We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OVER NIGHT STOP” 3 of 5 stars
Review of A l'Hotel des Roys

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added A l'Hotel des Roys to your Saves list
A l'Hotel des Roys
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Av de Paris, 78000 Versailles, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Troon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OVER NIGHT STOP”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We arrived at 12 noon and the charming Receptionist let us have it early. It was a great help. Sadly the room was to the rear of the hotel had no view (apart from the wall opposite) and worse, had no air conditioning. The electric wall fan was a big help but very noisy. The Room was clean and tidy but certainly not a place you would want to stay in for long. Fortunately we were our all afternoon and the evening but the room was so hot overnight we did not get much sleep. The breakfast was adequate but far too dear at 11 euros ! They did their best to ensure our comfort but it is a very old fashioned hotel and needs a lot of upgrading before we will visit again. The hotel is well placed for restaurants, railway station and Palace (although the queues to get in there were horrendous). We took the train to Paris and had a great time.

Room Tip: We did not see into any of the other rooms but I would suggest that a room at the front would be pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
The way this old and authentic real estate is built doesn't allow the installation of the AC, that is why we put the fan in the rooms. Besides, the summer was particulary hot in Versailles this year. For the rest, the hotel has been renovated during the last five year so. Sincerely yours. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    82
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
58
68
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Jordan, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My husband had a meeting in Versailles before heading to a conference in Roissy so we chose this hotel close to the Chateau. The location and tree lined street were absolute perfection. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. I decided to tour Versailles the next day so the hotel kept our luggage secure. The older gentleman at the front desk was very helpful in suggesting a place to eat (Le Boeuf a la Mode) and calling a taxi for us when it was time to leave. We also ate at Au Chapeau Gris in the area. Both restaurants were great and within walking distance from the hotel. The breakfast they provided was filling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We're glad that you had the chance to discover Versailles thanks to your husband's meeting. There is so much more to see that we'll be happy to welcome you for your next trip here. Best regards. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This hotel is in a great location, close to the Palace and within 10 minutes walk of the train station where regular trains take approx 40 mins to travel to Paris centre. We were travelling as an extended family group of 6 and had three people to each room. The rooms are small and cosy and what I would expect of a European boutique hotel in an old building. The room was very clean and tidy. We could park the car right out the front for EUR6 per day (metered parking). The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello, Thank you and have a nice journey in France.
Welcome in Versailles for your next trip. Sincerely yours, Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We arrived at this hotel a bit early but they kindly let us store our luggage while we went off to enjoy the Gardens and the Palace.

The location of this charming hotel is perfect, just a few minutes walk from the train station and a short walk from the Palace and Gardens.

Our family of four stayed in one of the family rooms on the front of the building and it was perfect. Our teens took turns enjoying the top bunk and we had the "regular" bed. We had plenty of room for all our things and didn't feel too crowded despite there being four of us.

Breakfast was very good and worth the price. We were also able to enjoy some hot chocolates and café crèmes after returning from the Palace.

Yes, this is an older hotel but it had charm and elegance and the staff were very friendly and truly helpful. They were also so patient with me while I tried my best to speak only French.

We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Madam, Sir, Thank you for awarding our dedication in welcoming you as best as we can to make your stay in Versailles as perfect as it can be! We'll be here to welcome you with the same enthousiasm on your next trip here! Best Regards. Bruno Rosé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here two nights. This gave us time for a full day at the Chateau de Versailles as well as a short side trip to Chartres. There's free wi-fi and free weekend parking right in front on the Avenue de Paris. The staff were very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable, but otherwise nothing special. Considering that hotels in France can be very expensive, especially near Paris, l'Hotel des Roys offers a good value and a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hello, In order to really enjoy the palace you need at least one full day, that's why it's better to stay the night in Versailles and try to discover the city and its surroundings. Thanks a lot and hope to see you soon. Bruno ROSÉ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Only spent 1 night on a stopover. Had booked their deluxe room but was disappointed with the room. I mentioned this to reception who kindly offered an alternative room if we wanted which was appreciated. Overall a good average for a 2* hotel. Reception staff where helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear client, Thank you for your comment. Indeed when you arrived we understood that the room wasn't what you expected, so we changed it for another one that you liked. You booked two rooms by mistake and we cancelled the second one with no charge when you arrived in order to satisfy you. We hope you enjoyed your stay here as we did our best for it!
Have a good trip in Europe. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I stayed one night in the hotel for a business trip and found the rooms clean, comfortable and relaxing. The hotel is located in a beautiful avenue, set back from the road so is nice and quiet. I will come back to stay when I next take a trip to Paris and to see the palace nearby. The breakfast was excellent, especially the freshly made orange juice and selection of fresh fruit and pastries. I also managed to leave my work notes behind in my room and the receptionist kindly returned these to me right away, by airmail.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrunoROSE, Propriétaire at A l'Hotel des Roys, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Madam, It was a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel and we would be glad to see you again for your next trip to Paris. Your professional notes are very precious so it seemed important to us to send them back to you very quickly! Best Regards. Bruno ROSÉ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to A l'Hotel des Roys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A l'Hotel des Roys

Address: 14 Av de Paris, 78000 Versailles, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Yvelines > Versailles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Versailles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — A l'Hotel des Roys 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your A l'Hotel des Roys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A l'Hotel des Roys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.