We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put this on your to do list” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Cuisine de Bertrand

La Cuisine de Bertrand
2 rue des bourdonnais, 78000 Versailles, France
+ 33 (0) 9 50 95 72 74
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Dont forget to combine your Versailles Palace visit with a cooking class and a dinner with a local family! Bertrand will teach you easy to reproduce everyday french recipes. Located in front of the 350 years old King's Garden, La Cuisine de Bertrand uses fruit and vegetables grown there for the dishes preparation. Participants will then discover some unusual species such as Blue hubbard squashes or Calville blanc d'hiver apples. Once the 3 course meal is prepared, all attendees dinne together with Bertrand and his wife. For those who just want to share a dinner with a french family in their home, La Cuisine de Bertrand also organise wine and cheese dinners on weekdays.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Put this on your to do list”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a wonderful way to experience French culture. We spent an evening blocks away from the historic Chateau Versailles in an apartment that overlooks the King’ s garden. After learning how to cook authentic French dishes, we enjoyed pleasant conversations over the three course meal we had just prepared. Bertrand is delight and so were the other dinner companions. Experiencing a French dinner should be on everyone’s list of things to do in France.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A nice evening in Versailles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

It was a nice way to spend the evening in Versailles. My husband and I toured the Chateau at Versailles and the gardens during the day and then met with Bertrand and Emilee that evening in their home. We were pleasantly surprised at the location being within walking distance to the Chateau and the train station.

We initially wanted to try the cooking class, but were unable to due to our travel plans. The only opening available was a wine and cheese tasting on a Friday night.

We were greeted by the family and offered a glass of wine with some snacks while we lounged in their living room.
Both Bertand and Emilee were fluent in english which made conversation easy and comfortable.
Time passed quickly as we shared life and travel experiences.

The cheese selections offered to us were amazing. Each cheese was chosen to reflect the different regions and tastes of France.
The wines were subtle and complemented the cheeses. Fresh bread and salad were also offered.

We highly recommend an evening with this sweet and friendly couple as an alternative to traditional dining in France.We had a wonderful relaxing evening in a French home. They truly went out of their way to welcome and introduce us to the French way of life!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A taste of home cooking and family life in France”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

What an experience - a down to earth cooking class, given at home in Bertrand's apartment. This is family style cooking of french classics, and the best part was sitting down to enjoy the dinner we cooked with Bertrand and his wife, who made me feel like a welcome guest in their home.
A very short trip on the Metro from Paris, does not need to be combined with visiting the Chateau, worth the visit on its own. A memorable evening.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niterói, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cooking with friends! That´s how it feels!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

After a great tour in Versailles, I thought it was enough for a day, but when I got at Bertrand cuisine I realised the evening was just begining.
It was nice learn his cook secrets, it was great dinner, and much better the talking.
I felt having dinner with friends.
Very nice experience and the best part of my vacations.
Thank you and Amelie.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A fun way to learn traditional French cooking in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

After a few hours touring the Chateau de Versailles, my husband and I walked the short path to our in-home cooking class with Bertrand. We booked the cooking class based on the excellent on-line reviews. It was a blast - we made everything by hand (including the crusts for the vegetable and the dessert tarts). My husband and I are just casual cooks, no classical training, and we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere that Bertrand has setup in his home. Then we ate our delicious hand-made dinner with Bertrand and his wife Emilie, while chatting about life in France versus the US, and great talks about our personal travel experiences. If you're going to Paris, I definitely recommend you book a lesson with Bertrand, as you will have an fantastic time!

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bpollet, Propriétaire at La Cuisine de Bertrand, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Hello Barbara, We also spent a nice evening taking about differences between US and France with you and Steve. it was very interesting for us as well. As we do not have time to travel a lot, travelers come to us and we learn a lot of interesting stuffs about their countries!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine de Bertrand also viewed

 

Been to La Cuisine de Bertrand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Cuisine de Bertrand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.