We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a really good experience, everyone and everything was lovley.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de France

Save Saved
You added Hotel de France to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel de France
5 rue Colbert, 78000 Versailles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Versailles
Brussels
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had a really good experience, everyone and everything was lovley.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Haven't had such a good stay in a hotel for years. Didn't know I was staying in Versailles until late afternoon. Walked around and saw 5 hotels and asked for rates and to see the rooms. Hotel de France was the 5th and rooms were so much better than the other I had seen. Great value for money. Fantastic, friendly, professional service. Excellent location. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    27
    10
    5
    5
See reviews for
19
27
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

Nice, rooms are different from each one...nice and in the style of Louis XIV...a place to stay for a romantique weekend. Beautiful location vey close to the castle.

Just for weekends or romantique vacations

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2007

Great location, just off the parking lot to Palace. Requested a large bed, and got a very comfortable king size. Room faced into courtyard, very quiet. Reception spoke great English, she was very helpful to get taxi. Their WiFi service was not working during our 1-night stay.

  • Liked — bed, room size, quiet, service
  • Disliked — WiFi did not work
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2007

My wife and 18 month old son booked one night here in a deluxe room. The room was spacious, relatively modern, and left lots of room for the baby's pack-and-play bed which we brought along for the trip. It also had air conditioning and a very nice bathroom with two sinks and a tub. The location is unbeatable and there are restaurants all around. My in-laws books a standard room which was far smaller, but still nice. They claimed that the room was nicer than the one they paid twice as much for in Paris

Negatives:

We found crumbs or sand particles in our bed, but went to bed too late and tired to care. The sheets seemed to be clean otherwise...This was the only significant disappointment.

The TV was far too small considering the size of the room and the very high ceilings.

Breakfast was available but could only be served in our room. The clerk told me that it was only a one-night occurance since the restaurant that connects to the hotel was being used for another event and the hotel has no control over it?? In any case, 11 Euro per person was too high for a basic breakfast and we ended up having a wonderful breakfast with omelets, fresh croissants, and coffee just two doors down on the left as you exit the hotel.

Despite the few negatives, I would stay here again.

  • Liked — Modern, spacious rooms
  • Disliked — Could have been a little bit cleaner...
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eltham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2006

Enjoyed our stay so close to the Versailles Palace you could almost touch it. Most of the rooms are internal-facing and not so big but ok, well decorated, very quiet and clean. Breakfasts were fine and we found the staff very helpful and friendly if you bothered with them. We stayed two weeks and got to know them all; really good with directions and advice. The restaurant next door is good quality but a bit on the expensive side for non-business folk. The decor is laughable, plastic pub-style, if that matters. Recommend the restaurant a few doors down which is good quality and much cheaper, £15 - 20 each. We found nearly all waiters in Paris have the same problem; not content just to take the food order, bring the food and bill at a reasonable pace, letting the cusomter to decide whether to linger or to go elsewhere but seemingly intent on taking you hostage for an evening, despite your possible wish to go to bed, read a book, go to another bar or whatever. All in all, enjoyed this hotel which is brilliantly located and reasonably priced.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Abroad
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2006

Location is great! Evening staff is rude, unhelpful -but day manager and staff are very nice and concerned. Rooms are adequate - and clean. breakfast is fine. restaurant next door has good seafood and Brittany cuisine. AWESOME desserts!
Location - Location - location!!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2004

We found this hotel at the last minute, but it was an excellent find.
Our room was opulently decorated in the style of the Chateau. The bathroom was fantastic, huge and light and overlooking the hotel courtyard.
The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The location is excellent being less than 500 yards to the entrance to the Palace and within easy walking distance of dozens of cafes/restaurants in the lovely town of Versailles.
Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 5 rue Colbert, 78000 Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de France, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.