We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy & Average Touristy Restaurant - Choose Your Dishes Carefully” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Les Terrasses de la Cite

Les Terrasses de la Cite
5 Place Marcou, 1100 Carcassonne, France
+ 33 4.68.72.07.99
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 246 restaurants in Carcassonne
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Busy & Average Touristy Restaurant - Choose Your Dishes Carefully”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been visiting Carcassonne since 2007 and have visited this restaurant three or four times over the years - not because it is especially memorable, but mainly because our children like it and anything for a quiet life! Past reviews are pretty accurate and balanced in my humble opinion. The Moules Frites were good and the Cassoulet too was surprisingly palatable. However my wife had the Beef Stew and even I found it inedible with the "beef" just being pure gristle - avoid! The pizzas (their speciality) were deemed "just okay" by the children.

As with many in the Cite, this restaurant is a tourist trap and there are far better choices in both the Cite and Carcassonne. The terrace location adds to the appeal although it is really busy in summer and it's all a bit manic and service just okay. Value-wise, it wasn't too bad: 60 Euros (£50) for two adults and two children with drinks. If you do decide to go, please choose carefully and avoid peak times.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    14
    43
    20
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east africa
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Busy and average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We queued to get in and thought it must be good food. The garden seating area is nice , but the service is slow and the food very average for our tastes. The pizzas were exceptionally greasy , the duck lacking flavor. All in all we wouldn't go back. I think the great location is what makes them money so no need to excel in the gourmet area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lovely meal and setting on a hot day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stopped here for lunch whilst visiting the old city. We have both been to Carcassonne several times having family that live in Aude and we thought the terrace garden looked lovely. We sat under some lovely shady trees which on a day in 35 degree C heat was very welcome.

Neither of us goes to France to eat pizza or pasta (try Italy!) so we had Moule et Frites in traditional white wine sauce. The bowl of mussles was huge and we couldn't finish it. Beautiful shellfish and fries for a great price. Would revisit again when next over.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

The outdoor terrace is lovely. Nicely spaced tables within the tree shaded terrace.

Staff were very friendly and efficient. The pizzas are average at best. The salads are large and of a better quality then the pizzas.

There is another pizza place next door that serves far better quality food but with less atmosphere and uninterested staff. If this establishment up the quality do food served it would warrant a higher rating.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Check the bill!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Reasonable food in a nice and quiet place. Check the bill!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Terrasses de la Cite also viewed

 

Been to Les Terrasses de la Cite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Les Terrasses de la Cite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.