We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican)

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican)
8 rue du Pelican | 1st arrondismont, Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,724 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unpleasant!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Booked this room for just one night, needed a place to crash the night before my return flight home (was staying with a friend for most of the duration of my holiday). It is terribly overpriced for what it is! My room was supposed to come with a shared bathroom, however I didn't even get that. They were doing building works in there so the shower room was torn down. When I checked in the receptionist (who was well mannered and helpful - in fairness to him) asked me when I wanted to take my shower... Dumb struck by the question I accepted whatever explanation he gave me, which was that the communal shower was being repaired and that in the morning he would move me into a room with its own private shower. As you might guess, seeing as how I was only sleeping there one night, I did not get to have a shower.

Besides that, the building is very old and the communal toilet is tiny... if you are any larger than a size UK12 you will not be able to close the door for privacy. Finally, there are 6 floors to the hotel and no lift, just a very dodgy winding staircase which you would need to battle with if you have more than a small hand luggage if you get a room on one of the higher up floors.

The ONLY good thing about this place is its location, which is less that a 5 minute walk to the Louvre. However the area is very noisy so under-sleeping is guaranteed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    17
    22
    47
See reviews for
12
39
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A great little budget hotel just a short walk from the Louvre, the Latin Quarter and Ile de la Cite as well as tons of cafes and reasonably priced bistros. A bit noisy at night in summer with windows open so bring ear plugs but bed was surprisingly comfortable. Bathroom tiny but good pressure in shower. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The nearest bakery on Rue J-J Rousseau was rubbish but just along rue St Honore was Patissier Gossel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

hotel was easy to find and could not be in a more central location.
While they did not speak much English the staff were very friendly and eager to help out.
given the price + centrality of the location we were not expecting high standards of the accommodation however were pleasantly suprised with the cute parisian boutique nature of the place. nothing grande, but much better then a hostel.
the only problem worth mentioning was the cleanliness of the room. there had clearly been no effort to make the room ready following the departure of the previous guests. there was still rubbish in the bins, the beds were not freshly made and there were dirty glasses. However, once we bought this to the attention of the staff they were very quick to remedy things and more the apologetic. there had been a break down in communication at some point.
all in all, if your on a budget but want the city feel.... couldn't recommend more highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Haque
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed here 1 night in roomnumber 9 on the 3th floor. It costed 93,- euro's. The bed on headsite looked as if hundreds of filthy heads layded/rubbed against it (brown spots). It was also very old (antique but not cared for) and bottom was very bad (if you have a bad back, this bed hurts). Everywher dust, top and downside. The bathroom we first had to clean because of other lifeforms that may live there. Mold on the showercurtain, the door (wood) covered with mold and black funguss. There was also left a pizza box with lefst over from previous visitor. Only the sheets en towels looked fresh and we used to cover the pillows on the bed and the floor. Not budget and not clean. Only positive thing was that is was very close to Notre Dame, the Louvre and centre Pompidou.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

i read the reviews in 2008 over and over before i placed my order. i went and loved it. It is exactly as stated. A room with clean bedding, in a nice part of town with Khaled, who is lovely as your contact. I even moved to a different room to get a feel of the place, so I had a single and a double, as I traveled alone. Many will hate it, There is no glamour. If you are not one to live out of a bag, and travel by the seat of your pants by nature, then this is not the place for you-- get a regular HOTEL and be happy. but if if you are the traveler who just wants to stow your bags in a lovely little Parisienne garret, in an alley off the beaten path, meet the man who works there, and get a feel or real Paris, after you haul your bags up the steps, then this sir, or maam, is the spot for you! I will go there from now on. It is funky and divey and i loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Planed to use this hotel as a day room 05/22/11 really just wanted a shower before going back to the airport and the great location 2 blocks from the Llouve just couldn't be beat. We arrived about 3pm and were leaving at 3:30. The hotel is on a beat up llittle street and the room up 3 flights of tiny steps. On entering the room which was hot was a little bleak. We soon discovered the bathroom was put together with a lot of duct tape and didn't seem worth it to try to shower. We laid on the bed for a minute to discover a huge, with of the bed pillow and no others provided. We got up and to our amazment tried to sit at a small table and one of the chairs was broken and would not allow anyone to sit on it. With this we decided to leave and it was back to the airport. Cannot imagine what this room would be like in the dark, what would come out of the woodwork.? The room was 78 Euro's and just another example of how the french could care less, you're just a tourist. Did not see any evidence of air or heat, you must be kidding. Don't book this hotel and expect anything as the picture was taken a long time ago. Paris on the whole is a beautiful city, but the local people with the FRENCH attitude leaves something to be desired. My grandson hated the city, the number of problems we encountered and never wishes to go back. There are lots of beautiful citys and Paris isn't all that great. The local prices are out of control and the french don't have a monopoly on the tourist trade. Perhaps with the bad economys of the planet people will choose to go where they are valued and appreciated but above all welcomed.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I stayed here for three nights at the end of Arpil. It is a budget hotel so is basic (but clean), and needs updating, the location is fabuklous. Contrary to other reviews I found the staff to to be friendly and healpful. I was in a shared bathroom room, and these again were old but clean. It is an old hotel so no there are no lifts, and yes the walls are very thin, but for a short stay I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: It is less than 5 mins walk to the Louvre, 15 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican)

Address: 8 rue du Pelican | 1st arrondismont, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,724 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.