We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slow down guys!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Adelaide

Restaurant Adelaide
5 rue Adelaide de Toulouse | La Cité, 11000 Carcassonne, France
+33 (0)468476661
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 282 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $33
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Montpellier, France
1 review
“slow down guys!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place is very well placed overlooking the castle and the old town of Carcassonne, but it's sadly far from charming. The service is far too quick - the staff hardly looks you in the eyes and sometimes they are actually running between tables. I was actually feeling stressed and finished my meal faster than I normally would have. The guys working here seems like nice people, but they seriously have to calm down.

Foodwise, I must say that I wasn't impressed. The prices are not high, but the food quality isn't that good either. The salad (starter) was nice and all, but the fish was overcooked and the accompanying rice very, very boring. Bread must improve as well - we're in France for God's sake! It seems that the crême brulée is the only home made dessert, but sadly it was too sweet for my taste. Very big portion though!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    351
    90
    40
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great for simple cassoulet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our wonderful innkeeper made us a reservation at Adelaide because we wanted cassoulet for dinner. Being a heavy dish, many restaurants' versions will overwhelm the out-of=towner. Also, as our inn keeper described, it's a "young" restaurant in that the staff and management are all about under 35. The crown varied in age, though, and many were speaking English. Where as most meals in France took us 2-2.5 hours, our meal at Adelaide felt a little more rushed (which was fine). Bottles of wine are soooo cheap by American standards (13 Euro for a bottle of Rose). The dinner was not terribly expensive, either. The cassoulet was FABULOUS and service was friendly. My husband had steak which was also tasty. I had a funky version of gazpacho as an "entree" (appetizer); it was pureed rather than a chunky tomato soup. It was light and good, though. I would definitely go here if it's your first night in La Cite. But next time we visit this medieval town we will search out a less touristy place.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice spot to rest and delicious cassoulet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

If you find yourself in Carcassonne at the height of tourist season you're going to need a place to sit, rest and relax, to get away from the chaos roaming the streets. Well, Adelaide is by no means a place of total peace and quiet it is a nice place to sit, sip some delicious Languedoc rose and have a scrumptious lunch. I had the cassoulet -- a local speciality -- and it was indeed very tasty. Get the small portion, though!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“So good we ate there twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a very popular restaurant and you must make a reservation. It is well priced and the food is just super. It is a little tricky to find but it is worth the looking. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We first ate there for lunch and then made supper reservations. There was a line to get in. We had a set menu and when we wanted to change the dessert to a more expensive one they just added on the difference. The house wine was good. There soup was to die for. We had it for both meals. We could easily have eaten it again. I would strongly recommend this restaurant which is also featured in many of the travel books. Great restaurant in a cool city.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We choose this restaurand for the Tripadvisory recomendation. And all good comments are not enogh to describe the wonderful experience we got there. The view over the Mediaval Citi from the terrace it is just amazing. All staff is very helpfull and friendly. Unfutanally we were not so hungry so we didnt take the menu. We just had a Salad and the Onion Soup....by the way...it was the Best onion soup ever ( and mine it is pretty good!!)!!. The Profiteroles ...excelllent choice to finish our lunch.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Adelaide also viewed

 
Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Restaurant Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Adelaide, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.