We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Une Maison en Toscane

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carcassonne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Une Maison en Toscane
Save
You added Une Maison en Toscane to your Saves list
44 Rue de la Gaffe | La Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 64 Carcassonne B&B and Inns
Gravesend, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

This maison encien -old house -was just lovely. We had a lovely room and we could look out of the window and see the red rooftops of the little houses nearby. We were at the foot of the walls of the fantastic bastide into which we ventured to see the amazing interior-once a complete little city. Our room was large and very shabby chic-very French-Beatrice-the owner was so helpful-always smiling-and could'nt do eneough. We loved staying here in Un maison en toscane , we loved Carcassone-the bastide-the fruit market etc-we hope to return next year and of course to stay with the lovely beatrice again.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms-didnt see the other one-ask for the front one facing the little high street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a great stay here. The hostess was charming, the place was absolutely beautiful. Big bedroom and bathroom and even a garage to park our car! It's just a short walk to get to the cite, so very convenient. I was also glad to stay outside the walls, because there seemed to be many people inside partying and being quite loud (which I'm not generally opposed to, just when I'm exhausted from travelling around France all week). My friend is allergic to cats and wasn't bothered at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This B & B is situated in the perfect location to explore both the fairy tale medieval city and the more contemporary town of Carcassonne. The rooms are lovely as was the hospitality shown by the owner and her family. Our stay coincided with Bastille Day and fireworks over the castle-not to be missed!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bagneres-de-Bigorre, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This is in a great location at the foot of the old city and within walking distance of the town with bars, restaurants and shops. The lady who owns this Chambres d'hotes is very charming and a great hostess. The rooms are beautifully furnished and decorated and it is surprisingly quiet in the rooms at night. A very good breakfast with warm bread and croissants, homemade jams, yoghurt and lots of coffee. An address to remember and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Spotlessly clean, thoughtfully appointed, spacious, light, and calm. This B&B offers all the best characteristics of the classic bed & breakfast--and it is all a reflection of Beatrice, the kind and caring hostess. In all the places we have stayed around the world, no one but Beatrice has ever offered to pick us up at the train station--a nice welcome to a great city. The bed and shower were both very large and comfortable, and the double sinks were a pleasant luxury! We were spoiled by delicious breakfasts and very willing help whenever we had a question. The location couldn't be better: close to everything, but not too close. We left Beatrice's home feeling that we were saying "au revoir" to a special new friend.

Room Tip: Chambre Buis is large and lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

Maison Toscanne is located at the foot of the medieval city ( la cite) it is an easy walk to reach the old city and also the bastide. Beatrice is a wonderful , very friendly and helpful French host, she can also speak english and has great restaurant recommendations, she also picked us up from the train station and gave us a quick tour of Carcassonne. The rooms are decorated nicely and are very clean and quiet, with lovely views from the windows. Nice breakfast with plenty to eat, fruit, yogurt, pastries etc. We would highly recommend this Bed and Breakfast. Ignore one of the previous reviews about the cats, they are not a problem, there was no smell at all.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2010

Owner Beatrice is a most charming hostess, attentive to her guests' every comfort. We stayed at her delightful B&B for three nights in early June. Our large room was immaculate and spotless; the bathroom contained all the amenities. Beatrice presented an excellent breakfast with the freshest pastries and fruits. She also offered refreshments in the afternoons upon our return from a day of sightseeing.
We can't praise her accommodations more highly. Nor have we met a more caring and gracious hostess.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Une Maison en Toscane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Une Maison en Toscane

Address: 44 Rue de la Gaffe | La Trivalle, 11000 Carcassonne, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Carcassonne
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Une Maison en Toscane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.