We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location, facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78 000 Versailles, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great hotel, location, facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Best breakfast room experience ever - high ceilings, loads of natural light, great service in a great setting. Well located hotel for the main attractions. All staff very helpful, and the pool facilities were excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    467
    232
    99
    64
See reviews for
312
852
52
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Beautiful main property next to a park. Pavillion ancillary accomodation environment not as nice as the main building. Gold/Diamond Hilton Honors Members beware there are NO executive type benefits for frequent travellers which I consider to be a negative as I stay at the Hilton brand properties around the world. We planned a romantic weekend and the room is nothing more than a standard business hotel room. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had one overnight stay on the way to southen France. Lovely grounds and impressive buildings. Didn't seem to have many business people, mostly tourists just like us. Kind of has a relaxed atomosphere. Very closed to the versailles as well. The suite is very spacious with very large bathroom and sitting room, both of which have balcony overlooking the garden. Only got the chance to have room service rathe trying the restaurant, but still, very satisfied with the food. Overall service is also quite good. Small minor point: most the building looks great on the surface but some small details like paints and carpets perhaps needs some tlc.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had asked for a Palace View Room. Our room,Room 401, on the 4th floor, did. The room needed the attention of the maintenance staff when we came to use one of the bedside lights, who arrived 5-10 minutes after my call to replace the light bulb. The bathroom would benefit from a separate shower in my opinion, rather than the over the bath one that was installed. The air conditioning in the room was unable to get the room temperature below 23.5 degrees during our stay

We had cocktails in the bar after returning from an evening out in Versailles, they were expensive at about 20 euros each.

Breakfast was an interesting experience, where our table had been cleared by the staff while we were making toast/refilling our fruit juices. When my wife attempted to dispense herself some cereal from one of the hoppers at the buffet she was unable to do so due to the fact that the mechanism of the hopper was faulty.

We ate at "La Veranda" which I have reviewed separately.

We asked the concierge for a restaurant recommendation in Versailles. We ate at the establishment he suggested and were very pleased. The staff in all our dealings with the hotel were very helpful.

Parking beneath the new annex of the hotel costs 20 Euro per day. There were always adequate spaces. I was unable to put the charges for the car park onto my room bill, which I thought should have been possible. I also think that in this day and age free internet access should be available when you are paying for a hotel room at an establishment like this.

The hotel is short walk from either the Palace of Versailles and its gardens. The walk through the gardens is the shortest trip to join the throngs of people waiting to gain access to the Palace and is a pleasant walk. We arrived with pre-paid tickets at 0915 and still spent 50 minutes in line.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I've recently stayed at the Trianon Palace during my family holiday. I've chosen this hotel due to its proximity to the Versailles palace, and I was not disappointed. The city is lovely and the palace is nearby. I've enjoyed my stay and I have to say that the hotel is lovely kept. The building is beautiful and the restaurant serves very delicious food for dinner. The view from the restaurant window of Versailles’ fields is also lovely and provides a serene country environment ideal for a relaxing holiday. The breakfast needs a little improvement. The buffet is not very big, and has limited options. The staff, although professional, is not that enthusiastic when interacting with the guests. As this is a Waldorf Astoria hotel the staff attitude needs to be on par with the chain's image. They tend to keep their distance and should try to be a little friendlier. Above all I enjoyed my stay and I would come back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for a week at the beginning of July and had a very pleasant stay. The hotel is located literally right next door to a Versailles park entrance so super convenient. We were in The annex of the hotel which was ok but not as good as the rooms in the main part of the hotel. The room was large and pleasant but the bathroom had the shower over the bath and was a bit dated. The bedside tables were large and looked like they had a cupboard in them but in fact there wasn't a cupboard!! Not a great deal of wardrobe space so I used the sofa!!

The Internet in the rooms was extortionate 25 euros for 24 hours!!! Wifi free in the main hotel reception but not the annex so it was a real nuisance having to trek across there to get online. Breakfast was nice but also very expensive and there are no shops nearby to get provisions for in room snacking! Not a taxi anywhere in the vicinity so be prepared to walk. Drinks in the hotel also expensive as was the food in the restaurants. Very nice Sushi Cafe at the end of the road on the right hand side! The tree lined road where the hotel is located is beautiful and the area very clean and tidy. I didn't use the pool or spa so can't comment on these facilities. All in all a pleasant hotel in a great area but they sure know how to charge!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We got a very good deal booking a room through Booking.com. We would not have paid the advertised room price as it was way overpriced - 600 euros for a double! Admittedly the room was very comfortable with a lovely bathroom and tea and coffee-making in the room. There was a minibar but if you touched any of their items it would immediately charge it to your account. There is a small area in the fridge for your own items, which was something we had never seen before. The only small niggle was that when we showered, the water poured over the floor as the screen was far too small for the power of the shower, so had to use towels to soak up the flood.
A coffee was 8 euros and breakfast was 29 euros, which was way too much as not very tasty. The hot food wasn't hot and the chef had disappeared so had to wait ages to get a fried egg, so it got even colder. Car parking was 20 euros and internet was only free in the bar and reception area, but chargeable in the rooms unless you were a HHonours card holder. We couldn't get it to work in the bar and the concierge helped but was unable to sort it. Eventually it did work, so that was a bonus as we were in our room by then! We have stayed in the Waldorf Astoria in New York which felt extra special, whereas this felt like any other high end hotel anywhere in the world.
We decided to treat ourselves to the 70 euro menu in the luxury brasserie and we found the setting and the food to be perfect. Easy walk to Versailles Palace but be warned the palace is shut on Mondays but the gardens are open. We would stay again but only if we got a good deal as it's in a lovely area and close to the Palace.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78 000 Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.