We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel to your Saves list
Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78 000 Versailles, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Limoges, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A touch above”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed one night. We were in the annex, the room was very clean & large and the bed was wonderful.

Breakfast at 32 euros is a tad silly! and it was 50 euros for our dog, having said that the staff were genuine, polite and helpful. We stayed at another hotel the next night which was cheaper and it confirmed to me the old adage " You get what you pay for"

Really enjoyed it ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for choosing our hotel to stay in Versailles.
We appreciate to have your feedback about your stay it helps us to better know the expectations of our guests and to improve the quality of service we offer.
We will be very pleased to welcome you again in the next future.

Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,755 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    840
    494
    246
    108
    67
See reviews for
332
923
56
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

One of our favorite hotel in the world ! We have been at the Trianon Palace 4 times in 2012 and it was always great. The service is very fine, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, the food is delicious, .... and the hotel is beautiful and very quite withe a great location. We will for sure return in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Responsable réception at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your loyalty to the Trianon Palace, we are pleased that each time you come, you appreciate everything of your stay. We are eager to welcome you again, maybe for Easter, do not hesitate to ask information, we will be more than pleased to provide you with.

SIncerely,

Grégoire Salamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed for one night with 4 work colleauges. The hotel was clean , welcoming and staff were very professional. I had a basic room (king in the annexe) which was comfortable and the welcome chocolates and evian water were a nice touch.

There was a GM hosted cocktail party which was also pleasant after a long day of work and travel to get to paris, although only one cocktail was offered!

All in all a very efficient, well run hotel with attentive staff.

Room Tip: Annexe is not in the main "palace" but over the road in a wing build in the 90's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your nice comments.
We hope that you will have the opportunity to come back to our hotel for leisure this time, our concierge will be pleased to help you to organize visits.
In the meantime, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel has excellent installations. The pool and spa are wonderful. All the staff is very kind and provide an excellent service. Is located really near from the Versailles Palace, which is far from Paris of course. Anyway, a beautiful place.
Just be careful before taking anything from the minibar, it will be automatically charged to your credit card even if you put it back.

Room Tip: Garden view makes no difference, its so dark you cant see anything outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Responsable réception at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to stay and thank you for your nice comments regarding the great service and the great staff. We share these ones with all our teams.
Regarding the minibar, it is true that if you take something from it, you have just a short time to put it back, if not it is charged on your account but these last days we have extended the lapse of time to let the clients to put the item back if they do not want it.
Looking forward the pleasure fo your next visit.

Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
449 reviews 449 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

When you arrive, the first things you learn are:
- Parking costs 20 euros per day, no decent alternative is available.
- Internet & movie package is 25 euros per day. Wireless Internet is extra.
- Daily breakfast was offered at the exceptionnally 'low' price of 29 euros instead of 36 euros. No decent breakfast alternative is available in the neighbourhood, whatever some previous reports may say.
- The Veranda restaurant, the 'cheap' one, costs easily 80 euros per person. No decent alternative is available in the neighbourhood (you might try the Nuance restaurant 500 meters away). See also my review report of other restaurants in Versailles.

And then you still have to pay your room and other services like spa etc. Staff clearly consists of two types: the professional ones with some years of experience, and the cheap 'stagiaires' who should first learn to open their mouth and to move their lips (which is called pronunciation) when trying to say something.

The closest client region which speaks another language than French is ... Flanders and Holland, who - what a surprise! - speak Dutch. No Flemish or Dutch TV channels in this hotel. Hm... when you see the various channels in languages such as Arabic or Russian, you don't really feel welcome.

This hotel clearly gives me the impression that they focus on the type of clients whose source of income is dubious. Nobody wants to know, nobody has to know ... as long as they spend it.

Ok, let's come back to these extras: the hotel could save considerable amounts of money by turning down the thermostat: now, it is always more than 25 degrees in your room and it is impossible to change that. The style of the room, on the contrary, is quite cold. The bathroom is dangerous: my wife slipped in the bath tub and broke four ribs while trying to figure out how the complex shower system worked. As we heard the diagnosis two days later, it was too late to talk with hotel management about this problem.

My advice for this hotel would be: stop offering deceptive low rates: they are not that low once you add all the extras. Only offer real rates which include most extras. Make clear which type of client you are targetting: value-seeking people who spend what they honestly earned with their own sweat (who mostly are not that rich) or people spending money from less trustworthy sources.

This kind of economy, and its meritocracy, makes me mad.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying in our hotel during your trip in Versailles.
We read your comments with attention and are sorry to understand that you did not enjoy your stay. Our prices policy is clear, we have different categories of rooms and the price is different depending on the room you choose. Regarding extra services, it seems normal that they have a price, regarding our SPA Guerlain, for example, fitness, pool, sauna, hammam are free but it is evident that as in every Spa you have to pay if you ask for treatments.
At last I would say that if I can understand that you may be not satisfied with your stay, it seems completely inappropriate to criticize the other guests we welcome in our hotel.
Once again, we regret we have not been able to meet any of your requirements.
With best regards.

Grégoire Salamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holly, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you're looking for relaxation, comfort, peace, in an elegant venue while visiting Paris, this is the place. By taking a short train ride after visiting The Eiffel Tower & The Louvre, we were able to stay in a quiet little town just outside of Paris. Breakfast is served overlooking sheep grazing the countryside, the heated bathroom tile floor was comforting, and if Carol (front desk), Eric (wait staff), Marcello or Stephan (concierge) are there when you are, you're in for a welcome treat. All the comforts of home, plus way more! It's obvious this hotel hasn't settled for simply elegance...the staff treats you like an honorary friend. We came looking for a nice hotel, we left feeling special, relaxed, and with a memory to last a lifetime! Thank-you so much!!!

Room Tip: This was our first stay, but there was nothing we were left wanting. Double, ceiling tall windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your nice comments.
We are pleased to see that you appreciated a quiet, comfortable, elegant place after visiting Paris as well as our staff. We are very proud to have made your stay a memory to last a life and do hope that you will come back to our property.

Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

If you're looking for ultimate luxury in France, this hotel delivers. Just to the side of the main palace grounds in Versailles, this hotel is set overlooking multiple beautiful meadows. From my room, I could watch animals grazing in the pastures amd occasionally a moo.
The hotel features a Gordon Ramsay restaurant which we enjoyed very much. The concierge was able to arrange an English speaking tour guide and golf carts to tour the grounds (which permission can be gotten for the right price $$).

The rooms at this property are large and the hotel is absolutely regal.
About a 20 min drive from Paris. Certainly worth a couple days to tour the grounds of Versailles Palace.
Actually a WONDERFUL location for R&R. Imagine a serene, quiet countryside palace with 5 star amenities. I wouldnt stay in Versailles in the winter months simply because you lose the best attribute of the area, peaceful strolling through the grounds.
Wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grégoire S, Directeur général at Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for writing all these nice comments about our hotel.
We are pleased to see that you enjoyed anything, location, staff, service...
That is true that because the environment, the parc, it is much pleasant to stay in Spring or in Summer to take advantage of all surroudings so we do hope that you will have the opportunity to come back during these periods. If so, please check with our reservations or our concierge before coming, there are very nice shows in the parc of Versailles in Summer.
Sincerely,

Grégoire Salamin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel

Address: 1 Boulevard de la Reine, 78 000 Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Distinctive Grand-style Palace & Pavillion building situated in 8-acre park bordering the Palace of Versailles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trianon Palace Hotel Versailles
Versailles Trianon Palace Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trianon Palace Versailles, A Waldorf Astoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.