We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little touch of heaven in France - with hardly any foreigners around either (ie, just French)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Les Templiers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Les Templiers to your Saves list
Hotel Les Templiers
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   23 rue de la Republique, 30220 Aigues-Mortes, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Aigues-Mortes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little touch of heaven in France - with hardly any foreigners around either (ie, just French)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I have been coming back to this hotel year after year. It is 3 star and is a beautiful stone building situated in a cobble stoned and pedestrianised street in Aigues Mortes which is one of France's best kept secrets. Unlike the pretentious Nice or Cannes, Aigues Mortes is a historic walled city in the Camargue. The city is stunning both inside and out and the view of the ramparts across the salt lagoons is stunning. So is the hotel. It enjoys a beautiful courtyard with a small swimming pool, a dog and a tortoise and Anne will make you very welcome. The rooms in this historic hotel are well equipped and clean but this is a medieval stone building so don't expect it to be like the Hilton. If you want character, charm, and a warm welcome, this is your place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    19
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
4
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
mallorca
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Came upon this place merely because our first choice, Le Mazarin, was fully-booked. What a stroke of luck!
This lovely little hotel is a bugger to get to, down a very narrow side-street in a town that specializes in the genre. The owner and staff are charming and relaxed to the point of catatonic...although this may be explained because we may have been the first guests of the season.
I liked our double room a lot, although the gigantic spa-style shower defeated me. My teenage son also liked his single, although as he's a teenager it'd hard to tell.
The small courtyard at the rear is delightful, and is occupied by two tortoises and a turtle. Te dog is a chubby, friendly delight.
Prices are reasonable, and the restaurant next door is very...um...French.
I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This hotel is inside the town of Aigues-Mortes, a great walking town. This was a nifty little hotel, our room was spacious and clean with a huge tiled bathroom with spigots coming out of several places in the wall. We tried to figure them out but ended up talking ordinary showers. There was a definite language barrier but were able to communicate through a friend of the owners. They have a courtyard in the back totally surrounded by walls on all four sides with ivy growing up both sidewalls giving a nice respite from the noise and heat of the town. There are two small tortoises in the enclosed courtyard that have been there for over 20 years, as you eat or drink they might just walk past you, a lot of fun.
The dinner they served was quite good and as a guest of the hotel they kept a table open for us all night, no particular reservation time necessary. As the sun went down we were treated to hundreds of sparrows finding their evening nest for the night in the ivy on the walls, quite a cacaphony of sound and sight for about 15 minutes until they got settled in, an oasis of nature. They had no wet bar and was difficult getting a bucket of ice for a bottle of wine we did not buy from them. If you want a nice little walking town it is a nice location. Kevin & Linda Smith

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunnebostrand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The small hotel is furnished with art and pictures all over. The rooms are spacious and well equipped. It has a cosy backyard and breakfast room. It is located within the complete city walls and near its center.
Staying there was a pleasant experience

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We visit Aigues-Mortes regularly with the family, but this was the first time for us in a hotel. I was always charmed by the understated elegance of the hotel lobby when walking through to the restaurant Le Marche (expensive a la carte only, but worth a visit). The room (#1) was great. Beds were comfortable. The setting is simply delightful. Love the red Fermob patio furniture outside! I thought that EUR 125/night over Easter was fair. Municipal parking is included with the room rate.

While we're at it, the best food in town is now Sylvie's Table du Midi (little secret!)

Room Tip: we liked #1 (poolside)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I discovered Les Templiers in 2005 and have been back every year at least once. Aigues-Mortes has a fascinating history, but parts are very touristique, however Les Templiers is elegant, with an interesting decor and a relaxed atmosphere. The restaurant on the beautiful courtyard is quite excellent and open most evenings. There is also a more modest bistro on the street side, excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Really nice place, great rooms (we were in one of the Suites). Very well decorated with local art and traditional furnitures. Very comfy. Huge bathroom! Patio inside the hotel, nice swimming pool also.
I strongly recommand the place; inside the fortifications of Aigues-Mortes within the pedestrian area where are all the restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Les Templiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Templiers

Address: 23 rue de la Republique, 30220 Aigues-Mortes, France
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon > Gard > Aigues-Mortes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Aigues-Mortes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Les Templiers 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Les Templiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Templiers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Les Templiers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.