of where to visit next time. Sitting on the terrace is a little piece of heaven. Breakfast was perfect and they were so helpful with restaurant reservations. The rooms were beautifully furnished with such care and attention. Gorgeous towels too. Thank you both, Enrique and Lola!

Room Tip: Next time we'll choose a different room, one at the back of the house, just so we can try all 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hello !
Someone have to create tripadvisor for owners because you are great and friendly guests. We have still a lot of ideas and places to recommend for your next trip. We appreciate all our discussions too. You've really visit a lot of things and must to see in Carcassonne. Next time the way is.....Pyrénées and Upper Valley !
(Thanks for the towels.....they are all in organic coton and fairtrade and you see that..)
I'll never forget the story of rare meat :-)
We send you our best memories and wish you All the Best !
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I spent here two amazing days thanks to Enrique and Lola, their advices and the unrivalled hospitality of their house.
Extremely close to the city walls (less than 2 minutes walk), this amazing posada is nested just outside the old city walls and offers unrivalled views of the walls at night.

Enrique and Lola are the best. They welcome you in the nicest way and are generous with advices, suggestions and anything you may need.

This is the place to stay when visiting Carcassone.
Thank you, Enrique and Lola

Paola & Paolo
Milan - Italy

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Google Translation
Ciao da Carcassonne !
Siamo sinceramente lieti che il vostro soggiorno a La Posada vi hanno lasciato un buon ricordo del vostro soggiorno nella terra dei Catari.
We keep in our memories our discussions and stories about all the things to see or to visit.
Nous espérons trè sincèrement que nos routes se croiseront de nouveau .
Nous vous souhaitons le meilleur et une belle fin d'année.
Très cordialement
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at La Posada del Castillo at the tail end of our honeymoon. Upon arrival we were welcomed by Enrique who helped us with our luggage. His high level of service never dropped and he was always available to discuss local sightseeing and recommend good restaurants. He had lots of good ideas for excursions and had we stayed longer I am sure we would have explored further.
Our room was simple but stylish with an excellent.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with being serenaded by Mark Knopfler while chatting to Enrique in the B&B courtyard being the highlight.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posada11, Propriétaire at La Posada del Castillo B&B, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Hello !
What a good "souvenir" this night on the terrace with Mark Knopfler playing guitar somewhere around. We call it "magical moments" and this was one of them.
We love this special moments during the Summer Festival when we have special guests and we can hear some good music by the Medieval City.
We wish you All the Best and send you our best memories.
Kind regards
Enrique & Lola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Posada del Castillo B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Posada del Castillo B&B

Address: 60 rue Barbacane, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find this hidden gem tucked away in the picturesque quarter known as La Barbacane and it is here that visitors from all around the world choose to stay in the heart of Cathar country. Built on the site of the former barbican of the medieval City and at the very foot of the ramparts, both the City and the Bastide Saint Louis are easily accessible on foot. At the Posada del Castillo B&B , we are in a classified historical monuments' area so, although we do not have a swimming pool, we do have Carcassonne's Lake Cavayere 5 minutes away as well as the Mediterranean, mountain lakes, rivers and streams in close proximity. Although, being in a town and next to the Chapel of Saint Gimer, we do not have large grounds or parklands, we do have a cosy terrace and a private garden which offer our guests a truly unique view of the Cite. Indeed, the medieval walls, the Porte d'Aude and the Chateau Comtal are less than 100m away. It is the Porte d'Aude which evokes Carcassone world wide and it is this gate which is featured on all of the postcards and used as a backdrop in films and historical productions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Posada del Castillo B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.