We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the chateau” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Saint Jean

Le Saint Jean
1, place Saint Jean | La Cité, 11000 Carcassonne, France
04 68 47 42 43
Improve this listing
Ranked #93 of 271 Restaurants in Carcassonne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the chateau”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The menu translated into english looked a bit dull - which meant the food was a very pleasant surprise. The smoked salmon with cream/chives was delicious as was the tomato and mozarella salad. The only disappointment was the house white - wish we had ordered a specific bottle. Also great value and the salads looked incredible - though we didn't try them! Great for lunch inside the city walls.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    89
    41
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely location, ok food, slightly understaffed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We had lunch here on a sunny august day. It was pretty busy and service was a tad slow because of it. We had the casserole with preserved duck, the salad with duck and fruit and two kids menus with mussels. The salad and casserole were very nice and our kids liked their menus. It was a good lunch, though not exceptional. Of course the best thing about st Jean is the location, across the castle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food was nothing special here. Very similar to the other restaurants in the area but there is a lovely covered patio/terrace for hot days, which happen frequently in Carcassonne. There is a lunch only menu with very reasonably priced sandwiches and omelets that come with a large side salad. A nice change after lots of the heavy French food. The restaurant is also tucked in the corner so you can get a break from all the crowds.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch; great setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Visited Carcassonne for the day from Pezenas. We found this restaurant after visiting the Comte Chateau as it is just round the back. We decided to have lunch a little earlier than planned (12.15pm) as it looked as though the place was starting to fill up. We were so glad that we did as it did fill up quickly and soon there was a queue of people waiting for tables. What's nice about the location is that you can sit outside, there is plenty of space, and it is not quite as busy as some of the more central restaurants. We chose the 16€ set menu of 3 courses. The starters were beautifully served and delicious. All of us then had the cassoulet as we wanted to try a local dish. It was lovely and we finished with ice cream or a very nice waffle and chocolate sauce. We felt it was good value. The serving staff were very busy and didn't stop running around all the time we were there. However, they were pleasant and helpful. If you didn't want to spend much time over lunch you might say service was slow but we were on holiday and were very happy to have a relaxed, chilled out lunchtime in such a lovely spot.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roeselare, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Guided by the 'Guide Routard' indication on the menu, we tried this restaurant without earlier references and absolutely enjoyed it. Nice portions with high-quality food (try the foie gras !), very friendly waiters and perfect service. An address to remember !

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Saint Jean also viewed

 

Been to Le Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Saint Jean, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.