We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Tastevin

Le Tastevin
46, rue Saint-Louis-en-l'Ile 75004, Paris, France (Hôtel-de-Ville)
01 43 54 1731
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Tastevin is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #465 of 12,477 restaurants in Paris
Price range: $35 - $138
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Hôtel-de-Ville
Toulouse, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have been going to Le Tastevin since the summer of 1985 when it opened. If you like traditional French food, carefully sourced and immaculately prepared, you will love Le Tastevin as well. Small but excellent wine list. This is not a place for before a concert or film. I took my niece there this month, we dined from 8:00 to 11:00. Each course was better than the last. Madame is amazing, always recognizes me although I am there on average twice a year. She clearly oversees every aspect of her restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    161
    62
    26
    18
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

When I arrive in Paris, I head to Le Tastevin. I've been eating here for many years, and always feel at home. It is family owned, and the owner-hostess is always charming and sees to your every need. Her son has been working with her for years and the service is always excellent.
It is not the cheapest restaurant on the Ile Saint-Louis.

Easiest access from the Right Bank is to take the Metro to Pont Marie Station and then walk across the Port Marie to the Ile Saint-Louis. Easy to find. During peak travel periods, would highly recommend reservations!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“One of our best dinners in Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family of four had a wonderful dinner here - this restaurant had the whole package; atmosphere, value for money, great service and terrific food and wine, The apple tart for dessert was our favorite part of the meal, closely followed by the veal cutlet with mushrooms. You can also try the famous Bertillon icecrem here in some of the desserts - yum! Service was thoughtful and warm and we enjoyed walking around the local area after dinner. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great New Years Eve dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We reserved a table for 9 people at this restaurant based on reviews here on TripAdvisor a month in advance for New Years Eve. After arriving for dinner I realized that the entire restaurant can only seat around 25 people.
The owner spent time with us and did a great job of explaining the New Years Eve menu. She doesn't offer the menu in English. Her son is part of the wait staff and did a great job. The food was out of this world. Hands down the best meal we had the entire week. Every dish that was served, and with nine people we had quite a selection, was incredible. Not one complaint from my party, which is very unusual. Dinner was a fixed price of $85 Euro each.

The building that the restaurant is located in was built in 1620. Very rustic feel and romantic.
One note of caution, if you're eating here late it can be dificult to find a taxi in the area. We used EcoCab and made reservations to be picked up at a certain time.

I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“The best escargot in the world in my very favorite restaurant anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I have been to Le Tastevin many times, on several trips to Paris. By myself, with family, with friends, and for romantic dinners for two. The escargot are beyond compare, and every main course dish I have ever had there has been excellent - and my standards are high. The owner is everything you would hope for to provide the best attention to service, ambiance, and of course the food. The wines are selected carefully and all I have had are superb. This is the quintessential dining experience in Paris for a real Parisian meal with nothing overdone or touristy, a quaint and charming setting, and a superb meal. The emphasis is on quality not on anything phoney. Bon appetit.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Tastevin also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Le Tastevin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Tastevin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.