We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price and position with friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Versailles Chateau

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Versailles Chateau to your Saves list
Mercure Versailles Chateau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 rue Philippe de Dangeau | Angle rue Montbauron, 78000 Versailles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    188
    82
    30
    12
See reviews for
80
159
37
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The front desk clerk continued a phone conversation with friend while I waited to check-in. There was limited parking and our rental car did not fit. The room had a stench which we were not sure if it was from the leftover beer cups found under the desk or the burning brioche in the adjacent kitchen. The public parking was quite a distance and expensive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Staff were friendly and served our large group a very early breakfast when requested. My room was a tad pokey and the aircon did not work. Parking was an issue. WiFi was slow but free. There are better places to stay in Versailles but it by no means a disaster.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A bland, blockhouse exterior on Versailles residential streets reveals a designer-beige interior. What it lacks in charm, however, is compensated for by helpful, obliging, multi-lingual staff; clean, adequately sized rooms where plumbing, electrics, internet and TV work as they should; a breakfast buffet using above average ingredients (as it should for more than the cost of a bistro menu lunch!); and a good location. Rive Droite and Gauche stations, restaurants, the food market and the over-gilded reminder of the last real French revolution up the boulevard are all within easy walking distance. 'Correct' as the French say.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street will have less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I stayed at the Mercure Versailles Chateau on business. It was within walking distance of the train station, and fairly close to the palace, on a quiet street between Ave de Saint-Cloud and Ave de Paris. The staff were on the younger side, and were fairly helpful. They were a little disorganized in the morning at checkout, though not enough to be much of a problem. The room was on the small side and a bit stuffy, but was functional enough to do the job. The internet worked well enough to take care of a few things in the evening. I did not try the breakfast (there are usually plenty of better places nearby, especially for the money). The eating area was just off the lobby, and while clean seemed a bit cramped and unexciting. I would consider coming back if I managed to get a good rate again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

It's a chain hotel and adequate for a stay of a couple of nights' duration. My room had sufficient space and facilities, except for one glaring disadvantage - it was for smokers. I didn't realise that smoking was allowed in hotel rooms, but of course I was in France. I detest the smell of stale cigarette smoke and asked to be moved. Surprise, surprise, the hotel was full.

I should add that the breakfast was decent and the lady who supervised it was charming and helpful.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a room for smokers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was in a good location. About a 10 minute walk from the station and the Palace of Versailles. The rooms were on the smaller side. The shower leaked water into the floor as well. The breakfast in the mornings was good. I would only stay here again if I managed to get a good deal.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Versailles Chateau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Versailles Chateau

Address: 19 rue Philippe de Dangeau | Angle rue Montbauron, 78000 Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Versailles Chateau 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Versailles Chateau is located in the heart of Versailles, within easy reach of the three stations that connect to Paris and the airports, and close to the business district, museums and monuments. Offering 60 airconditioned rooms, including 8family rooms (please contact the hotel directly to book one of these) and 3 rooms for guests with limited mobility, the hotel also features a meeting room and an undercover pay car park, subject to availability. Public swimming pool nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Mercure Versailles Chateau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Versailles Chateau Hotel Versailles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Versailles Chateau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.