We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“garret in paris” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican)

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican)
8 rue du Pelican | 1st arrondismont, Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,724 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
san francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“garret in paris”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

i read the reviews in 2008 over and over before i placed my order. i went and loved it. It is exactly as stated. A room with clean bedding, in a nice part of town with Khaled, who is lovely as your contact. I even moved to a different room to get a feel of the place, so I had a single and a double, as I traveled alone. Many will hate it, There is no glamour. If you are not one to live out of a bag, and travel by the seat of your pants by nature, then this is not the place for you-- get a regular HOTEL and be happy. but if if you are the traveler who just wants to stow your bags in a lovely little Parisienne garret, in an alley off the beaten path, meet the man who works there, and get a feel or real Paris, after you haul your bags up the steps, then this sir, or maam, is the spot for you! I will go there from now on. It is funky and divey and i loved it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    7
    17
    22
    47
See reviews for
12
39
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Planed to use this hotel as a day room 05/22/11 really just wanted a shower before going back to the airport and the great location 2 blocks from the Llouve just couldn't be beat. We arrived about 3pm and were leaving at 3:30. The hotel is on a beat up llittle street and the room up 3 flights of tiny steps. On entering the room which was hot was a little bleak. We soon discovered the bathroom was put together with a lot of duct tape and didn't seem worth it to try to shower. We laid on the bed for a minute to discover a huge, with of the bed pillow and no others provided. We got up and to our amazment tried to sit at a small table and one of the chairs was broken and would not allow anyone to sit on it. With this we decided to leave and it was back to the airport. Cannot imagine what this room would be like in the dark, what would come out of the woodwork.? The room was 78 Euro's and just another example of how the french could care less, you're just a tourist. Did not see any evidence of air or heat, you must be kidding. Don't book this hotel and expect anything as the picture was taken a long time ago. Paris on the whole is a beautiful city, but the local people with the FRENCH attitude leaves something to be desired. My grandson hated the city, the number of problems we encountered and never wishes to go back. There are lots of beautiful citys and Paris isn't all that great. The local prices are out of control and the french don't have a monopoly on the tourist trade. Perhaps with the bad economys of the planet people will choose to go where they are valued and appreciated but above all welcomed.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I stayed here for three nights at the end of Arpil. It is a budget hotel so is basic (but clean), and needs updating, the location is fabuklous. Contrary to other reviews I found the staff to to be friendly and healpful. I was in a shared bathroom room, and these again were old but clean. It is an old hotel so no there are no lifts, and yes the walls are very thin, but for a short stay I would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: It is less than 5 mins walk to the Louvre, 15 mins
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Yes It´s cheap, and it's in a good location, however the place is smelly, dirty, the charge you 3 euros per shower, and our room was in 4th floor without elevator. The man is so rudeee!, the first thing he told us, before saying hello, was "pay me now". Imagine our amazement!
We prefer to pay the first night and go to another hostel at 10.00pm far away but clean and in good conditions with owners kind and in a better place, despite travelling travel everyday to the centre by metro. Don't go there is awful!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tivoli, Italy
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The place was dirty and old, no wardrobe, tiny bathroom, dirty and noisy. No light along the corridor. Just close to the city centre but nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

the service was rude and we had to wait to check-in because no one was there. 3 rooms have no private shower so you have to borrow the only key of the hotel to the public shower - which is possible as long as there is someone at the reception, which closes at midnight. we came back at 1 pm after an evening out to find out we had to forget about showering that night for this reason. we were explained that showers late disturb other customers.
seeing as we wanted to enjoy the paris nightlife and still yet shower at night, we switched to a larger room with private bath for the last 2 nights. this room had only one window which over looked a narrow lightwell - ie the room was not only dark day and night, but due to absence of air conditionning, we had to leave the window open and we got to hear a concert of toilet flushes all night, as well as other customers' private conversations (the things we heard !!!) with all the noise of course, we slept terribly in the squishy, uncomfortable bed. In addition, the room was very dodgy and the cleanliness of the bathroom very questionable. the bathroom - and the room - had a slight mold smell the whole time.
Last but not least, they make you pay upfront at check-in - which I am almost certain is not legal - which means you cannot switch hotels without loosing money.
this place - the last we visited on our honeymoon - gave our paris escapade a slightly moldy aftertaste, and we tried to spend as little time as possible in that horrible room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We found this indescribable hotel from our Paris guide book. I really don´t know, why they are recommending this hotel. I rrrrreally don´t know. It was horrible. The room was horrible. Our first room (yes, we change room) was disgusting. Mattress was so dirty, that we could not imagine to sleep on it. There was many stains; blood and other STUFF.
Also bathroom was dirty, shower was kind of orange.. Sometimes it has been white, but nowdays orange.. Yack.
So we complained and clerk came to see our room. He gave us another room.. It was no better. Though the mattress was cleaner. There was dirty glasses, dirty plate, used cotton bud... And the fitted carpet was soooo dirty that we didn´t got our shoes of and we slept our clothes on. If you can say that sleeping.

We knew that it wasn´t no five stars hotel, but however, rooms must be clean!! No matter is there five stars or no stars at all.
This hotel was dirties hotel ever. Never back in there.
We didn´t take pictures, but in these pages are also pictures of our rooms. They speak for themselves.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican)

Address: 8 rue du Pelican | 1st arrondismont, Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,724 of 1,793 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Venere, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Lille- (rue de Pelican), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.