We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant presentation but overcooked rice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi Shop

Sushi Shop
71 rue du Cherche-Midi, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
0826 826 628
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9,799 of 13,456 Restaurants in Paris
Price range: $16 - $40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Elegant presentation but overcooked rice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The most beautifully presented sushi I've ever seen.

Unfortunately the rice was gluggy and it didn't taste anywhere near as good as it looked. In fact, while it is the most beautiful it was also one of the worst tasting. Hopefully this is an isolated experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    8
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
basel
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful fresh Sushi close to Moulin Rouge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Chef Thierry Marx has a chic take on Sushi Take out, and we enjoyed excellent, innovative lunch sushi menu at a reasonable price - EUR 56 for four people (no dessert).
It is nice that the Sushi are freshly made and sold in cardboard containers, a nice switch from the usual smelly black plastic. Also, they serve sweet soy sauce in addition to the regular salty version.
The condiments are in individual packages, more hygienic than most.
There seem to be 20 locations in Paris - ours boasted a friendly staff and a round-about good experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible Sushi, horrible service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Very bad! I purchased my overpriced tasteless sushi and proceeded to sit down in the restaurant and I got told that I did not purchase enough sushi for me to qualify to sit down in their restaurant! What the.....? They only had one other customer sitting down eating. Avoid this place even if the idea of sushi is tempting.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Perfect Balanced Japanese Take Out Meal (Montmartre)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Sushi Shop at 19 rue Lepic
75018 Paris
Chef etoille/star chef is Thierry Marx, an incredible chef that combines traditional with modern all organic true Japanese gastronomics. This is not a sit down restaurant. Only take out. But French and tourists like moi luuuv it and wait in long queues (lines) fighting over the only 3 chairs available to sit outside in the cold!
We ate the following byte size sushi types: boef wagyu with miso truffe sauce, with gingembre & ciboulette (yes I ate red meat this day with truffle sauce, ginger & chives), crevette (shrimp), tambourin bar-kiwi, with yuzu sauce, black tulip with oeufs de hareng fumes emrobes de lamelles d'avocats (eggs of smoked herring wrapped in fine strips of avocado, riz nature (white rice; it is important to know this is a Chinese rice, tender whose grains are swollen up and well detached from each other, unlike the sticky Japanese rice); des salades : de carottes (carrot) a l'orange and de choux (cabbage), with sweet and/or salty/regular soy sauce, lots of wasabi all drenched in authentic Japanese sake' “Le Poet Errand” Junmai Ginjo (fresh, not bottled ahead of time), organic pomegranate green cold tea. For dessert we had a bowl of mangue fraiche (mango salad) and Mi-cuit chocolat-caramel, fleur de sel (hot chocolate mini cake with caramel flowing from the middle. Yummy dinner!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fast-food Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stopped to get some sushi and ordered at the counter. We then sat down in one of the two small tables outside. They brought our rolls and they were pretty tasty! Not that expensive either. The miso soup was extremely bland though.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Shop also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Sushi Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.