We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Absolute Must” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gordon Ramsay

Gordon Ramsay
1 Boulevard de la Reine | Hotel Trianon palace, Versailles, France
+33 1 30 84 50 18
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Gordon Ramsay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 293 Restaurants in Versailles
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: AA
Wrentham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“An Absolute Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel Trianon was taken over by the Hilton Waldorf group several years ago and their renovations to what was a beautiful old world style is incomprehensible to my wife and I. The first time we returned after the renovation we were so take aback that we immediately vowed we would never return.
However, that was before we ate at the Gordon Ramsey restaurant, which was another change brought by the Waldorf people. we have eaten in quite a number of 2 and 3 star restaurants in France and around the world. This one has become one of our favorite and one that always provides some "wow" factor with the dishes. The presentation of the dishes is some of the most creative We have experienced. Not just beautiful, but also inventive. 2 types of fois gras in a dish that displays one at a time, tomato soup in a tomato of other worldly proportions served on a beautiful block of ice, ice cream cones encased in a fog laden dome, and on and on. Oh, and the foods are a taste sensation.

The service is impeccable and the ambience is delightful allowing for a panoramic view of the Versailles gardens. The wine list is comprehensive and there are many affordable selections. The only disappointment on this visit was the lack of a cheese trolley which, by the way, was printed as available on the menu. We were informed that they had discontinued the cheese trolley as there was too much waste as the demand was not brisk enough to consume the cheeses before there was any spoilage. At these prices its is a questionable decision on their part.

Its expensive, but when compared to the dining experience at 2 and 3 star restaurants elsewhere, especially Paris, this is a real bargain.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    43
    21
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“English chef conquers French cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

English Chef Gordon Ramsay took on the challenge of outcooking the French on their home turf. In the shadow of the Versailles Palace, his restaurant demonstrates his culinary skills with method francaise cuisine, and he succeeds with flying colors. From the delicate amouse bouche (seafood sorbet ice cream cones) and salad hommard, to the fanciful desert (fruit sorbet in a chocolate dome) the food was delicious and impeccable. The wall size windows allowed unobstructed views of the pastoral countryside giving the setting a sense of tranquility.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
232 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Awesome -delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Excellent service, great food well prepared with exacting details- In a country with delicious breads these were out standing, would have l oved an offer of fresh pepper
Lovely wines, great cheese-loved it and paid for it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had the predefined lunch menu with a single glass of wine and two bottles of Water. Great food, great Experience. Felt welcome from the staff. Price of EUR 10 for an espresso is a little steep, but otherwise a fine lunch. Paid EUR 236 for two persons

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“When eating becomes science”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

When you visit a Gordon Ramsay restaurant you have high expectations to start with. You are prepared to pay a dear price for an excellent meal, and theoretically nothing should surprise you. Well, guess again... We were there between Xmas and New year's and as I had been there before I knew what to expect more or less. Yet I was totally surprised by how good the food was and the service and presentation of the dishes which was out of this world. I will not spoil your chance of a nice surprise, if you go there, by entering into details about the meal.
I will only say that when it comes to atmosphere, food quality, wine selection, imagination of taste, presentation and service this restaurant is absolutely excellent, excellent, excellent... As for the price, keep in mind that you get what you pay for.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gordon Ramsay also viewed

Versailles, Yvelines
 
Versailles, Yvelines
Versailles, Yvelines
 

Been to Gordon Ramsay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gordon Ramsay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.