We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Chateau de Versailles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Chateau de Versailles to your Saves list
Ibis Chateau de Versailles
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Avenue du Genearal de Gaulle, 78000 Versailles, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Excellent service and very reasonable prices considering where it is situated just below the palace and gardens of Versaille. We hadn't booked in advance as we were touring around Europe so we were lucky to find it had 2 rooms for our family. It was the best nights sleep we had on or holiday especially as it had air conditioning.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    246
    160
    52
    21
See reviews for
86
250
61
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Perfect location for visiting the Chateau which is just a 15 minute walk away. There are also a number of great restaurants and cafes nearby.

The hotel itself is clean and functional and the staff friendly - we didn't encounter any rudeness that other reviewers have mentioned. Breakfast was standard French faire - a selection of meats, croissants, pain au chocolat etc. Although nothing outstanding it was more than acceptable.

The rooms are small and, as far as we could tell, no family rooms are available. We had to book two rooms for the four of us but the prices are reasonable so this wasn't a major problem. Each room had an en-suite shower room (calling them bathrooms would be an over-exageration) which were tiny - a shower, a sink and toilet just about squeezed in.

There is a free underground car-park available off a side road near the hotel which is well-worth knowing about. The website doesn't seem to mention it and we only found out about it as we phoned the hotel when we reached Versailles to check the best place to park.

If you're looking for a basic, clean, functional hotel for a one night stop over to visit Versailles then this hotel is perfect. Not sure I'd want to stay any longer - it is that basic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This Ibis hotel is in a GREAT location. Virtually across the street from the train station and one long block from the enterence of the palace. The hotel was renovating the enterence; but, the work was separated and did not interfear with the hotel function. The room was average, with a small shower.

I would definately recommend this hotel if you are visiting Versaille!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed for one night at the end of July 2013 to visit the Chateau. The Ibis is very centrally located, with easy walking access to the chateau. In the vicinity there are good bars and restaurants, and there was parking available at the end of the street which was free overnight. The room was small but adequate for the price paid, and was clean. The bathroom was very small even for an Ibis, but again was clean and useable. The two main downsides were the service in the bar, where the waiter gave us and charged us for more expensive glasses of wine that we had asked for, and the air conditioning in the room, which even on full power left the room too hot, which meant we did not sleep too well. The hotel is definitely worth it if you can get a good deal, want a central location, and stay when the weather is not too hot, and don't mind about using the bar and restaurant area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

This is standard Ibis hotel, typically with it's small rooms and combined shower and drying towel. You won't get any extra here.The breakfast is standard Ibis as well. The reason for giving it "very good" it the combination of price and location. It is perfectly located next to the Versailles castle. Also for a convenient parking facility near the hotel.

I do agree with some travelers that the staff in the reception might be more helpful, but we survived,

I guess your reason for you to consider staying here is that you plan to see the lovely Versailles estate. Please get up early in the morning and be at the castle before 9:30 - then you don't have to wait in the endless lines.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

The staff are rude and experts at ignoring you.
The rooms are hardly big enough to open the suitcase.
I would never stay here again. The only saving grace is the proximity to the chateau, otherwise it would be all bad

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Chateau de Versailles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Chateau de Versailles

Address: 4 Avenue du Genearal de Gaulle, 78000 Versailles, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Chateau de Versailles 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Paris Château de Versailles hotel is located in the centre, 200 m from the château and the Convention Centre. Only 50 m from the VERSAILLES RIVE GAUCHE RER C station, the hotel is ideal for weekend stays. Close to numerous restaurants, it has 85 air-conditioned rooms, including 3 adapted for disabled guests, a bar serving snacks 24/24 and private covered pay parking. Guests on a business trip can use the Wifi wireless broadband Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Ibis Chateau de Versailles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Paris Versailles Chateau Hotel Versailles
Accor Paris Versailles Chateau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Chateau de Versailles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.