We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beauty and the beast.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chateau de Blomac

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Chateau de Blomac to your Saves list
Chateau de Blomac
9, Place des Marronniers | Blomac, 11700, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #246 of 1,553 Languedoc-Roussillon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Beauty and the beast.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have enjoyed many boutique hotels in my travels and always love a good find. So you can imagine why I would be so disappointed with this property. From the outside it is a lovely property, beautifully decorated in a private setting. Unfortunately, do to the management/owners you never feel as though you can relax and enjoy it. Hospitality industry....key word being hospitality!!!. To be bluntly honest I'm not sure why they went into the business in the first place. I found them less than accommodating, short, and generally ill mannered. I would reccomend this chateau for a function but with the condition that the owners take a holiday and you hire a professional management team. And just a note to the charming couple (sarcasim) smiling when you're being rude doesn't make it less rude.
Good luck!

Room Tip: Another property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
28
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

I was invited to an Irish wedding there last weekend, you could not find a more beautiful place for a wedding and reading the list of reviews it is hard to believe how badly the wedding party staying there and us guests were treated by Fred the owner. The wedding was on the Saturday, and not once did I see him smile or welcome us to the Chateau, he was unhelpful and aloof and never once asked if we were enjoying our day. After the speeches he sent his staff out to clear glasses from tables - I had to cling to my glass - we were made to feel as if we were not wanted there and this sentiment was felt by many guests and commented on throughout the evening. Many of the wedding guests work in the hospitality business including myself and we found it hard to understand why the owner would be so obviously aloof on such a special occasion. The following day the wedding party hosted a barbeque and by the end of the evening Fred had one very lovely lady and a good friend of mine in tears (she was staying there). I would suggest to Fred to rectify his attitude to paying guests if he wants to continue in the business - all the wedding party had something to say about his poor hospitality skills on the way home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalundborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Very nicely renovated chateau with charming rooms and views. Lots of old world charm and a delightful park. Definitely a worthwhile place to stay away if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of nearby Carcassonne.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We spend our last night of our holiday at Chateau de Blomac and enjoyed had a wonderful stay. The chateau has been done up beautifully and to a very high standard by its Dutch owners, Jaqueline and Fred who gave us such a warm welcome. It was all stunning but I think our favourite part was sitting on the lovely terrace, overlooking the gardens and just being able to enjoy the peace and quiet of the evening.

Would not hesitate to recommend the chateau as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Chateau de Blomac is a beautiful place with wonderfully decorated bedrooms and dining rooms, never mind the stunning gardens, terraces and swimming pool!!
We felt so welcome and at home in the Chateau and were gutted to leave after 3 lovely nights.
Fred and Jacqueline are wonderful hosts, serving gorgeous meals and cheeses and lovely local wines and teaching us so much about the Languedoc area.
Practically speaking, Blomac is an ideal base to explore the area from, as it's only 20 minutes from Carcassonne airport and no distance to numerous beautiful villages along the Canal du Midi.
I will definitely be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahone Bay, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Chateau Blomac is a beautiful property with spacious rooms, comfortable beds, modern bathrooms, a great pool. Best of all though is the welcoming attitude and excellent cooking of Jacqueline, the owner. Make sure that you book for dinner which is eaten on the terrace at a long table hosted by Jacqueline and, sometimes, her husband, Fred. You will meet people from all over the world, eat wonderful food and drink good local wines. There is lots to see in the area but it is tempting to spend all of the time lounging besides the infinity pool.

Room Tip: Ask for south side during the grape harvest as it will be a bit quieter. North side probably better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

- very friendly atomosphere
- beautiful location
- big rooms
- nice furnitured

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chateau de Blomac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Blomac

Address: 9, Place des Marronniers | Blomac, 11700, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Languedoc-Roussillon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 1,553 B&Bs / Inns in Languedoc-Roussillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fred and Jacqueline, Dutch owners, love to welcome you as guest at Chateau de Blomac.In the south of France, between Carcassonne and Narbonne, you will find our castle where you can stay in luxury (family) suites with private bathroom. As night on your way to Spain, for a holiday or just a few days to relax to or visit the region. Wireless internet (for free). The construction of the present Chateau de Blomac started in 1789 and has been lived in and renovated by various families. Wine is still being made. In the castle there are now very spacious and comfortable(family) suites, where our guests will stay regally (chambres d'hotes or B&B) . We do have a large (7x13) swimming pool for all our guests. The estate is also ideal for groups, wedding and anniversary parties. Imagine your own family or theme gatherings and we will make it true in this inspiring setting. And of course we can't ignore it: exciting your taste with exquisite wines.Four days a week we offer the possibility to dine in a unique atmosphere (table d'hotes) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de Blomac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Blomac France/Languedoc-Roussillon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chateau de Blomac, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.