We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a special occasion” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domaine Gayda

Domaine Gayda
11300 Brugairolles, France
+33 (0)4 68 20 65 87
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Carcassonne, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Outstanding food and service. The beef was amazing- and as usual the presentation for all the courses was perfect.
Decor superb
Had a wonderful meal there last night with friends. It was quiet being a Wednesday but still lovely.
We were there last December for lunch and that also was superb.
Would recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    28
    11
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“BBQ amongst the trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We held a BBQ at Domaine Gayda last August, the day after my daughter's wedding at L'Abbaye Chateau de Camon. We started with a tour and wine tasting and this was followed by an amazing BBQ amongst the trees with the tables set out in Les Payottes. The meat was BBQ'd to perfection and we were continuously served small dishes of meat, salad and vegetables and of course, wine! Our vegetarian guests were also well catered for. It was the perfect setting for friend and family to relax and chill out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aude
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Disappointing - not up to usual excellent standard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

We visit Gayda on a regular basis and the food and service are usually excellent, so we booked for Christmas Day lunch.

The amuse-bouche was excellent , as was the foie-gras for the next course.

The following course was a langoustine ravioli in a mushroom broth. I did not like this, but my husband enjoyed it except for the pasta, which, like me, he felt was far too thick and rubbery.

The pheasant was a little over-cooked, but off-set by the delicious vegetables and the sauce.

Next - was listed as three cheeses, not three GOAT cheeses, which my husband cannot eat. We were told that there was no alternative! On a menu for a celebration - in our opinion - this is not acceptable, there must have been an alternative.

Dessert was OK, but nothing special.

We will go to Gayda again, but not for Christmas and did we think it was good value and a nice experience - sadly not.

There was a good atmosphere, but if you do not want the English funny hats and crackers on many of the tables, I would say it was not for you.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Salle, Illinois
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We spent a wonderful evening at Gayda! We had a nice meal with friends. Service was great. Food was delicious and beautifully presented. Great wine.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“If you want a memorable meal, not just food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A meal at Domaine Gayda is a meal you will remember because not only is the food excellent, the wine (included) really good, the service spot on and the cost reasonable but the views are truly stunning. It is a dining experience that you'll wish to have more than once.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timothy f, Propriétaire at Domaine Gayda, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a comment, we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. T Ford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Gayda also viewed

Carcassonne, Aude
 

Been to Domaine Gayda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domaine Gayda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.