We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Astoria to your Saves list
Hotel Astoria
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18, Rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Carcassonne
Oak Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This hotel is convenient -- close to the train station and about 20 minutes walk to the Cite. Comfortable, clean, excellent breakfast included. The owners are a lovely couple, very helpful. I would stay here again and would recommend this place wholeheartedly -- with the warning that there was a soup kitchen or mission about a block away, the opposite direction you would need to travel to get to the Cite, with scruffy people in the street and laying on the sidewalk.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    88
    46
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
105
27
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The positive feedback for this hotel was encouraging and we were not disappointed in any way. Easy to locate from the station, friendly and helpful hosts, clean and comfortable room, good value breakfast. Can certainly recommend.

Room Tip: Stayed in main hotel, not annexe. Top floor with shower ensure. Shared toilet was clean and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for this positve feedback! We try and do our best to make your stay enjoyable.
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel us conveniently located near to the railway station to walk. Although we still managed to get lost! And two lovely local ladies rescued us and delivered us to the door. We later discovered we were almost on the doorstop any way.

The hosts are very friendly and helpful. Our room was in the annexe across the road, which was quiet and we went across each morning for breakfast downstairs.

Loved Carcassone, walked to the old city. Only disappointment was that most things seem to shut on Mondays including the canal boat trips. We did a long walk along the canal to the first lock which was about 4km, took a picnic lunch and enjoyed that in the sun then walked the 4km back

Room Tip: The annexe was quiet, but can't comment on the other rooms. There is a close by rail track but w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My family and I had a WONDERFUL experience at Hotel Astoria. Although it is not right next to the old medieval city, I would ABSOLUTELY choose to stay at this hotel. The proprietors are wonderful, and the hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is wonderful as well - not just the standard croissant and coffee, but lovely meets, cheeses, eggs, and so on.

Perhaps what we enjoyed most was the hotel's recommendation for dinner. They directed us to a restaurant called La Divine Comedia, a 10 minute walk away. It was full of locals, and had AMAZING food for a reasonable price. There aren't many places you can go and get a liter of wine for 8 Euro! We just loved this hotel, and this restaurant. You should stay here!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you for this kind review, Jennifer.
We are very glad you apreciated your short stay in Carcassonne. Hotel Astoria and the breakfast. It is a pleasure for us to give you all the recommandations you need.
Hope you will come back with your family.
kind regards,
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

When we booked our trip to Carcassonne, this wasn't the hotel that we were looking at originally, but having looked at the TA reviews for this hotel we decided that it seemed to offer everything that we required as our base. I have never seen so many reviews with the absolute minimum of negative comments and we are happy to join in the chorus of approval for the Hotel Astoria.We booked a family room which was more than adequate for our needs. We arrived earlier than the check in time, and we were greeted by Marc who informed us that the room was ready. Having performed a quick pit stop, we were ready for our afternoons exploring. Marc gave us excellent instructions on the quickest way to la Cite and also advised us of the upcoming Fete du Noel was starting the next day, which was an unexpected bonus. He explained all the different attractions and activities which were on offer. In short, he was very charming and very helpful, which backed up everything that we had read on numerous TA reviews. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds were changed every day. The beds were really comfortable and a pleasure to plonk down onto after a days sightseeing. As we were going on a couple of day trips, the proximity to the Station was a bonus, this also meant we could catch the Shuttle Bus from the Airport and take the 2 minute walk to the Hotel. It is clearly signposted, so there is no need for a street plan. In our 4 day stay, we were not once disturbed at night by the sound of trains passing through the Station or traffic noise, it was very peaceful. It was a very easy 15 - 20 minute walk to la Cite, with just a bit of a climb at the very end, but short of staying in la Cite itself, you will have this climb no matter what hotel you are staying in. All in all a really enjoyable stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel Astoria to anybody seeking a good hotel for a reasonable price. Thank you very much to Marc and Severine for helping us to have a lovely time in Carcassonnne and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you Evans Family! It is always a pleasure for us to welcom smiling customers.
We are very happy you had a great stay in our Hotel in Carcassonne and that you will keep a nice souvenir.
Take care,
Séverine et Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is very close to train station. walking distance to downtown shopping area and also to the carcassonne medieval city. There is a clear sign leads you to the hotel after getting out of the train station. the room is comfortable and clean though basic. The owners speak fluent english and are very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Our double room with ensuite, was fairly spacious, white painted walls with luminous green accents and furnishings; basically furnished, with a fabric covered hanging cupboard/shelf unit for clothes, small flat screen TV, good bedding and linen. The ensuite bathroom was a comfortable size with toilet and sunken shower tray with shower curtain, again the luminous green (unappealing to us) colour. Towels were clean, but worn and thin. Overall a clean and well maintained property, which is a challenge in any older style building.
The off street private parking at €4 per night is worthwhile for peace of mind considering the activity in the narrow street at night on weekends.
Breakfast, in the basement of the hotel, was good value, self service beverage machine for coffee selections, tea, chocolate. Buffet style selections for juice, cold sliced pressed ham, cheese, cold milk, cold boiled eggs, yoghurt, long French stick bread, croissant, butters, jams and honey. Choice of Cornflakes or Cocoa Pop variation.
(A very basic breakfast was advertised at a nearby location for €6.50)
Severine, the owner was welcoming, efficient, well organized and helpful and appeared to be the driving force behind this popular hotel.

Room Tip: The street facing rooms are probably quiet most times however If staying on a weekend would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Gérant at Hotel Astoria, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Thank you for this review. All your coments are very important for us, to help us being better.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Astoria.
Séverine and Marc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Astoria

Address: 18, Rue Tourtel, Carcassonne, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Aude > Carcassonne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 Hotels in Carcassonne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Astoria 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astoria Hotel Carcassonne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Astoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.