We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English speakers get snubbed or ridiculed!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Le Trouvere

Le Trouvere
1, place Marcou | La Cité, 11000 Carcassonne, France
04 68 25 72 60
Improve this listing
Ranked #143 of 282 Restaurants in Carcassonne
Cuisines: French, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“English speakers get snubbed or ridiculed!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Order your meal in french and try to keep the accent local or they'll detect a foreigner in you and start making jokes behind your back. It's terrible and unsettling since it is after all situated in a tourist attraction. Sadly for them, I majored in french and picked up everything. The food was perhaps decent but I wouldn't go out of my way to eat there. Service should have been more civil at the very least. needless to say, a truly forgettable experience for us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    72
    43
    25
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“sufficient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We opted for this of the many restaurants in the square offering virtually the same menus.

It was ok food, if not rather formulaic, and they didn't do their own formula that well. Don't choose profiteroles, tasted like it was out of a packet from Iceland.

Service really slow, and the waiters were pretty disengaged.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We went back!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

It's in a good location and offers good food and wine at reasonable prices. We dined inside and the atmosphere was fine. Waiters were friendly and efficient but we were not rushed. I would avoid dining outside if the only table was next to the footpaths which are very narrow. Yes, the Cassoulet is very good and very filling ! The Creme Brulee is brought flaming to your table and is excellent. The Wild Boar Stew is also well worth trying - delicious!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
386 reviews 386 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Le Trouvere is in an excellent location in the middle of the old Cite de Carcassonne, surrounded by lots of other eating establishments that offer near-to-equal menus. I am not quite sure why we chose to eat at Le Trouvere. Perhaps it was because of serendipity. Maybe fate. But for whatever reason we ate there. And it wasn't too bad but neither was it too good. In fact, it was just medium for whatever you'd expect in a tourist-rich environment. Reasonable food. Not terribly expensive.
Staff that were approachable without ever engaging. Just medium. But perhaps a safe choice for a meal in what can be a terribly crowded environment.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Have the Cassulet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Look you are in the center of the region know for cassulet, So why not try it at an establishment that has existed within the walls of a World Heritage preserved castle. The Canard was really great. Crowd in the place was fun, dining outside is nice on a warm day.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Trouvere also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Le Trouvere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Trouvere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.